Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin New Zealand

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Stayed there for a week it was fine comfatable warm room Staff were frendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Banbury stay.

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: The staff, location, breakfast, comfortable bed, wi fi, varied public rooms and pictures.
Cons: It needs a good clean of doors and walls and paint, repair of leaks.
Location: I liked my first visit to Banbury. The history horse/rider statue near the cross is beautiful. The modern museum/cafe by the canal, Shopping centre g.
Condition of hotel- several large leak marks on ceilings in main building and my room, tatty, grubbiness to all doors, walls and windows. Staff very helpful, cheerful and fun. Good breakfast provisions. I reported a nearly blocked sink on my arrival , still not fixed after 2 days and nights. The hotel organisation seemed to be affected by post festive period, waiting for provisions, laundry etc. I had to find my own towels from laundry packs after waiting several hours on evening of first night. Noise from road, church bells and next room, didn't bother me but could be a problem for some people. My room was not serviced after first night? Not really a problem but not a good impression of their organisation. very comfortable though. Nice public rooms and characterful building Excellent location, Lovely large beer garden for dryer months.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

"Old" by name, decrepit by nature!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Cons: A general clean up and renovation of the building is required to bring the standard up to an acceptable level.
Location: Good location and within walking distance of the town centre and a number of pubs. This does also contribute to being rather noisy in the evenings.
3rd visit to Cromwell Lodge and disappointed is a understatement. Host was very negative about their laundry supplier messing up their order which is not very professional saying they had not had a delivery of clean linen so if we were missing any in our room let her know. Both rooms we were staying in had no pillowcases so we informed them immediately. Upon arriving back to the hotel later that evening around 10pm there were still no pillowcases in either of the room. Upon speaking to the night staff they managed to find two pillowcases between the 6 pillows. This is very unhygienic and avoidable had proper planning been given or alternatively a few pillowcases could have been purchased as an emergency from a local store. The rooms themselves were uninspiring and not very welcoming. Both were dated and had a number of issues, the main issue being the cleanliness (this can been seen in the photos), stains - both on the walls and chairs, kettle was dirty, light above bed not working, phone not working, water from the bath ran yellow and when the water was emptied from the bath a film of dirt was left from the water itself. Also there was no remote for the television in room 12, these issues were reported several time however no resolutions were found. Outside the room had its own indoor water feature, with water streaming down the wall. Breakfast was cold on both days, day 1 there was no coffee or orange juice and day two there were no pastries or brown bread for toast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Old & jaded hotel in need of TLC

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Good free breakfast Large single bed
Cons: A facelift
Location: Town centre Close to shops
No lift No bathtowel - had to ask for one Heater not on -had to ask to be shown how to work it Room service - meal took 2 hours to arrive Please do not recommend this hotel to clients
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Spot for travellers to experience brit heritage

Posted Dec 28, 2017
The building itself is old which gives it character. I really want to go again but I'm broke. I really enjoyed myself though. I cant fault it. Staff were really nice, you get a power shower plus free wide variety of breakfast items with your stay. Theres room service and dinner is on till 10pm. The rooms are clean, theres nice little soap bottles in the bathroom which come in handy and a nice rotating mirror in bathroom great for doing makeup. The beds are so comfy as well. And you get a real taste of a traditional English hotel with a pub downstairs and lots of people milling in and out. I got a chance to see the gorgeous garden too. Its walking distance from the train station and a few convenience shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to amenities

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Was a very comfortable stay. Room was lovely and clean.. breakfast is great and the service from the staff has been good too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston lincs

Central to town

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Central
Cons: Spend some cash on refurbishment.
Location: Plenty to see and do
Room 10 was shabby and bathroom was mouldy.decor needs updating.same room as the last time we stayed,but will not be staying anymore.find out before you book if any parties are going on,as we had to leave and find a quiet pub intill2300 hrs.hovering whilst having breakfast was a joke.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Parking limited and right in the centre of Banbury. Excellent Italian restaurant next door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rolvenden

Nice location but terrible standards

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location was great
Cons: Cleaning, decoration and staff service.
Location: Central location for Banbury
The advert for the hotel looks great however the hotel was rather more tired and unclean than the photos would suggest. Our room (24) smelt damp and sure enough the bathroom was terrible. The damp patches visible and black mould growing in the shower. On further inspection you could see the dust sitting on the wall paper which was hanging off the walls. Really disappointing for the hundred pounds for the night. The breakfast, we had to chase for to make our morning meeting which was due to just one person on duty dealing with a full hotel, breakfast service and checking out. Ridiculous!