Ratings based on 1,816 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expedia Rooms

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Air condictioning
Location: close to all tiruist attractions. short trip to pick up the hop on hop off bus.
The block rooms that expedia is granted are usally not the best of the hotel. Had to as for a new room as it was unaccepable. Hotel accommodated us nicely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Perfect venue for weekend in Dublin

Posted Oct 14, 2017
My friend and I chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced including breakfast and only a short bus or Dart train ride from the Temple Bar area and shopping areas of Dublin. The room was comfortable although tired and in need of some renovation and was clean. The TV quality of the picture was not great but adequate I guess and we asked for a fridge which was promptly brought to the room. The breakfast was high quality with plenty of choice. The staff were exceptional. Very friendly and welcoming and when we had a few issues with our room they addressed and resolved them promptly. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel and staff were wonderful

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: staff were very good and treated us really well
Cons: no
Location: location was excellent for me as I was visiting family close by
overall a lovely break and just the right location for me. staff were very attentive and the hotel was beautiful, had a very pleasant stay with my friend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Disappointing experience at this hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: They let us into our room early.
Cons: Lot's. Staff training, paintwork needs refreshing, rooms need refurbishing, carpets need cleaning or changing completely, hospitality levels improved
Location: Location is great. Lot's of arenas and some nice places to eat
Firstly, it wasn't all disappointing. On arrival we were aware check-in time was 3pm but the reception gave us access to the room at 9am. Room was smaller than pictured and the hotel, in general was in a lesser condition than pictured on the website. Not only was the room smaller, it was rather grubby in places. the whole hotel needs a good old refurb and freshening up. The shower mechanism on the bath taps came off in my hand, the hairdryer didn't work, no bottled water is provided in the room, paint chipping and peeling off walls and doors, not much in the way of room refreshments at all and no fridge or safe. The kettle worked! In general the hotel is not geared up to make the guest feel at home or valued. The staff have a 'couldn't care less' attitude - not all, but negativity is contagious so it only takes one member of staff with an attitude to affect the rest. There are no feedback forms in the hotel - it's something they are 'working on' apparently. The price we paid with Expedia knocked the room price down to less than 100 euros/night, though this hotel rank themselves as a 4 star, I would give them 2.5 - 3 stars, no more. It's the Ryanair of hotels, you get a room, and that's about it! Would not recommend this hotel. Also Sunday morning, the cleaner had the vacuum cleaner running at 7am, and the handy man had begun painting in the corridor - with oil based noxious paint.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location - but noisy, busy hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: If you can overlook the crowds and noise the hotel is located in the best part of Dublin.
Location: Easy to walk to anywhere. Neighbourhood is very nice.
Don't plan on a good night's sleep in this hotel. It is a big busy hotel. Check ins all night so people walking and talking down the halls all hours of night. Doors slamming. This hotel handles many bus tours so lobby and restaurant are crowded at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from luton

HOTEL with easy access to City centre and airport

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Clean, comfortable pleasant with excellent public transport links to City centre and airport. Two double beds in room with crisps cotton sheets and feather pillows. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Situated in very good position to access Dublin.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff, the Dubliner Bar attached to the Hotel good food and service, with late hours opening. Bus stops next the hotel to take you both South and North sides of Dublin City attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel close to transportation.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds
Cons: Staff could be friendlier, as most people outside the hotel were very hospitable and approachable. Also a good fit if able and willing to walk a lot,
Location: Catch the bus in front of hotel is a plus. It was a 10-15 minute ride to city center, but walking is involved.
Avoided restaurants due to high cost. Less expensive and very good alternatives nearby. Staff not overly friendly, but answered questions ok. Beds comfortable and room nice. Close to buses, but a little far to walk to city center. Overall a good experience, but we would have weighed the cost of bus fair with finding a hotel closer to sights in Dublin city center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Looks tired

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs an overall upgrade
Stayed at the Ballsbridge for three nights at the outset of a coach tour. The hotel is well located - about a 15 minute walk from central Dublin. Pub and restaurants about a 5 minute walk. However the hotel is looking its age - tired and in need of some serious upgrades. We heard a rumour that it's slated for demolition - don't know if that's true or not. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we were satisfied with out stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was dark and not very clean

Posted Sep 29, 2017
i was there for business but the staff thought i was part of a tourist group.