Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Glamorous Hidden Gem - Absolutely Loved the Damai

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Everything. The staff, the location, the food, the villa, the pool, and the entire experience was incredible.
Cons: Not sure... I had an incredible time here.
Location: It's definitely a bit hidden, but that's perfect if you want to get away from the real world.
The property is nestled in the jungle and the Villas have incredible views of nature and the ocean. The staff is incredibly kind and attentive. Hands-down, this was my best hotel stay in all of Bali, and I stayed at several top hotels. The rooms at the Damai are far better than the Ritz or the Four Seasons. They are so private, comfortable, and embody are genuinely Balinese character and warmth. The pool at the villa is the perfect size for a couple or a small family. The food is an exceptionally elegant culinary experience. The Michelin-rated chef prepares some of the most beautiful food I've ever seen and tasted. They combine local flavors with world-class favorites. The in-room dining options are also excellent, and the service is so fast. The staff are incredibly thoughtful in their approach to communicating and know how to make you feel welcome. They left us freshly baked local treats and bottles of water in our room every evening while we were at dinner. The spa was pretty great as well. They have some good treatments that you should absolutely try out. Although the prices at the Damai are not on the lower end of Bali, keep in mind you are escaping from the daily rigors of a stressful world and entering a hidden tropical heaven. We will most definitely return to the Damai on our next trip to Bali. Thank you all for providing us with such a lovely memorable experience. You are also so warm, caring, welcoming and open minded, especially about LGBT couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury Villas, Lovely staff

Posted Apr 4, 2017
It located at the high up hills in the Northern Bali. From the Villas I stay, we get to see amazing and beautiful sea view and green scenery. It a good place for relax. Worth my 3 days stay there. Even the Villas deco is modern with some vintage look. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We will sure go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the traveller

In the heart of the real Bali

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Much less tourists. Friendly local villagers. Beautiful view, hillside lush gardens with herbal plantation in side the hotel . The restaurant is amazing good. The spa is a heaven of relaxing and healing, the slogan is true "hard to find hard to leave "
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolute winner!

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Wotif
This hotel is fabulous - facilities, food, rooms, staff were ALL excellent!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ALEXANDER

Beautiful secluded five star resort

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing quality service, facilities and food. Truly a 5 star experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: The staff was super attentive and the grounds were quite and beautiful!
Cons: Despite their efforts in providing mosquito repellent, the bugs always managed to get into the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A Hidden Treasure

Posted May 23, 2016
This collection of 14 villa units has a beautiful setting. The staff were determined to ensure we felt welcome, we were comfortable, we ate and drank well and we left with a sense of tasting a piece of paradise. They succeeded!
5 out of 5
by Ramin from Chevy Chase, MD, USA

Secluded luxurious gem as a bastion of tranquility

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
It's rare that a hotel combines luxury, design and personalised and pleasant service with such a steadfast commitment to its environment and sustainability. The Damai is the only one I know in Bali. From the moment you arrive until you leave you're called by name. Service requests are fulfilled in the most pleasant manner. And right from the beginning you see how every detail is designed for sustainability: zero plastic, bamboo drinking straws, how the hotels recycles and reuses its excess water. The natural setting of the hotel is gorgeous, on top of a hill surrounded by Bali's natural vegetation. The Damai rests faithful to its hilly setting and rises from it rather than built over it. It provides fewer than 20 secluded villas secluded each provided their special view, sun deck and Scandinavianesque attention to detail. Beds are comfortable, fixtures well designed and functional and everything very clean. The hotel is not exactly in a vibrant neighbourhood and that is more reason to stay and enjoy the amenities: the best food in Bali in the most gorgeous restaurant on top of the hill by the pool, the infinity pool itself, and the out of this world massage facility and Yoga but if you're into it (you will be if you stay here!). My only qualm is the outdoor shower in the villas which makes for a beautiful design element but also an inconvenience in a climate like Bali with curious bees buzzing around.