Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chevy chase, MD

Hotel with character

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Great staff. Unique rooms. Location
Location: BSO, Walters,
This hotel will appeal to anyone who enjoys old building with modern facilities. It located very near the Meyerhof Concert Hall and also near a wide variety of restaurants. Other venues for entertainment and culture are within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading, PA

Dirty rooms - human hair and stains everywhere

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Stairway and odd shaped rooms would have been nice if it were clean.
Cons: I would suggest that they come up with a better cleaning system for their rooms because it was really disgusting.
Location: Location was good but there is limited onsite parking.
I went to Baltimore for a night to see a show and I thought that it would be nice to stay in an unusual restored historical hotel. I had to have a room change and the over night staff was very accommodating. The reason for the change is because there were stains and hair all over the bed of the first room. It was very late at night after the change and when I got into the second room it had the same issues. I had to wrap my pillow in a t-shirt and sleep on a sweater. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and for $200 a night I should be able to sleep on the bed without wondering if that stain next to my face is someones vomit or blood.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is a really nice hotel in a great location. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I will be staying here again. It is within walking distance or free bus service to just about anything you would want to do in Baltimore. We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Historic Charm, Irritating Parking

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: Multiple Soft towels, a parking co-op
Location: Very nicely situated to Maryland Institute College of Art, very close to Inner Harbor, in the heart of restaurants.
Though the building was beautiful, conveniently situated, and staffed pleasingly, the parking was a challenge and the room—chilly. The 24 hour self serve cappuccino machine made up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from smithfield, United States of America

Excellent historic hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The staff was great, very helpful, but the 'dining' area and breakfast were marginal. Otherwise I was very pleased with the hotel and my stay. It is a beautiful building/very special
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel with great history.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
I loved this Inn, its classy design and renovation, as well as its history.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will probably pass next time...

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice historic building with friendly staff. We booked a 2-bed room but we're told none were available at checkin, had to live with uncomfortable pullout. Some items in need of repair- lamps, toilet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Finger Lakes, NY

Not Bad, But Not Great

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The shower was amazing! And the bed was comfortable. I also liked the service of the staff, who readily moved me from a room with problems into a room that was much better.
Cons: The outside of the hotel is more interesting than the inside. The decor of the rooms and hotel interior is not very imaginative and is showing signs of age use. The first room I was placed in had 2 out of 3 window blinds that were broken, for example. And in both rooms, some of the white linens and towels had black streaks on them. The whole interior of the place looks and feels very bland, worn down, and unimaginative.
Location: Lots of great restaurants! Explore the Mount Vernon & Bolton Hill parts of Baltimore. Near light rail and subway.