Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Eleanor from Dublin, Ireland

Excellent stay

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was very enjoyable. It is a very nice hotel. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is also very close to the centre of Kiel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall satifised

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
This was overall a nice stay @ basic city hotel. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was unexpectedly good. Room was petite but quite comfy.
4 out of 5
by Katherine from Brooklyn, NY

Pleasant stay!

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
This isn't a luxury hotel but that's reflected in the price. My room was small and no-frills but completely serviceable. Single bed with a Picasso poster above the bed, a desk, a sunny window, and an IKEA storage unit plus a private bathroom with shower. I was very comfortable here. You can here some noise the hallways (comings and goings) but it didn't stand in the way of me getting a good night's sleep. Breakfast is included in the price and there's a nice selection of food served in a nice space. The concierge was very helpful and friendly. I was trying to arrange a car share out of Kiel due to the DBahn train strikes and having a lot of trouble because of my limited German skills. The lady who works there during the daytime went out of her way to help me. Location is good -- a five minute walk from the plaza with the opera house and Rathaus (Ratskeller?). I would definitely recommend this hotel to any budget travelers to Kiel!
4 out of 5
by Dieter from Austria

recommended

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels
There is parking directly behind the hotel and WiFi is included. Breakfast has everything one needs. The rooms are clean and do not have carpets - nice! I will stay there again when being in Kiel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redditch, Worcestershire, UK

Very good basic hotel.

Posted Jun 8, 2013
This was a very good basic hotel. We have stopped at 2 others in Kiel and this was the best. They do not speak much English (we do not speak German) but they spoke sufficient for us to be able to understand each other. They offer coffee during the day but when we came back fairly late in the evening you could not get a drink as it was laid up ready for breakfast. It would also be nice to have hot water and the choice of being able to make tea or hot chocolate instead of coffee ( although the coffee was also nice.) It would be nice to have a mirror in the bedroom by the dressing table as the only mirror is in the bathroom and not convenient for doing hair, make up when someone else is in the shower. We enjoyed the complimentary fruit on the desk - beautiful apples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sydney

one of the best low cost hotels we have stayed in

Posted Sep 27, 2011
good location helpfull staff and a great breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very "Basic" Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels
Tiny room, dirty carpet, uncomfortable bed, no elevator. Only highlight was the included breakfast buffett which was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Basic Hotel in Kiel is a great deal

Posted Oct 27, 2010
The Basic Hotel in Kiel was anything but basic. The room was lovely, with adequate space, storage and seating and a large bath with shower. TV included BBC World. Breakfast was included in the price. We were even able to park our car in their private parking area for 5 euros per day, which was a great deal
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raddestorf, germany

good and bad

Posted Nov 14, 2009
really small rooms, you can reach the walls with your arms, but the breakfast was great, a big variety of items---------for one or two days its okay, but I wouldn´t recommend it to stay for a week....