Ratings based on 1,510 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great affordable room.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Quiet.
Cons: Restaurant menu is very limited.
Easy access to and from Airport or Amtrak with complimentary shuttle service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
I checked in on Monday April 10th and not once did I have a hot shower. They did nothing to try and compensate for it. The hotel manager just said they didn't know what to do. I'll never stay at another Ramada.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Shabby interior, indifferent staff

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Room was shabby, peeling wallpaper, holes in the walls. First night of two night stay I had no hot water in the room - cold shower (not luke warm, but COLD). Alerted the staff at front desk about the problem. Was told they would "make a note". Second night the room still had cold water only. When reported to the front desk, was told "yeah, we've had a lot of complaints". No fix, no apology. Will not use Ramada again - I would rather avoid cold showers when traveling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with our water system. We had an unexpected problem with our boiler system recently, which resulted in a complete loss of hot water at the hotel. While our maintenance staff addressed the situation immediately, it took some time to resolve completely. With a brand-new system in place, this occurrence will not be repeated. However, we do understand that it made your stay with us less comfortable and are truly sorry for any inconvenience. This is not the typical experience our guests receive, and it's by no means acceptable. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, and we hope you were otherwise able to enjoy your stay in the Baltimore-Washington area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing best to offer

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Ive asked for towel but didnt give one. No internet, nothing best to offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review however we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. We are researching the internet issues you mention, as we do offer complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. Additionally, our staff is typically quite responsive to guest requests for additional towels, pillows, etc. yet are truly sorry we did not accommodate your request as we should have. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you were able to enjoy your time in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

U can do better

Posted Mar 19, 2017
No hot water...Mice in the room.No cable just regular TV.Just a sad stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are truly disappointed to read about the experience you had while staying with us recently. Your comments are alarming and have immediately begun to research them. We do apologize that your visit wasn't more enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Poor breakfast provided

Posted Mar 15, 2017
On the first night my wife wanted a hot bath but all we could get was lukewarm water. We were instructed to run all the taps in the room for 20 minutes on the hot setting to hopefully get hot water... really? The best we got was very warm (never hot) water for the three nights and mornings we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us recently however we are truly saddened to see that you and your wife did not better enjoy your visit. Please accept our apology for not providing you with the hot bath temperature that you anticipated on having. Our staff is actively working to correct that for future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington De.

Poor location in an industrial park.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Peeling wall paper, smells bad, lousy food in the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are really sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and rest assure we will review them with our team. Our goal is to provide guests with a memorable stay and we are sorry to see that yours was disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to reserve but dirty dirty dirty

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We stayed here while we traveling just for sleep but boy was this place dirty and in need of repair. Bathroom was gross - tub needed replacement Scarce hot water Musty smell to room Free breakfast was lacking Room was not clean Bed was somewhat comfortable though. Staff was polite. For $70 a night for a place to sleep it was fine but wouldn't recommend for anything longer. This hotel needs some serious TLC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you staying with us but are disappointed to see that your experience was less than perfect. We value customer feedback and will most certainly be discussing your comments with our team. Despite what may have occurred during your visit, we do hope that you had a nice time while in the Baltimore area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Easy check in. Room could've been cleaner but for the price it's ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Our sincere apology for the lack of adequate service received during your recent stay with us. Our team normally receives rave reviews about the cleanliness of our rooms so we are disappointed your experience was otherwise. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your comments with others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Hidden but in View...

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Cons: Breakfast choices: Rasain Bran Cereal, prepare your own Hot Waffles, microwaveable scrambled eggs. Possibly contract with the on premise restaurant..
A little tucked out of the way, but not far from Food and Entertainment, the Live Casino and Arundel Mills Mall is up the road. Easy access!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us recently and yes, we are in a quiet tucked away location, yet near many great attractions and restaurants. Our hotel offers shuttle service to the Casino and Arundel Mills area when needed allowing our guests the luxury of not having to drive. Please keep us in mind the next time you are back in the area!