Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Excellent service, good location, convenient. Small room have to share bathrooms. WiFi went in and out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Cute hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Cute but small lodgings. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Close to centre of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana USA

Very nice B&B. A short walk to beach and downtown

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Barkley was great. The breakfast was wonderful. Really clean and comfortable room and B&B.
Very nice B&B. Barkley (spelling?) was very nice to deal with. He was very friendly and accommodating. He made our family feel very welcomed. This was a very nice place. The breakfast was wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable. The interior is much nicer than the exterior appearance might lead you to believe. Great parking out front. Just a short walk down the street to the beach. Another short walk in the other direction to downtown. The bars quit serving food after 9:00 we found. We had a family of four (with 21 and 17 yr olds). We ended up with take out from The Golden Chip. A little pricey for take out, but large quantities. Good food. I suggest sharing an order or two of the chips (for four people). We ended up with way more chips that we could EVER eat. We really liked this place and we will be back next time we stay in Ballycastle. As with all B&B and hotels in Ireland, bring your own washcloths. Can't say enough good things about this place and Barkley.
5 out of 5
by patrick

home from home

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
lovely place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Lovely central property

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Wotif
We had the share bathroom option and that was no concern at all
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disappointed

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We were looking forward to our stay but unfortunately I fell and broke my leg two days beforehand. My husband phoned from the hospital and explained the situation. We fully expected to pay a cancellation fee but we were extremely disappointed to find we were charged the full amount. Although this is stated in Terms & Conditions we thought a bit of leeway might have been shown under the circumstances. We can only wonder if one of us had been fatally injured would we still have been penalised to this extent. I persume this review will not appear among the other glowing reviews. P.S. I only added the score ratings as I could not submit without them
5 out of 5
by Brian

Overnight stop at An Caislean

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great, central convenient for ferry to Rathlin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant close to amenities.

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Ebookers
We had a lovely stay. Kids loved the beach and just outside the hustle of the town. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Pleasant stop over.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Friendly, smooth check-in. Cozy comfortable room. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
by michele

Convenient, near the sea, restaurants/bars nearby

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
It's a nice, sleepy little village on the sea. Not much night life but has a couple of restaurants/coffee shops but I ate dinner at each of the two local bars which have good food and great local ambience. Of course, watching football, i.e., soccer, matches on the television is a nightly occurrence! The bar keeps and waitresses and waiters were all very nice, helpful and efficient. Of course, the beer was always good, I tried all the "local" brews--both light and dark! Also, easily found a Catholic church (just look for the steeple up on the hill) for Saturday evening mass! Felt right at home! Actually received a reduced rate at the B&B as the did NOT serve breakfast but I could make coffee and tea in the room. That was a problem until I found a local bakery for a breakfast roll, a supermarket to get some juice, fruit and other stuff to eat in the room. They should have let you know this so I could have been prepared BEFORE I checked in and not have to run around doing "household chores" instead of touring when I arrived. Thank goodness it was early in the day so I could get to open stores.