Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
In the heart of the city across the street from the tram line and farmers market.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Juliane Hemmann, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely Juliane Hemmann Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views over Neue Markt.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Position, room size, views
Cons: Housekeeping, some refurbishment
Location: Old town, shopping, harbour.
Hotel very centrally placed with underground parking available at extra cost. One of two lifts out of order and housekeeping replenishment of consumables had to be prompted twice. Very large comfortable room. Breakfast prohibitively expensive but plenty of bakeries nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Juliane Hemmann | Steigenberger Hotel Sonne, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely Juliane Hemmann Steigenberger Hotel Sonne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Hotel was 4 star. Choose not to add more. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice midtown hotel , but needs to ramp up

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Nice midtown location, nice facilities .... but you don't wanna sleep there : lumpy , tired feather bedding makes a summernight in those no a/c rooms a nightmare. And the additional bedding in the DeLuxe suite's living room ( a sleeper couch ) makes a good torture bench . You literally sleep on the metal springs with that thin, tired mattress on top. Staff is North-East-German friendly as expected through my experience . And hey, decoraters, get rid of all those awful plastic flower arrangments all over the public areas .... one simple fresh bouquet at the reception would be it .... less is more sometimes, right ?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel close to center of town.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Clean and convenient.
Location: Near Baltic sea beach.
Easy walking distance to all things. Quaint town with charm. Nice, clean hotel. Close to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2015 by Carsten Jaeckel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback an your kind words. I'd like to welcome you very soon in Rostock. Kind regards Carsten Jaeckel General manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very nice hotel, but brace yourself for the noise!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Quality of room and restaurant, and cleanliness.
Cons: If there were some way to dampen the noise, that would be great.
Location: Right in the center of town, a great location.
The hotel is right in the center of Rostock, across the street from the town hall and square, and about 100 yards from one end of a long shopping street (like Copenhagen's Strøget). The hotel, the room, the restaurant, and the staff all were very good. The hotel and room were clean and modern. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was great! The staff was capable and friendly in a reserved way. The restaurant was very good, as was the restaurant staff. The downside, though, was that it was *very* noisy. The town is very old, and the streets around the hotel are made of cobblestone, such that you can hear every car go by, whether or not your window is open. Also, we heard lots of people talking on the street, and perhaps because we were there on a Saturday night, it was especially noisy. The fact of the noise erased much of the positives of the hotel. It's not the hotel's fault, but it is a fact.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Visit Rostock, avoid this hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The hotel is ideally located on the market square. It styles itself as a "superior" hotel, but it's a pretty bog standard 1980s business chain hotel. Checkin was professional but cool. I was asked for my credit card. When I asked why because the room was prepaid through Expedia, I was told they just needed to swipe it to "cover any extras". Housekeeping wasn't the most thorough - a previous guest had drunk the whole bottle of mineral water and put the cap back on - this hadn't been noticed or the water replaced. On checkout the employee informed me that the room had not been paid for. I showed him the Expedia statement and PayPal receipt. He took a photocopy and said well that's alright then. However, the next day the hotel charged my credit card for the full cost of the room without my knowledge or authorisation. Although the management reversed the charge promptly when I complained, they minimised the incident as "inadvertence" on the part of the employee. This left a thoroughly unpleasant taste in my mouth. I have never encountered such unprofessional and dubious behaviour from a hotel employee. I wouldn't go near them ever again, and I suggest you don't either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cba

Posted Apr 8, 2014
nice hotel and location. if i went to rostock again i would stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B. from Reno

Beds could be more comfortable

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Room size, location
Cons: Beds
Location: Town center, old city, shopping, restaurants
Nice hotel, great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from UK

Great for Central Rostock October to May!

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: Staff friendly, spacious room, location great
Cons: There is no air conditioning in the rooms so warm summer nights can be a problem for sleeping
Location: good central location
Nice spacious rooms, very friendly staff, good locations but we could not understand why there is no air conditioning the bedrooms in a 4-star-plus hotel. This would make a difference to our decision to stay there in future in the June to September period