Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis,IN

Not really a castle

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Staff was very nice
Nice but is not what I call a castle. Would call this a manor. Staff and everyone we encountered was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Fantastic hotel! Peaceful place and the staff were wonderful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Excellent food. Cozy bar area. Very clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely accommodations in beautiful country!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Liked everything about this hotel. Beautiful location close to Ballyvaughn. We had a suite which was like staying in someone's home. Staff was excellent!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place in a great location

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
This place was great, and a pleasure. The food was amazingly good at the restaurant. Our only concern were the cats which we were not forewarned about, which was not a great thing for people who might be allergic to cats. There should be a warning about that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cornerstone of the Best Western Ireland Vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Location: Things to do nearby... The Ailwee Caves, the Burren, Doolin, Cliffs of Moher, ferry to the Aran Islands, Kylemore Abby, Irish dancing in Kilfenora
All I can say is that Gregans Castle was the cornerstone of the most fantastic vacation we could have ever imagined. We sought the Irish countryside - rolling green hills, rocky landscapes, winding roads - and we found it. But Gregans Castle was more than a perfect launching point for visiting landmarks such as the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher - it was a home away from home. The staff were so incredibly hospitable. Like visiting an old friend, they sought to our needs in a friendly non-invasive manner. The room was quaint and the bathroom luxurious with wonderful towels and a bath robe. The grounds were tremendously manicured with the most beautiful little flower-filled walkways and a little area reserved for croquet. It is conveniently located a hop-skip and a jump from Ballyvaughan where you can find restaurants, a grocery store, and a little light souvenir shopping (as well as a late night pizza/taco place if you have the munchies). Notably, Gregans Castle restaurant was superb. My husband and I had the best meal we've ever encountered (and that's comparing Gregans Castle to Ashford Castle where we stayed for 2 nights). Our dining experience was limited to several tables allowing for a very attentive experience. Our waiter, Shane, was charming and informative. The food was unparalleled and the ambiance just lovely. You do have to reserve a time for dinner, as you would expect with an upscale restaurant. To share a story commenting on their remarkable hospitality..
5 out of 5
by James from Vancouver

Great Getaway in Western Ireland

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, fabulous food, attractive setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa, USA

Stunning countryside hotel!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
We absolutely loved this hotel. It felt like we were in a Disney film when we turned into the driveway, and the Seven Dwarve's cottage was around the corner. Breathtaking grounds. Beautifully appointed interiors. Would absolutely go back!
5 out of 5
by Melanie from San Francisco

Amazing place to stay

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Gregan's castle was outstanding. The food was perfect. The atmosphere just lovely. We all loved it!