Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lurgan, n.ireland

Jackson's Ballybofey

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The location being only a few mins walk from ballybofey was great.
Cons: The old part of the hotel needs a makeover
Location: There are some lovely local shops in the town
I chose to stay at Jackson's because its a family business I like to support local people the hotel reception was lovely and the staff where great but I was disappointed with our room we brought our two dogs so we where in the pet friendly side and it definitely needs an upgrade I would go back and hope things improve soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from belfast

Location is this hotels only positive

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Took a while to check in- 2 weddings on so that was to be expected. First room smelt like stale urine, asked to be moved. New room was old fashioned & the view from the window was looking out on to other windows of the hotel. The hotel itself was overpriced for its condition. I may not have minded staying here if it was cheap as I'm a firm believer in getting what you pay for, but I stayed in a neighbouring 4 star hotel the evening beforehand & actually paid less! The noise from the floor boards above the room woke me up on numerous occasions (I'm a deep sleeper!) Damp patch on ceiling in bedroom. The breakfast room was old & run down, however the food itself was nice. Would not stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Very pleasant stay in Jackson's hotel. Lovely room with beautiful view over the river.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Closeness to villa rose where I was attending wedding
Cons: Everything
Location: N/a
Staying at this hotel due to hotel next door being booked out for wedding I was attending. Rooms are very very dated, furniture could do with being replaced or even guven a lick of paint. Left shower on for ages to warm up it looked like a power shower but was nothing close to that. Bathroom very dated also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul from Gtantham

Great hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
We read reports prior to arrival and were apprehensive - some very grim reports but we were attending a wedding at the hotel and had no choice. From the minute we arrived it was fantastic. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They did a fabulous job of the wedding and everyone in our large party of guests really enjoyed their stay. The shopping in Mcinennies is brilliant as well!!! Great hotel and staff - well done!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrickfergus

Handy to town

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Food, rooms, staff, location, facilities,
Cons: in need of general maintenance and care.
Location: great shops near by, good sporting facilities and handy to many good tourist locations.
A comfortable hotel with good amenities and facilities. Starting to look a bit worn and in need of a "lick of paint". Very comfortable rooms and a friendly and knowledgeable staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian

Jacksons Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed one night. Restaurant staff very friendly. Food good. Breakfast also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

in the heart of Donegal

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed in Ballybofey on business. The hotel is in the town but I had a lovely view over the river from my window. Staff were very helpful. I stayed in the old part of the hotel. The newer section is separate and an older couple I met found the walk back to their bedroom very long as he was not very mobile. Lovely to have the pool to relax and unwind after the day's work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, Kent UK

Wedding party Stay

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: As I have already said in my earlier statement, The staff are a credit to the hotel, and the big open fire in the reception as very cosy.
Cons: I booked this stay via Expedia 6 months prior to the wedding however despite that we had only been booked in one night at the higher rate! cost more!
Location: I booked this stay via Expedia 6 months prior to the wedding however despite that when we arrived we had only been booked in
We attended a family wedding which meant we stayed 2 nights B&B the overall experience was excellent, we stayed in the new wing and the rooms were very clean good size and modern. Some of a family experienced issues with their Hot water in the morning. In my opinion it is the staff who make a hotel great, and this is the case with Jacksons the staff cannot do enough for you especially the breakfast staff and the bar staff.