Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Update style.
Location: View the water. Nothing to do which is the best part of it. Just relax, walk, eat.
Views are gorgeous. Food very good. Staff very good. Clean. Views to die for. Hotel just needs a little updating. Recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Nice hotel on the ocean

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Our room was very comfortable and the window had an ocean view of the Ballycotton Harbor. It was reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious.
Location: Ballycotton is pretty remote. You can walk down to the rocky shore or to the cliffs which aren't far from the hotel.
The Bayview Hotel is like a big old-fashioned house sitting right on the ocean. You could listen to the seagulls and the water lapping against the shore. We were able to walk to a great restaurant called Pier 26 in the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A visit to the Grand Green Island. Loved the time.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The view, the friendliness of the staff, the breakfast and the available parking.
Cons: Maintenance and cleanliness are important. The hotel was clean but had evidence of water leaks in many locations. Glad it was not raining.
Location: Amazingly difficult roads! But location was worth it.
The drive to the hotel from Dublin was eventful due to the conditions of the roads. The weather was great and the road surfaces were fine. The roads were barely wide enough for two cars to pass (but they did), there were no shoulders and sharing the road with tractors and tour buses was very intimidating. Then we were driving on the opposite side of the road from our normal practice. It nearly cost us our marriage! The hotel needs some rain water repairs or, at least, clean up the evidence of the leaks. Maybe they no longer leak. The staff were amazing! Great attitudes. Great service in all ways. We wanted to take them back to the US with us so they could teach the service industry a thing or two about Customer Service. Ireland is a grand land. The Bayview contributed a lot to that impression.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Cozy hotel on the ocean

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Very Charming. Right by the ocean. Located in a very charming town
Cons: Wifi only works well in common areas. Wifi could be increased to work well in the suites.
Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Food at the restaurant in the hotel was amazing. Views from the hotel are spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Delightful seaside hotel over cliff & harbor

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The Bayview was delightful, old-fashioned charm, but updated. Great food. Incredible views. Friendly, helpful staff that went out of its way to make our stay memorable. Short walk to very quite town, small harbor, and wonderful cliff walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Lovely location with an incredible ocean view.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: It's good and I would stay there again.
Location: Beaches nearby and a swimming beach at the hotel. Good walking.
Hotel is situated overlooking the ocean and has outside dining if the weather is good. There is a swimming beach and good walking. The room was nicely appointed and comfortable. The food was very good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania, USA

Quaint and Comfortable Stay in BallyCotton

Posted May 3, 2016
Lovely Hotel in the small town of Ballycotton. Wonderful location to do the Cliff Walk! The Hotel staff was friendly, welcoming and very accommodating. Very comfortable common room where we spent much of our evening. Beds were comfortable and we had a nice view from our room. If you are looking for quiet and quaint, this is the perfect spot - would love to go back just to spend a few days relaxing there! I would definitely recommend this hotel for those travelers looking to get away from the noise and congestion of city life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands.

Beautiful views from all bedrooms very peaceful.

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, the position of the hotel, the views, it was a very nice experience overall.
Cons: Just a lick of paint here and there.
Location: Quite remote but if you have a car no problem Walking Fishing Birdwatching there is a fishing industry in the harbour nearby bars serving food all day
Loved Ballycotton, and we will visit the area again, you do need a car as it is quite remote some lovely cliff top walks in the area also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The View

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Nice hotel, great staff and great food with a killer view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Beautiful location, very quiet area

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the view of the lighthouse and of the bay. It was very relaxing.
Cons: Very limited WIFI throughout the building, we were told to only expect it in the restaurant, bar, and community dayrooms on each floor.
Location: Plenty of places to take a nice, quiet walk, but we had to drive about 15 minutes to Castlemartyr to visit the local pubs and have dinner.
Although the hotel was in a lovely location with a gorgeous view and very friendly staff, we were disappointed to learn that the swimming pool advertised in the expedia profile was actually at their sister property located outside about 6 miles away. The rooms were also a bit dated and could use an update, especially the bathrooms. Overall, we were happy with our stay because the location was perfect and the entire staff was so friendly. We decided to drive over to Castlemartyr for dinner and drinks at a local pub called Pat Shortt. There was also a castle to visit in that area. Overall this was a nice place to get away in a corner of Ireland.