Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to amenities

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Was a very comfortable stay. Room was lovely and clean.. breakfast is great and the service from the staff has been good too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston lincs

Central to town

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Central
Cons: Spend some cash on refurbishment.
Location: Plenty to see and do
Room 10 was shabby and bathroom was mouldy.decor needs updating.same room as the last time we stayed,but will not be staying anymore.find out before you book if any parties are going on,as we had to leave and find a quiet pub intill2300 hrs.hovering whilst having breakfast was a joke.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Parking limited and right in the centre of Banbury. Excellent Italian restaurant next door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rolvenden

Nice location but terrible standards

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location was great
Cons: Cleaning, decoration and staff service.
Location: Central location for Banbury
The advert for the hotel looks great however the hotel was rather more tired and unclean than the photos would suggest. Our room (24) smelt damp and sure enough the bathroom was terrible. The damp patches visible and black mould growing in the shower. On further inspection you could see the dust sitting on the wall paper which was hanging off the walls. Really disappointing for the hundred pounds for the night. The breakfast, we had to chase for to make our morning meeting which was due to just one person on duty dealing with a full hotel, breakfast service and checking out. Ridiculous!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Shirley

Bring your own towel.

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
We were very much looking forward to our stay at this hotel. The room was lovely and clean as well as the location. In our room, we did not have towels. So, we asked for some at reception. We were only given one two between two people. I asked for another one but the girl said she they ran out and were being delivered tomorrow. At breakfast, we waiting a long time for our meal. There was only one person on duty who was taking food orders, stocking and refilling the continental breakfast bar and covering reception. She kept said she hadn’t forgotten about us but she did as we never received our coffee. She was trying her best but clearly needed help. She’s not an octopus. We also overhead two other couples saying that they did not have any towels either. For a busy hotel like this there should be more members of staff available and should NEVER run out of towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Town Centre Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
No key for room. Staff execelent regardless. Very short staffed and always apologising. Nice clean and tidy room, breakfast for small appetite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Close to the centre of town

Posted Aug 22, 2017
A beautiful old building with a lovely garden. Very friendly hard working staff. Plumbing not the best which is common in old buildings the sink was blocked and smelt atrocious. Sorted immediately when we pointed it out, though whatever was used was so potent that the sink started fizzing and smoking. The staff member wasn't wearing gloves! 😱 And we both started coughing and my eyes were streaming! Also got a parking ticket for parking in the hotel car park! We were told not to worry as this had been an oversight! Try telling my husband not to worry! However despite this, we had a lovely break in a bustling friendly town. The hotel staff work long hours and always have a smile. The food in the hotel was fabulous and the drinks reasonably priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Quirky, but not in a good way

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The car park.
Cons: Room number 3.
I only had the pleasure of staying at the Cromwell for one night. On arrival, the receptionist was very welcoming and fun to talk with. I stayed in room 3. I would advise anyone to avoid room 3 at all costs... On arrival, I was told to ring "0" for reception, but probably can't as the phone doesn't work in room 3. When I was conscious that my room was cold and noisy, I tried to close the two (original) windows but neither would shut despite persuasion. I closed the curtains over best I could but it made little difference, sadly not a great nights sleep. Then, as morning came, I was greeted by bright light coming in under the curtains, which were 3-4 inches too short. In the morning, I went down for breakfast. There was only one member of staff on the floor. I waited for almost 10 minutes before being asked if I wanted breakfast. Everyone else was asked if they wanted toast, apart from me until after my breakfast came. When I had finished my breakfast, I left in the absence of any toast being delivered... An extra person on the floor at the buy time would have made all the difference. I thought the car park was good...
2 out of 5
by pat

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Tired and in need of restoratiom.