Ratings based on 1,889 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Overall very disappointing. From check in to check out. Too far from attractions, too expensive in the bar, staff unable to book taxi at correct times, no real sense of care. Assume this is due to hotel planning to be knocked down next year so staff turnaround high and just filling in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Great location and the bar that was adjoined to the hotel was also quite cosey.
Cons: The quality of food that is served, and also to refund the deposit once you have paid in full
Great location, bus stop directly in front of the hotel. Taxis readily available to take you into the centre. Taxi costs about 8 euros into the centre. The only downfall about the location of this hotel is that there are no immediate shops within a sensible walking distance which can be a bit of a hassle. Otherwise a very pleasant stay. Just be careful that when booking your room here, the hotel take a deposit and also charge you the full amount of your stay. It takes a few days for the deposit to enter back into your account. So if you were relying on using that extra money ie. 100 euros then you may as well forget it. This is the only thing I would complain about everything else was good. Food was average but there is plenty of choice in and around Ballsbridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good location just outside city centre

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and comfortable. Plenty of staff. Good breakfast and reasonable price
Cons: Showers not the greatest
Location: Right by Aviva stadium. Walk into the city is about 20 minute but a lovely way to start the day.
Nice hotel about 20 minutes walk outside main city centre but on a busy bus route. The walk from the hotel into the city centre was great and passed a lot of intresting buildings, including Oscar Wilde's house, and the park at Merrion Square. Hotel was nice and for the time that you spend in it was good value for money. I would recommend especially for an event at the Aviva stadium
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Perfect for a business trip. However WiFi not very fast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Short break

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Friendly staff ie reception staff excellent clean room comfy bed overall very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wexford

Food appalling and charged for parking !!!!

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Absolutely awful food , half cooked burger and dreadful dry caesar salad and 12 euros charge for parking you would be better off in a hostel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Good hotel. Location not so good.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
The Ballsbridge hotel was lovely, staff were attentive. Room was clean and spacious. The hotel has everything! A barber shop, coffee shop and pub with daily lunch carvery and choice of pub/a la Carter menu in the evenings. There were good comfy seating areas in the lobby. The hotel holds large functions and corporate events. Not evident when we were there. Breakfast was everything you can wish for, with plenty of choice. The location is a bit out of the Centre, but the taxi was about 10euros and the bus stop is outside the hotel. 2.4 euros. We walked it about 30 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location

Posted Nov 1, 2017
It was great to be able to walk downtown! Bus service was great too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Like everyone else says, REALLY needs updating.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for an international conference in Fall of 2017, so we didn't have much choice as to where we chose to stay. Overall I would say the high point of this hotel was the staff - all of the staff were friendly, accommodating, and the best part of the experience. The building itself, however, REALLY needs updating. I had peeling paint in my room, a hole in the wall, parts of the carpet were worn through, the knob on the shower wasn't attached, and the door to the adjoining room didn't have a deadbolt (only a small lock). There was no secondary lock to the door to the hallway (and the door looked like it had been forced in at some point and not completely repaired), so I was somewhat concerned about safety. The radiator was also permanently on, so the room was very, very toasty. That being said, however, I did find the room to be clean (again - great staff). My overall assessment is that the owners of the hotel need to applaud the staff but consider a complete renovation of the building. Definitely not a hotel I'd consider staying at again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Good hotel, clean, comfortable and friendly staff.