Ratings based on 947 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Perfect location with free parking!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The location is great. You can walk to everything, including a beautiful river walk to the falls. We had the best burgers ever at Eddie's.
Location: There's tons to do in the area. Lake Louise is nearby along with everything the National Parks offer.
Banff is incredibly busy in the summer. It was great being on the 3rd floor at the end of the building, overlooking the Bow River. We had a premium room which is worth it. One side of the hotel looks onto a parking lot. The balcony on the river side was great. The room was basic but very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location but Stuffy

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Air conditioning!
I have stayed at the Bow Valley lodge before and it was fine. Unfortunately, my children and I experience brutal heat in the room and the only window available was to the shared balcony therefore could not safely be left open. My daughter felt ill due to the heat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with very close access to the river

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Hotel needs updating-for the price, the hotel was disappointing. It was clean and very close access to the river and downtown Banff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from athens wi

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Would have been nice if there was air conditioning was 90 plus degrees
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB

Take your bug repellent

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The hotel is nice, kind of old style but not that bad. The staff is nice. We didn't know that kids are not alllowed after 9 pm in the pool which was annoying for us because our kid was expecting to have some fun there. We were in summer and to have a walk near the place it is mandatory to have repellent with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice place to stay on the Bow RIver and in town

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location was good. On the Bow River and convenient to downtown without all the traffic. Can easily walk to all downtown locations from lodge.
Location: On the Bow River and trail; convenient to downtown areas but away from traffic; short drive to nearby Banff places and parkway.
Nice location on the Bow River/walking trail but right on the edge of town, so short walk into downtown, but away from traffic. Very comfortable, spacious room. Note this does not come with breakfast, but you can easily walk to a number of places. Parking is a little limited at the Lodge, but there is additional parking at the sister hotel next door. This was a return visit to the Bow View Lodge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

No air conditioning

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We were there during the summer, and the rooms were not just hot, but unbearably so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Suffered from bedbugs bites

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Clean all the rooms especially 315
Everything was OK during our stay and location is great. However, the second day we figured out that we were bitten heavily by lots of bedbugs especially my wife and sun. Will never go there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Old hotel and the pool is in the other building you have to walk outside to get there. Tv was from caveman age . You have to pay extra for Wi-Fi. The only good thing about this lodg is its staff that's it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location close to downtown

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice location close to downtown and bow river. The only thing I didn't like is that internet is not free. A minor thing is that there is no microwave in the room. In general, it was a good one night