Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel short walk to beach

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Overall needs some upgrading looking a bit shabby
Location: Short walk to beach lots of places to eat
We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel excellent staff, hotel itself needs some attention however extremely well priced clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Hidden gem of peace and tranquility

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Fab location to beach, yoga, supermarket and good restaurants. Bohemian homely decor in the villa. Awesome king bed. Huge bathroom with big shower.
Location: Power of Now Oasis Yoga, Genius Cafe, Poplars Supermarket, Lilla Pantai further up on the beach - about a 10 minute walk.
Loved this villa - highly recommended to anyone looking for peace and quiet in a great location! Quick and friendly welcome and check in on arrival; gorgeous little villa with king bed and spacious bathroom with magnificent shower (big shower head a dream for those with long thick hair and in need a good wash!). Aircon and wifi all working a treat. Egg station at breakfast was awesome - your eggs are cooked with love. You have the option of using the nearby hotel facilities for food but I loved my omelette at the villa's so there was no need to try anywhere else. Two gorgeous pools to choose from. The villa is in a great location too! Tucked away down a laneway - 2 minute walk to the beach in one direction (and very near Power of Now Oasis Yoga) and 2 minute walk to the main street in the other direction (Poplars supermarket nearby). I am a female solo traveller and felt very safe here (despite the laneway seeming like it might be dodgey - it wasn't). Everyone is friendly except the money changers - watch out for the dodgey dudes - go to official exchanges. This place is excellent value for money and only have high praise! Thank you :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Well managed very friendly helpful staff and quiet

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Maybe advice upfront about the local drinking water situation (not that it was a problem).
They don't pretend to be five stars but offer five star standard in what they have wonderful staff, magic position and beautiful clean and safe environment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bunbury

Relaxing and quiet

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff, location and serenity To the left down the lane way you are in the hub of activity with many restaurants, bars and shops
Cons: needs some updating of kitchen,
Location: About 80 meters the right in the lane way is the beach, where you can have a massage on the beach, water sports and stand up paddling, very quiet,
We have just arrived home from Bali, and it's the second time we have stayed at Villa Puri Ayu, the last time was about 6 years ago. The staff were great on our arrival which was a very late flight, and we didn't arrive until around 1am in the morning. Our room was lovely and cool, and exactly what we booked, outdoor bathroom, and kitchen, and secluded garden. The staff are friendly and always smiling. The breakfast was lovely and fresh with fruit, eggs, anyway you like them, toast, cereal, bacon and other varieties including rice and noodles. Room service was prompt, and the dinner was delicious. They are renovating / building, but no noise was ever heard. The only little hick up we had was the kitchen area is very outdated, but that will be sorted. Another bonus was the water dispenser, we was full, and we made ice each day in the excellently cold large fridge. I have no hesitation in staying there again, close to the beach, bars and restaurants, and away from the madness and mayhem
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little run down, OK for short stay only

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel seen better days, clean but old and things falling apart. Breakfast was ok, front desk staff seemed almost sleepy and slow but did the job on Bali time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always happy to stay here

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Small hotel with relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. It is also handily located to the beach, restaurants and shops. I have stayed here several times and will return again.
Cons: No problems to mention and I don't know why this section has to be filled in to submit a review.
Location: Bali Stand Up Paddle School is located at the resort so you can pickup your SUP and be out on the water in minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Very pleasant & comfortable.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Overall good experience. Despite being an older resort and bit careworn, the rooms were very quiet, clean & comfortable. Facilities were good and staff were extremely friendly and efficient...no request was too much trouble. Pools were adequate & clean, with pleasant lounging deck-area. Excellent and varied food was available at the attached restaurant at hard to beat prices.
Cons: Apart from the petty inconvenience of not having a choice of different teas' at the pool-side breakfast buffet, we cannot think of anything significant that would have enhanced our very pleasant stay.
Location: Very close to Sanur Beach & within walking distance of a variety of shops, bars and restaurants for all tastes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A charming hotel with much need of rescuing

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very difficult to review! No doubt one upon a time it must have been great, but now it needs serious maintenance and refurbishment. Having said this, and ignoring the maintenance issues, the hotel has its charms and it grows on you. I would recommend it to budget travellers and backpackers. If you are hoping for luxury, this is not your hotel. My favourite part was the swimming pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Needs a bit of work.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: Close to lovely beach and street front restaurants. Old bikes supplied by hotel great for beach front bike path.
Booked family villa for 6 nights lasted 2. A checklist of working appliances would be beneficial. Felt like we were on maintainance duty. Unfortunately this continued with the upgrade to the diamond villa. Great space but things kept breaking.