Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, golf resort hotel.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Pleasing and relaxing atmosphere.
A grand looking resort in all aspects. Our room was very comfortable, staff were helpful and professional, especially (not suprisingly) the golf staff. We dined one night at the Gallery restaurant; good food and service though a bit expensive. Not much in the way of dining options in the immediate area..of course plentiful in Charlotte itself - we just did not want to drive far. We had afternoon tea in the lobby..a very enjoyable, relaxing experience though when I called the number given for reservations, I was informed that I had to give 24 hours notice to book afternoon tea. I then decided to call the concierge who was able to get me a same day reservation. There were only two other tables having afternoon tea so I am not sure what the issue is..making scones or sandwiches is not exactly time consuming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Ballantyne Hotel, Hotel Management
We appreciate the response and we will use your feedback to review our tea reservation process for improvement.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Lack of attention let them down

Posted Nov 14, 2017
After booking the hotel we tried to contact them by email (as we were travelling from abroad) to arrange a golf tee time and Spa. It took four attempts to get a response. Which was disappointing. We eventually got hold of someone who assured us our requested bookings would be arranged and we got our confirmation emails. On the first morning in the hotel my golf appointment went well, but my wifes Spa appointment was a complete disaster. The way it was handled upset my wife, who had been looking forward to her Spa morning whilst I was playing golf. Instead she retreated to the hotel lobby to read by the fire. Only to then be told she had to move. This level of service was extremely disappointing. However, we were contacted by the hotel management and they did try to put the issue right. These efforts were appreciated, but the experience we were expecting from the hotel had already been spoilt. As such, it is unlikely I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Schuyler Clark, Hotel Management
Lee, we extend our sincerest apologies to you for the miss in advance communication about your reservation as well as the service issues you experienced while on property. Our management team has reviewed each area to prevent this in the future and we do hope you will return in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Always a Great Stay!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
This was my fourth time staying at the Ballantyne - first review. We always have a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful, staff is always professional, and the amenities are good. My wife loves the spa. The two bars are excellent, as the selection of drinks and bartenders on staff are very good. We ate at "The Gallery" for the first time this trip. Very good food in a relaxing atmosphere. I definitely recommend the Ballantyne - especially for business travel or a relaxing weekend getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by The Ballantyne , Hotel Management
Thank you for your gracious comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

nice hotel south end of charlotte

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: location , had nice fitness area to workout, property well kept and pretty
Cons: restaurant as mentioned above.
Location: location was good, we live in charlotte and stayed at hotel for our anniversary
couple things, 1) we enjoyed some time by the pool and ordered some snacks that had to come from the kitchen and it took an excessive amount of time to get and 2) we had reservations and ate at the Galley Restaurant it was very loud and we felt like we were in a cafeteria, acoustics are very bad.
5 out of 5
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

So so place, nice rooms and lobby.

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Lobby, 1 good restaurant
Cons: Golf course conditions, carts, tee boxes, basically whole course. Need more than 1 outdoor pool..hotel wasn't busy and pool area was overcrowded.
Not really a true resort. Only 1 smallish outdoor pool. Only 1 restaurant. Golf course very obviously gets too much play...nice, not spectacular and in marginal condition. Tee boxes are horrendous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashburn, VA

Great for a get-away with the girls.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Locatio, restaurant, and amenities.
We stayed at the hotel for the eclipse weekend. The availability of a spa, pool, golf, local amenities, and restaurants made this hotel a perfect location to reconnect before heading to Columbia for the eclipse. I will definitely suggest this location again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I enjoyed our stay and planning to visit the hotel during Christmas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Room was not available when we arrived, even though it was after check-in time. When asked about timeline - was told "I don't know". We asked if we could go to the pool, to which we were told yes but told we had to change in a restroom. No offer to hold our bags, we asked if they would hold and take to our room and they replied yes but the bags were not taken up. We had to call down 3 hours later and request them. Staff were consistently not helpful, not friendly, and not accommodating. For the cost of the stay, I would have expected service far superior than what we received.
5 out of 5
by Myrna

Loved it!

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing