Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for the quiet get away.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The location, the service and the traditional style rooms.
Cons: There was construction at the hotel, but hopefully the next time I stay there it will be much nicer than when I was staying there.
Location: Nothing to do near by. You need to take the shuttle car (20 mins drive) to the UBUD city or hire a driver for 1/2 or full day.
I really enjoyed this hotel. It is perfect for the retreat that I was looking for. It's about 20 minutes (free hotel shuttle that runs 4 times a days) away from the city. I usually take this shuttle around dinner time and get into UBUD city for dinner and a cheap massage :) The hotel was under renovation, but I love the traditional Balinese living style (the outdoor bathroom, the four post bed and all the suites have outdoor patio, and you have your own little hut) One thing that I was a bit disappointed in was that the common areas is a bit out dated and not as luxurious. Other than that, the staff and the level of service was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , good food and great surrounding

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Cons: add kids corner with some playing area, for families
nice experience , missing bit of animation in the night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Loved it here.

Posted May 22, 2017
Santi Mandala is beautiful! Our room was nice, open, and clean. The staff is super friendly and welcoming. The restaurant was delicious. I didn't notice from the photos, but the bathrooms are sort of outside (they're enclosed and gorgeous, but I was not prepared for the heat while getting ready or the potential for bugs/geckos hanging around), so I figured I'd mention that so no one else is surprised. Ha. Overall, had a great time and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A superb, beautiful, peaceful place

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
I struggle to think of Santi Mandala's equal. The location, level of comfort, effort taken to ensure the quality of the stay, the sense of escape and luxury and pervading mood of relaxation is a rare and precious thing. It is a place to lose yourself and find something worth remembering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Peaceful rice paddies and personal service

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Its small, and intimate - you see the same staff and guests over your stay. The girls in the spa give good massage.
Cons: Internet access! But hey, that is the same through all of Bali......
Location: The butterfly farm was engaging and of course, Ubud is 20 minutes away.
It's not the newest hotel, but there is a graceful charm and elegance that works at SM. The service is excellent, and the staff are friendly, and care. The rooms are very "luxurious 10 years old", but lovely, comfortable and well-appointed. It's excellent value, and the transfers into Ubud are reasonable, so not a difficulty at all. We made a decision to stay one day at the hotel, having massages and doing yoga classes with Bismah. Then, the next day we went adventuring. My travel companion is gluten-intolerant and the Hotel were very helpful with making sure she had suitable dining options.
5 out of 5
by Kate

Great relaxation by the pool

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is out of any tourist locations, which is great if you want few days in a great resort, or are comfortable with taking a shuttle or taxi anywhere. It is an hour from the airport and driving distance to the beach. But great for relaxing for few days by the pool, without any crowds. I was celebrating my birthday at the hotel and the staff prepared little cake for me and sang happy birthday. The personnel is really very friendly and the food was delicious.
5 out of 5
by Glenda from Wollongong NSW Australia

4 days of Bliss.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
The staff treated us like family. The ambience was so tranquil. Loved the yoga classes each morning. Free shuttle service was excellent.
1 out of 5
by Clement from New york

Stay away

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Staying in this hotel was the worst decision we could have made. It is terrible and really do not understand any positive reviews about this property. It is completely outdated, very badly located (30 minutes from Ubud Center) and on the edge of a river with no water. You can see the dirt and garbages on the bottom of the river, we actually saw kids throwing garbages from a bridge while we were checking in. The room had a terrible and filthy smell that we could not get off. The room was not clean and the mosquito net as well as curtains had probably never been washed (stains and dead insects). To top it all I had to kill an enormous cockroach that was on my bed. The breakfast is the worst we had in Bali and the hotel even tried to charge me a ridiculous phone call that they made to book me a taxi (that is their job!). also this hotel feels empty and I do not see why they are still in business
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Tranquility

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Wotif
A little slice of heaven away from it all. I reset my balance when I come to Santi Mandala. I stay in a villa with plunge pool (301) overlooking the pool. Ubud feels so safe I enjoy going out for dinner and trying all the different vegetarian places too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel bad foos

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
The area is isolated. Food is bad. But hotel and place ia bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Dear valued customers, We are really sorry. We will try to be better. Sincerely, Mr Ken sales executive