Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky hotel with great heart.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
The staff at the hotel are great. Up there with the most helpful and friendly. However the hotel itself had something off about it, felt a little run down and in keeping they had random construction going on all over. As a result of this the hotel falls short of greatness which it could achieve with a little more Polish in the look of the place and views from the room which was sadly very poor.
4 out of 5
by Kristina

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
The property is HUGE and beautiful. Pools for days! The rooms are quite comfortable as well. Just note that the hotel is a bit off the beaten path (about a 20 minute drive from town, shuttle is infrequent) and the tours and taxis that they organize for you are overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Certainly not 5 stars

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: the size of the room Bima room was good .
Cons: Everything
Location: Ubud id 15 minutes away by car
We were attracted to this hotel because the pictures depicted a beautiful hotel with 5 swimming pools. In truth, this Hotel is not 5 star or anything close. its old, run down and in dire need of maintenance. One morning we had had no running water. The room was fine, but the rest of the hotel was very tired. A motley collection of odd furniture and poor artworks. None of the common areas are air conditioned and the pools are dirty. Not a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was amazing and extremely accommodating!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The staff and the unique surroundings.
Cons: Shuttles that run later.
Location: Tons to do in Ubud.
We decided to stay here over the Christmas holiday and it was great. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The grounds are super relaxing and there are a ton of pools. Would totally stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely stunning hotel - VERY Balinease

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was stunning, food options in the restaurant were great also. They had a free shuttle from the hotel into Ubud town center and back. I was only in Ubud for a weekend, and wanted to fit in as much as possible and the hotel staff helped me do that both before my stay and during; they were very responsive over email. On Saturday they arrange a full day driver (reasonably priced) who took me to the sites that I wanted to visit. On Sunday, they arrange the hike up to Mt. Batur (active volcano) which was tough but a great experience, with a very helpful guide. The room itself had great facilities, but personally I could have dealt with being a little less 'with nature'. The noises at night definitely kept me up, and the gecko's in the room (on the ceiling) did freak me out at first, but when I told the reception staff they were more than happy to move me to another room- which I turned down as I only had 1 night left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Was ok

Posted Nov 16, 2016
I arrived at 12.00 and asked if my room was available and they said no. When I was finally taken to my room I was the only occupant in the entire wing! I tried calling room service on a number of occasions and line was always busy so ended up calling main reception and they would tell room service to call me. When I arrived I thought I was in a scene from sunset boulevard as it appeared nothing had changed in 20 years and I was expecting Gloria Swanson to come down the staircase
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glorious & unique luxury environment

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
The glorious Mansion Hotel is actually a huge mansion filled with wonderful paintings,Balinese antiques and delightfully opulent interior design. There are numerous swimming pools , all different in character, all surrounded by lush landscaping . Covered sunbeds, Balinese umbrellas, & stunning water features. Rooms are scattered through the landscaping in lovely private dwellings with more lovely ponds. Our room was huge with a large ensuite & sunken bath. Quite a breath taking& unique environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Heaven on Earth!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: The location was perfect and every two hours, the very friendly staff ran a free shuttle service into the main town 15 minutes away. Ubud is buzzing!
The Mansion Hotel, UBUD has the most beautiful grounds and gardens of any hotel I have ever visited in my life! It truly is Heaven on Earth, a true Paradise and healing for the soul, mind and body! I flew as a stewardess for many years as well as adoring to travel for holidays and this hotel truly surpassed all my expectations! The lush green tropical trees and plants punctuated by serene pools and fountains and the Indonesian signature fringed parasols waving in the warm, gentle breezes. There is no where I would rather have been! Lovely canopied bed in our room, plus the arty and very colourful decor in the main building of the hotel, all adding to the delightful atmosphere and giving the place a charming vintage vibe. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Service
Cons: Food in the restaurant.
Location: Location is away from Ubud centre but hotel provides free bus service to the city centre.
Service was very good. But dinner at the restaurant was far below standard.Quality of cooking was poor but very expensive. Room was nice, neat and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For quiet getaway and swimming pools

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very large and has multiple pools to choose from. If you are staying near the spa, there is relaxing music playing over speakers that gave the property a relaxing feel. The room was perfect apart from our fridge which leaked water and the shower would occasionally rattle if you did not turn the tap enough. This was a downside I was not happy about. The shuttle comes every two hours and the last bus ends at 7pm. It was slightly inconvenient as there are no bluebirds in Ubud. And to pay for their 'taxi service' it cost 80,000IDR to get to the city centre. Room service was only okay. The spring rolls were nice, the Tom yum did not taste good and dos not have noodles like it side it would, the serving sizes are tiny too. So I suggest eating elsewhere or maybe the Restuarant (I didn't not try it myself). Also took multiple attempts to call room service and ended up calling the office, getting transferred, they hung up, so we had to go to reception to order.