Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

One of the best stays on our trip to Ireland

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very unique! Rooms are specially appointed with furniture of the period but with modern comforts. There is no TV's but not a problem
Cons: nothing it is fantastic as it is!
Location: Cliffs of Mohr, the Burren, small villages, the hotel itself!
The hotel is very unique! Rooms are specially appointed with furniture of the period but with modern comforts. There is no TV's but didn't seem to miss it. Food was fantastic. The staff was some of the best I have experienced on the many hundreds of trips I have taken
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis,IN

Not really a castle

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Staff was very nice
Nice but is not what I call a castle. Would call this a manor. Staff and everyone we encountered was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Fantastic hotel! Peaceful place and the staff were wonderful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Excellent food. Cozy bar area. Very clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely accommodations in beautiful country!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Liked everything about this hotel. Beautiful location close to Ballyvaughn. We had a suite which was like staying in someone's home. Staff was excellent!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place in a great location

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
This place was great, and a pleasure. The food was amazingly good at the restaurant. Our only concern were the cats which we were not forewarned about, which was not a great thing for people who might be allergic to cats. There should be a warning about that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cornerstone of the Best Western Ireland Vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Location: Things to do nearby... The Ailwee Caves, the Burren, Doolin, Cliffs of Moher, ferry to the Aran Islands, Kylemore Abby, Irish dancing in Kilfenora
All I can say is that Gregans Castle was the cornerstone of the most fantastic vacation we could have ever imagined. We sought the Irish countryside - rolling green hills, rocky landscapes, winding roads - and we found it. But Gregans Castle was more than a perfect launching point for visiting landmarks such as the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher - it was a home away from home. The staff were so incredibly hospitable. Like visiting an old friend, they sought to our needs in a friendly non-invasive manner. The room was quaint and the bathroom luxurious with wonderful towels and a bath robe. The grounds were tremendously manicured with the most beautiful little flower-filled walkways and a little area reserved for croquet. It is conveniently located a hop-skip and a jump from Ballyvaughan where you can find restaurants, a grocery store, and a little light souvenir shopping (as well as a late night pizza/taco place if you have the munchies). Notably, Gregans Castle restaurant was superb. My husband and I had the best meal we've ever encountered (and that's comparing Gregans Castle to Ashford Castle where we stayed for 2 nights). Our dining experience was limited to several tables allowing for a very attentive experience. Our waiter, Shane, was charming and informative. The food was unparalleled and the ambiance just lovely. You do have to reserve a time for dinner, as you would expect with an upscale restaurant. To share a story commenting on their remarkable hospitality..
5 out of 5
by James from Vancouver

Great Getaway in Western Ireland

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, fabulous food, attractive setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa, USA

Stunning countryside hotel!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
We absolutely loved this hotel. It felt like we were in a Disney film when we turned into the driveway, and the Seven Dwarve's cottage was around the corner. Breathtaking grounds. Beautifully appointed interiors. Would absolutely go back!