Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Such a shame

Posted Dec 3, 2016
This hotel has such potential but unfortunately suffers from some pretty serious health concerns. We got to our first room and immediately could smell a foul smell. We tried to live with it but after about 3 hours asked for the hotel staff to check our room. Once they arrived we were told that the room just had a flood from the toilet. We got moved to a second room and found that the entire shower was full of mold (see pictures) The Villa is absolutely beautiful but unfortunately it needs some serious renos. A good location but I will never stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Buana/Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feed back, that moldy not coming from toilet. we have very intense heavy rain in 3 days, our top roof are flooding and we found the problem already and your room now already fix. Thanks Buana Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

Fabulous hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Everything. Room, facilities and staff - all beyond criticism
Cons: The wi-fi was a bit unreliable.
Location: Located in a quiet street within 3 minutes walk of Monkey Park, but only 15 mins stroll to the centre of Ubud.
The accommodation and facilities were excellent. We chose one of the larger rooms (42 sq ft) for a few pounds more and it was fabulous. Beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff were all really helpful and friendly. The location was perfect for us. We didn't want to be in the main 'drag' of Ubud which is very noisy, but this hotel is located in a quiet road on the far side of Monkey Park. It had a real 'village' feel about it, and yet 5 mins walk and you were into the main town. 15 mins stroll gets you to the centre - but the hotel does have a free mini bus service if you don't want to walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Villa Sonia

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Its location is quiet and peaceful. Staff were always friendly and approachable.
Cons: That was the second visit to Villa Sonia, and I was quite disappointed with the room I was given this time. The room was obviously smaller than the one I had earlier this year. Room had a stale smell and bedsheets smelly. I even had the staff to change the sheets after the first night but it didn't help much. It's either the bedsheets or the mattress that need a change. Power from the hair dryers (from both rooms I stayed this year) were poor even I had switched to high power. The rubber parts of the hair dryer were sticky. Breakfast varieties were still poor, eggs were good.
Location: Very close to Monkey Forest and Ubud Centre. Near to town yet situated in a quiet location for a good night sleep.
5 out of 5
by Nils

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

tranquil setting close to monkey forest

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Tranquil setting away from busy road traffic and noise. Staff were thoughtful and provided good service throughout our stay. Room was spacious and clean. Short distance from monkey forest and there is a short cut by the forest to the main road and shopping/dining stretch along monkey forest road. However, difficult to access by walking at night as shortcut is very dark. Had to take a taxi back when we returned late at night. Breakfast is limited in variety but quality was acceptable.
4 out of 5
by Kim Fai from Hong Kong

Very good location and nice environment

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice pool, good breakfast, comfortable bed, very good location and nice environment
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Lovely quiet villa near Ubud

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, friendly, helpful staff, Beautiful gardens, Quiet, peaceful, tranquil location Delightful fellow guests
Cons: Umbrellas at the rear pool (and this is a suggestion more than anything)
Location: Nearby to the Monkey Forest (back entrance) Short taxi ride into Ubud
We had a lovely 4 night stay at Villa Sonia in early April 2016. The villas are very clean, surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and lovely pools. We stayed in one of the new villas, accessible through a path bordered by gorgeous plants, near the smaller pool of the two pools (the main one is overlooked by the outdoor terrace restaurant). Our room was lovely - though, important to note, it was all one room, as the bathroom and toilet walls do not reach the ceiling, which made for an interesting evening for the rest of my family when I had Bali belly - and so, so quiet. The breakfasts are fantastic - the green banana pancakes were delicious, the coffee strong, the fruit fresh and the homemade marmalade jam spectacular. The staff were beautiful, and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. They arranged massages with a local spa - on the first day, a masseuse came to our room and on the second and third days, they arranged complimentary pick-up and drop off; they arranged a local sightseeing tour, and, when I was sick, sent complimentary ginger tea and toast to our room. They also made our young daughter feel very special and welcome (she particularly loved the towel art that greeted her each afternoon). A late check-out was easily negotiated. We met several other guests who were also delighted with their stays at Villa Sonia; one man was on his fourth visit. We look forward to returning to stay there again on our next visit to Ubud.
5 out of 5
by Pablo Ariel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

We will return again and AGAIN!

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: The location, the room, the grounds, the POOL :)
Location: The Monkey Forest is very close and you can cut through a path on the side to walk straight into the hustle and bustle of beautiful Ubud.
Villa Sonia is a TRUE GEM. It felt like home…the setting is stunning, private and absolutely beautiful! We extended our stay and will be sure to stay there for as long as possible on our next trip to Bali. The staff is kind, generous and friendly. The room is fabulous, the bed was EXTREMELY COMFY and it was in the perfect location. We can't say enough GREAT things about this place! We highly recommend staying here for a peaceful vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MB

Awesome stay!

Posted Feb 4, 2016
We stayed 4 days in Villa Sonia and I have no complains about this place :) - Located in a convenient and quiet place away from the crowds. - The room was spacious and spotless. - Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit always. - 2 swimming pools. - The staff were always helpful and very friendly. I would go back any time !