Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast and grounds.
Cons: The rooms are old and bathroom had mold on the curtain.
Location: On beach and close to restaurants and shopping.
Hotel shower curtain had mold on it. Bed gave me a back ache. Hotel is old and needs a facelift but the employees are lovely, kind, warm and friendly. The location, pool and grounds are wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Nice hotel on the beachfront good location

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff Right on the beachfront Clean and spacious rooms Breakfast buffet
Cons: Some of the areas are a little dated - eg. the toilets by the pool, however overall the Balinese style was lovely.
Location: Great location and close to Seminyak for shopping and restaurants
We had a lovely stay as a couple at the Royal Beach Seminyak. We were upgraded to a great room close to the restaurant and pool upon arrival, and as we had not purchased breakfast as part of our deal, we were provided with half price breakfast vouchers. Most days we had lunch around the pool with a good variety to choose from, including gluten free, and the meals were of good quality. There are also plenty of other options close by for meals if you venture out of the resort, and you are close to the action in Seminyak for restaurants and shopping. The room was clean and spacious - a little dark at times and the resort was classic Balinese style which was lovely. The resort is right on the beachfront, with a lifeguard on duty at the beach. We spent most of our time by the beachfront pool - it would be great if this was a little larger and by the afternoon it was in the shade, so got quite cool at times. The staff were friendly and helpful. This was a great resort to stay with as a couple, however we wouldn't probably use it for a family holiday, as there are limited options for kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Comfortable room and nice staff

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bathroom. Clean bed, have much space.
Cons: AC was too cold and we turned to 27.5C maximum, but still cold..
Location: They has own restaurant, and many other cafe and dining, small souvenir shops around the hotel. We tried the cafe next to the hotel, nice!
Staff are all nice even a gardeners. We used the pool side dining after check-in and waiting for the room is ready. Food also nice, piano performance even at the breakfast restaurant. Great selection of breakfast, not that crowded. Room are clean and well maintained. We can see the garden from the window and it has a private terrace. Needed to walk a bit from the reception, but quite ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

A bit tired, but good hotel on the beach

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of the staff - lovely smiles and greetings from everyone. A Balinese trait for sure.
Cons: AC system
Location: Right on the beach near the busy street. If one wishes to shop they are nearby along narrow street lined with many shops.
The property is large and appealing, with two pools and ease of walking on the beach. However, there is not a lot of beach at high tide for walking. We were not comfortable while in the room - the AC was turned way too cold to begin and the room was damp as were the sheets, Never felt comfortable in the room even when the AC was less cold. Not a very effective AC system. Enjoyed a late dinner close to the beach, under the stars. Very comfortable. Lovely grounds and landscaping throughout the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Vincent Wybier - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Calla, Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. I am sorry to read that your experience with us wasn't fully satisfying. I have well noted your comment concerning the air conditioning system and I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it has caused. I have already shared this issue with our Chief Engineering, and we will make sure to run some more controls to avoid such issue in the future. On another note, I am glad to read that you enjoyed our unique property with its beautiful tropical gardens offering a very relaxing and quiet atmosphere in the heart of the vibrant Seminyak, with a direct access to the beach. Most of all, thank you very much for mentioning the friendliness of our staff, highlighting their commitment to make your stay truly Memorable. Once again please accept my apologies for the inconvenience faced during your stay. I do hope you could still have enjoyed your vacations in the Island of Gods. Dumogi Rahayu, Vincent Wybier General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Beautiful resort

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Appreciate the little box of goodies like toothbrush, comb...etc. Also appreciated the bug repellent that plugged into the wall.
Cons: Would have been nice if there was a plug for the blow dryer available in the bathroom; instead we had to use another in the room.
Location: Great location right along beach and near restaurants and shopping. Fantastic spot.
Close to beach, and walking to distance to shopping and restaurants. Beautiful pool, well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff, enjoyed our stay very much, would love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Pricey for Bali, but worth it

Posted May 2, 2017
Cons: The surcharges and the supposed government tax makes it a little expensive.
The staff are excellent. The gardens and the pool area make for a wonderful retreat from busy Bali life. The beach was not wonderful, but with those pools and gardens, we did not miss it. They have a tour service (paid separately), which is perfect for those who want to get out and about. Highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Amazing hotel. Wonderful staff and location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I loved the hotel and the location. Friendly staff and the view can't be beat. Looking at other hotels nearby I waa confident I got the best one and will definitely be back. The room service was good, my only complaint waa that I got late check out and the cleaning crew was cleaning my room while I was packing up and I had been drinking out of the glasses all weekend and I watched them only rinse them out in the sink and not actually wash them or sanitize them with soap or anything. I have been sick all weekend so whoever checked into my villa after me likely got the flu. This is a pretty big deal but besides that every detail about the hotel was amazing. I notified management but it seems to be there routine so whether or not they cleaned my cups does not mean that they are always cleaning all of them. If you check in here wash the glasses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

time to invest in upgrading basic infrastructure

Posted Apr 19, 2017
I've stayed many times at this hotel over the last 10 years. It is still a fabulous hotel, great staff and a perfect location, however since M Gallery have taken over their cost cutting is starting to show. The sun lounges near the beach are in bad need of repair, the quality of food has diminished, out mattress dipped in the middle, cheap uncomfortable pillows, there is a lot of cosmetic tarting up (eg painting light fittings) whilst mold and water marks on ceilings go unpainted. Time to buck your act up!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Nice hotel but bit dated

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nice quiet hotel but could do with some upgrading. Polite and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Vincent Wybier - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear SD, Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. I am sorry to read that your experience with us wasn't fully satisfying. I have well noted your comment concerning the hotel's need of upgrade and I am pleased to inform you that we are planning some renovations which hopefully will start on the final quarter of this year to refresh some of our rooms and facilities. Hopefully this will help to bring a second youth to the hotel. On another note, I am delighted and proud to read that the service delivered by our teams met your expectations and that you did enjoy the special attention provided by them.Thank you very much for highlighting their daily commitment to make your stay Memorable Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconveniences faced during your stay and thank you for your valuable feedback. I do hope you could still have enjoyed your holidays in the Island of Gods. Dumogi Rahayu, Vincent Wybier General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The hotel is nice, service was good, and very clean all around. The hotel is a bit old and they are doing some works. Breakfast is good but not so many international alternatives. Swimming pool bar has a lot of different choices. There are 2 Swimming pools but only 1 for kids. The hotel has direct access to the beach, but the sea is more for surf than for playing with kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Vincent Wybier - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. I am sorry to read that your experience didn't fully meet your expectations. I regret to see that the options at our buffet breakfast were not fully satisfying. However, I am glad to read that you had an overall good stay with us and that our service and cleanliness met your expectations. Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconveniences faced during your stay and thank you for your valuable feedback. I do hope you could still have enjoyed your holidays in the Island of Gods. Dumogi Rahayu, Vincent Wybier General Manager