Ratings based on 812 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clarence, NY

Needs serious updating

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: The breakfast area was clean and well appointed and stocked. Staff were friendly and efficient.
Cons: Serious cleaning of rooms -- especially bathrooms and common areas. Walls and ceilings need to be scraped and repainted.
Location: The airport and some decent restaurants are within a ten minute drive. There is a Checkers and Dunkin Donuts across the street.
Odd check-in; clerk was not as informative as she should have been. The hotel, which we had stayed at years ago, has definitely gone downhill. Although the sink area was clean and updated, the walls and ceiling were dirty and peeling and the bathroom/shower was awful. Our sheets and linens were clean, but the top cover/comforter was stained as was the bed skirt. The place needs a complete overhaul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Guest t Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your feedback. We agree with you that there are areas in need of a makeover and we are hopeful to have many updates complete over the next several months. We will be using your feedback to better determine how we can improve to make for a better experience for our future guests. We really appreciate you staying with us and hope you will decide to try us again at a future date.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms are very bad condition

Posted Dec 5, 2017
I have been staying for few weeks and two times I got a rooms with bad conditions
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by The Staff and Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know you had an overall good stay. That being said, we are sorry for the inconvenience you had in your room. Your concerns have been shared with the appropriate team in an effort to improve our facilities. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back soon. Thank you, The Staff and Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore BWI

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Deadbolts in main door and door to adjoining room didn't lock. Wall damaged, shower had damage and toilet paper holder fell off the wall. TV remote was not intact. Front desk people were very nice and helpful though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by The Staff and Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are happy you had a satisfactory stay and that you liked our Front Desk associates. Being said that, we are sorry for the issues you had while here. Your feedback has been shared with our maintenance team so that they can have a quick review of your room. We hope you will choose us again whenever your travel brings you our way. Thank you, The Staff and Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
......................................................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Staff and Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for rating our hotel. We are sorry you were unhappy. We encourage you to come back so we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality and service you should always expect from us. Thank you, The Staff and Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Breakfast

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The breakfast
The breakfast was awesome and the hotel staff that worked in the breakfast area had great attitude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Tajuan, Hotel Management
Thanks Rose for the feedback we are really happy that you had a delightful stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Found minor spider web/ fruit flies around lobby. Dust on edges in my room
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by The Staff and Management, Hotel Management
We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at Comfort Inn & Suites BWI Airport and the convenience of our shuttle service. Thanks also for confirming our terrific airport location. We appreciate your business and apologize for the inconvenience you had. We hope you will be back to see us on your next trip to the Baltimore area. Thank you, The Staff and Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
For the most part the hotel is clean, but the common areas almost reminded us of a hospital - especially the “dining” area. It was very institutional, not at all comfortable and the appearance was not at all pleasing or appealing. The staff is horrible - seriously the worst service experience we’ve ever had in a hotel. Following up with Choice Hotels corporate offices regarding our particular experience - and will never go back, nor refer anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for providing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your recent stay. We will be addressing your comments promptly to establish ways that we can improve our service and standards to our future guests. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you where we can provide you with a more positive experience that you deserve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia beach

Good prce close to the airport

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Ok place for a business trip. Showing a little wear but its reflected in the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by The Staff and Management, Hotel Management
Mike, thank you for reviewing your visit with us. Although we're happy to read you liked our location, we're sorry to know you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We apologize the inconvenience caused and hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back soon. Thank you, The Staff and Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2017
The hotel is comfortable and has free breakfast. Also there are fast food locations nearby and is close to the airport and car rental facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by The Staff and Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Comfort Inn & Suites BWI Airport. We are thrilled we met your expectations for a fantastic stay! We are glad you enjoyed the amenities provided for your comfort, especially the complimentary hot breakfast and shuttle service. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to your next visit with us! Thank you, The Staff and Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Dirty place! Don't stay there!

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Once we walked in I understood I won't stay there. The room was dirty, spots on the blankets and carpet and awful smell through out the whole place! We left right away!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your experience at our hotel. We will address the issues you have mentioned right away. We hope you will choose to give us another opportunity to serve you in the future where we can provide you the guest experience you deserve. Thanks again.