Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cornerstone of the Best Western Ireland Vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Location: Things to do nearby... The Ailwee Caves, the Burren, Doolin, Cliffs of Moher, ferry to the Aran Islands, Kylemore Abby, Irish dancing in Kilfenora
All I can say is that Gregans Castle was the cornerstone of the most fantastic vacation we could have ever imagined. We sought the Irish countryside - rolling green hills, rocky landscapes, winding roads - and we found it. But Gregans Castle was more than a perfect launching point for visiting landmarks such as the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher - it was a home away from home. The staff were so incredibly hospitable. Like visiting an old friend, they sought to our needs in a friendly non-invasive manner. The room was quaint and the bathroom luxurious with wonderful towels and a bath robe. The grounds were tremendously manicured with the most beautiful little flower-filled walkways and a little area reserved for croquet. It is conveniently located a hop-skip and a jump from Ballyvaughan where you can find restaurants, a grocery store, and a little light souvenir shopping (as well as a late night pizza/taco place if you have the munchies). Notably, Gregans Castle restaurant was superb. My husband and I had the best meal we've ever encountered (and that's comparing Gregans Castle to Ashford Castle where we stayed for 2 nights). Our dining experience was limited to several tables allowing for a very attentive experience. Our waiter, Shane, was charming and informative. The food was unparalleled and the ambiance just lovely. You do have to reserve a time for dinner, as you would expect with an upscale restaurant. To share a story commenting on their remarkable hospitality..
5 out of 5
by James from Vancouver

Great Getaway in Western Ireland

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, fabulous food, attractive setting
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa, USA

Stunning countryside hotel!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
We absolutely loved this hotel. It felt like we were in a Disney film when we turned into the driveway, and the Seven Dwarve's cottage was around the corner. Breathtaking grounds. Beautifully appointed interiors. Would absolutely go back!
5 out of 5
by Melanie from San Francisco

Amazing place to stay

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Gregan's castle was outstanding. The food was perfect. The atmosphere just lovely. We all loved it!
5 out of 5
by henry from paris

Remarquable

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
rien a dire. detente avec feu de cheminée. du calme. un paysage simple mais qui apaise. que dire du restaurant. Merite une etoile
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely stay here for a treat!

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous stay in this lovely hotel. You are made to feel so welcome, the staff are so lovely and so helpful. The service is extremely personal from every staff member. The food at dinner was fabulous, the full meal is sun a treat. Breakfasts was delicious! There is a very homely feel to Gregan's Castle. It is a very special place to stay for a treat.
5 out of 5
by Eleanor from London

Perfection

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
The best hotel stay I have had in a very long time. There is no way I could fault the hotel or the staff. I hope to be back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

The scenery was incredible

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: The staff's attention to detail, the setting, the ambiance.
Location: The hotel was near the Burrens, which I understand was the spark for J.R.R. Tolkein's "The Lord of the Rings"
The setting for the hotel had some of the most incredible scenery. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The dinner was an experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful hotel with excellent location and food

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Food, setting, friendly efficient service. Peaceful comfort. Great place to escape pressures of everyday life.
Cons: Plumbing idiosynchratic.
Location: Incredible landscape and walking on the coast and inland. Boat trips to Aran Islands. Visit Galway City.
We chose this hotel by its location and Michelin Guide rating. It met our expectations and delivered a really interesting experience. It was like a step back in time, but with the best of modern service and food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
We spent three wonderful days hotel was spotless room was clean ,comfortable and had a great view friendly staff were on hand to look after our needs and requests The food was fab . We were pampered This a great location to explore The Burren and there is lots to do in the area .