Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yonkers, NY

Great stay in Baltimore

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The lobby is spectacular.
Cons: The parking is very easy, but you have to hang a pass on your mirror, which means an extra trip outside. In our case, it was drizzling and freezing.
Location: There are several great museums nearby and the Inner Harbor has many other attractions, too.
Booked late through Expedia, got a standard rate. The room was fine and the hotel is located near downtown and the harbor so it only took us a few minutes to get the to American Visionary Arts Museum, which we loved. The lobby is surprisingly ornate for an Express! And some of the architectural details, cast iron door surrounds on the elevators, are charming. I'm glad this building was repurposed rather than being torn down, which could have been an easy call. I visit Baltimore because I bought a boat there and am sprucing it up. I find I like it more each time I go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Natalia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that your liked our lobby and the historical atmosphere. We tried to keep the original design of the building and it is always pleasant to know that our guests appreciate it. We apologize for the inconvenience with the parking pass but this measure is taken for our guests' safety. We hope you will understand. Thank you for mentioning our great location with easy access to a lot of tourist attractions. I hope you could take advantage of our free shuttle! We hope you will continue enjoying Baltimore and stay with us during your next visit here!
4 out of 5
by Larry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carmela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Very relaxing

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Had an appt. with John Hopkins, the stay was very comfortable and relaxing making us less nervous about going to the hospital.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are super excited to hear that your stay was relaxing and comfortable. Hospital visits can be stressful and overwhelming. It is our mission to become your home away from home during that time. Hope to see you soon! Just maybe under different circumstances. Take care.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk is horrible. If my transaction wasn't online, I would not have stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would love to hear more details about your previous stay with us. As our front desk staff is known for consistently great service, we would like to know what did go wrong and how we can improve your impression. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from State college

convenient hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017
This hotel is close to inner harbor and supplies free shuttle. It brings a lot of convenience to tourists.
5 out of 5
by Rich from CT

Excellent hotel..... unless you want to stroll at

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in a not so nice part of town
4 out of 5
by Debra

Friendly & Nice at minimal cost

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Woman at front desk was extremely professional, helpful & kind. Because we had a large truck, parking was difficult and that is one of the downsides. Parking was scarce in the small lot. The upside was that when we went to the woman at the desk, expecting very little help, she couldn't have been kinder and had the gentleman that deals with that type of issue assist us. The man moved the hotel shuttle bus to allow us a bigger space to accommodate our oversized vehicle. The only other thing that I could find wrong to prevent giving the hotel all 5 stars (other than lack of a nice view) was that the bathroom shower tile was cracked and needed replacing. I'd rather a crack in the bathroom tile and deal with such kind people as we did at the hotel, anytime!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Debra, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! It is a great pleasure to read that you left satisfied with our customer service. Your feedback is a great testament to our team’s dedication to the guest experience. Regarding your comment about the bathroom shower tile, we have notified our executive team and they are working on fixing it. Thank you for letting us know! We would be delighted to have you stay with us again, as we would treasure the opportunity to serve you once more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Interesting lobby space. Good breakfast included in cost of room.
Hotel building was interesting, and rooms were in keeping with Holiday Inn Express - clean, pleasant, no surprises. Location without a car felt a little marginal/sketchy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by natalia@hiebaltimoredowntown.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.We greatly appreciate your kind words and are very pleased to know that you and your family had an enjoyable stay!