Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Natalie from sydney, australia

great villa!

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
The owner is very friendly and breakfast amazing
5 out of 5
by Seth from Minnesota, USA

Consider staying here!

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
We visited the Villa Wastra for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon. My new wife and I wish we had decided to stay longer. It is perhaps the most peaceful place we have ever stayed, and we travel A LOT! Yes, it's off the beaten path but we didn't care. We were looking for some peace and quiet so it worked out great. Mariah and Bob were fantastic hosts. Mariah even came along to greet us at the airport when we arrived (they waited for us for 2 hours as the customs line was ridiculous). Definitely request Wayan as your driver, he is a little bit more expensive (600,000 for 8 hours) but he knows every nook and cranny of this region in Bali. I highly recommend this place in every regard if you are looking for serenity in a beautiful setting. We would not hesitate to re-visit this wonderful place!
5 out of 5
by Theo from Holland

Beautiful bungalow with marvelous sight

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Outstanding service, hospitality and location. We were on our way to something else. But if you want to stay a view days around Ubud this is a wonderful luxury and cosy place to feel at home with a very nice host.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place in Bali

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nearer to Kintamani than Ubud but both easily reachable. Hiking and birdwatching from the hotel are easy and pleasant.
This hotel is like no other I have ever stayed in. The buiding is unique, exquisitely beautiful and spacious. The details of the wood paneling, furniture and gardens will amaze. The food is the best. The owners are exceptionally gracious and hospitable.
5 out of 5
by Alex & Judy from Tucson, Arizona

Jungle Hideaway

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels
Loved it. Lovely innkeepers and surroundings, outstanding dining, and perfect peace and quiet. If this part of Bali interests you then stay here and enjoy.
5 out of 5
by Andrejus&Daina from Australia

Return to nature

Posted May 18, 2013 on Hotels
Far away from busy Bali. Restaurants and shopping 30min on scooter. Quiet and peaceful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CH/Singapore

A superb Balinese house for a hidden retreat

Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed 5 days at this magnificient house with an awesome view on the tropical forest. Mariah and Bob, the owners, are adorable, make you feel at home, and "pamper" your stay (good advises on the region, afternoon tea & delights, pick up for your first day, house-made dinners if you wish, etc etc). The only thing is that the house is located in a remote area, 20 km north from Ubud (12 km after Payangan village on the road to Kintamani), so good for daily visits in the north (volcanos,central mountains), but less convenient for outside evenings' activities and places (Ubud only). But worth the trip !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Dreamy Paradise

Posted Jan 7, 2011
Villa Wastra is an extremely beautiful experience. It is accessed by a short drive through the jungle from one of the main roads leading out of Ubud. Don't be alarmed the Villa driver is terrific and knows the area well. The Villa is quiet and secluded, however you need not want for anything if you are searching for rest and relaxation as it is positioned on the edge of a ravine overlooking lush, tropical vegetation. Walks from the villa into the surrounding farmland and jungle to see local Balanese & the huge Banyan tree are a must. Each room is decorated in a modern Balinese style, the rooms been large and leading from either a sitting room or open planned kitchen where you may prepare your own meals if you wish. The beds are very comfortable and there are ample pillows and comfortors. Breakfast is served daily in the open airs where you will get to meet other guests and talk with the innkeepers who are genuinely lovely and friendly and also knowledgeable about the local area. Breakfast and also dinner is offered by the Villa. It is excellent cusine, often with local delicacies to try if you so wish. Go for a dreamy tropical rest to Villa Wastra. Don't stay here if you are looking for non-stop action as you will largely need to entertain yourself or have trips planned in the surrounding Ubud area. I highly recommend Villa Wastra for an older couple, honeymooners or those wishing to escape the rush of other commercialised areas of Bali.
5 out of 5
by Fabien from Annecy

Vue imprenable sur la jungle

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal pour se reposer en plein milieu de la jungle dans une demeure impressionnante. Je recommande un court sejour (1 a 3 nuits max) car c est un peu isolé (40 min d'Ubud). Nous avons passé une nuit et c'etait vraiment formidable.
5 out of 5
by Lotte Lerbech from Roskilde

Fantastisk positiv overraskelse

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
Vi havde to fantastiske dage hos Bob og Mariah samt deres søde ansatte. Vi kan varmt anbefale at købe mad på stedet - det findes vist ikke bedre. Det ligger lidt væk fra alt og via stedets kort med ruteanvisninger, fik vi gået lang og rigtig god tur i området. Vi mødte ikke en eneste turist, de to dage vi var på Villa Wastra. Trænger man til meget smukke, rolige og smagtfuldt indrettede omgivelser, så er dette stedet. Og værelserne er i en liga for sig. Billederne snyder bestemt ikke. Vi håber at vende tilbage en gang og nyde et par dage her.