Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Excellent position , right on the beach . Quiet position , but in walking distance to restaurants , bars shops. Breakfast buffet excellent.
Cons: Some updating of rooms .
Fabulous week spent in the hotel . Rooms a little dated but clean and comfortable. In the process of updating and painting some as we were there . All staff very friendly and welcoming at all times. Beautiful gardens and pools . Would definitely return to this hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LDN

Good location, amazing staff, needs updating!

Posted May 31, 2017
We had damp in our room, staff couldn't do enough for you, lovely beach, lovely pool, okay breakfast, the egg station is fresh as is the pancake and waffle, the pastries and breads I felt needed to be covered from flies, everything else was covered!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great!

Posted May 31, 2017
Great location to shopping, restaurants, and beach within 10 minute walking distance. Beach water is warm and waves are great to take up surfing lessons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Beachfront oasis in busy Seminyak

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Gardens, staff, breakfast, pools.
Cons: The rooms could be provided with DVD players and HDMI cables
Location: Absolute beach front location, walking distance to many restaurants
This was our third stay at the Royal Beach, and we are booked again in August. We love this place! A peaceful oasis has been created among the sublime gardens and water features. This place is a tonic for the soul. Once inside the resort, there is no sense of the bustle of Seminyak. The rooms are large and comfortable, with quality beds and pillows, and more than adequate bathrooms. The two pools are beautifully designed, especially the smaller, adults-only pool, which is an absolute jewel. Granted, this property has none of the glitz of the concrete monstrosities nearby. Rather, it has an old-world courtliness and charm that appeals to the more sophisticated traveller. The Royal Beach is a yob-free property, with no swim-up bar and loud groups of revellers. The guests ranged in age from the very young to the retired and all seemed to be enjoying the tranquil atmosphere this place exudes. It's by far the best property we have stayed at in Bali in more than 30 visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Well maintained, comfortable, older style traditional Balinese hotel. Great facilities and immaculate grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Victoria

stay at Royal

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: plenty of amenities and options around the resort, very friendly staff.
Cons: i think the vibe of the pool by the beach could be improved. some hill out sessions music lightly playing in the back ground would go a great way.
Location: we did not utlilse any of the activities at the hotel.
we stayed at the royal for 10 nights, the rooms were cleaned every day, plenty of drinkable water given as a compliment. Breakfast was amazing which allowed us to go all day before having dinner. the facilities and amenities at the resort ticket every box for me. Great place, great people, great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast and grounds.
Cons: The rooms are old and bathroom had mold on the curtain.
Location: On beach and close to restaurants and shopping.
Hotel shower curtain had mold on it. Bed gave me a back ache. Hotel is old and needs a facelift but the employees are lovely, kind, warm and friendly. The location, pool and grounds are wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Nice hotel on the beachfront good location

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff Right on the beachfront Clean and spacious rooms Breakfast buffet
Cons: Some of the areas are a little dated - eg. the toilets by the pool, however overall the Balinese style was lovely.
Location: Great location and close to Seminyak for shopping and restaurants
We had a lovely stay as a couple at the Royal Beach Seminyak. We were upgraded to a great room close to the restaurant and pool upon arrival, and as we had not purchased breakfast as part of our deal, we were provided with half price breakfast vouchers. Most days we had lunch around the pool with a good variety to choose from, including gluten free, and the meals were of good quality. There are also plenty of other options close by for meals if you venture out of the resort, and you are close to the action in Seminyak for restaurants and shopping. The room was clean and spacious - a little dark at times and the resort was classic Balinese style which was lovely. The resort is right on the beachfront, with a lifeguard on duty at the beach. We spent most of our time by the beachfront pool - it would be great if this was a little larger and by the afternoon it was in the shade, so got quite cool at times. The staff were friendly and helpful. This was a great resort to stay with as a couple, however we wouldn't probably use it for a family holiday, as there are limited options for kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Comfortable room and nice staff

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bathroom. Clean bed, have much space.
Cons: AC was too cold and we turned to 27.5C maximum, but still cold..
Location: They has own restaurant, and many other cafe and dining, small souvenir shops around the hotel. We tried the cafe next to the hotel, nice!
Staff are all nice even a gardeners. We used the pool side dining after check-in and waiting for the room is ready. Food also nice, piano performance even at the breakfast restaurant. Great selection of breakfast, not that crowded. Room are clean and well maintained. We can see the garden from the window and it has a private terrace. Needed to walk a bit from the reception, but quite ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

A bit tired, but good hotel on the beach

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of the staff - lovely smiles and greetings from everyone. A Balinese trait for sure.
Cons: AC system
Location: Right on the beach near the busy street. If one wishes to shop they are nearby along narrow street lined with many shops.
The property is large and appealing, with two pools and ease of walking on the beach. However, there is not a lot of beach at high tide for walking. We were not comfortable while in the room - the AC was turned way too cold to begin and the room was damp as were the sheets, Never felt comfortable in the room even when the AC was less cold. Not a very effective AC system. Enjoyed a late dinner close to the beach, under the stars. Very comfortable. Lovely grounds and landscaping throughout the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Vincent Wybier - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Calla, Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. I am sorry to read that your experience with us wasn't fully satisfying. I have well noted your comment concerning the air conditioning system and I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it has caused. I have already shared this issue with our Chief Engineering, and we will make sure to run some more controls to avoid such issue in the future. On another note, I am glad to read that you enjoyed our unique property with its beautiful tropical gardens offering a very relaxing and quiet atmosphere in the heart of the vibrant Seminyak, with a direct access to the beach. Most of all, thank you very much for mentioning the friendliness of our staff, highlighting their commitment to make your stay truly Memorable. Once again please accept my apologies for the inconvenience faced during your stay. I do hope you could still have enjoyed your vacations in the Island of Gods. Dumogi Rahayu, Vincent Wybier General Manager