Ratings based on 1,011 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to down town.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Location,location,location.
Cons: The televisions are getting old and could be up dated.
Location: The location was great. It was with in walking distance to down town. Which meant that I didn`t have to drive any where .
MLy stay at this hotel was both pleasant and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long beach, ca

Great location, comfortable , good price!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and was very satisfied with my experience. My room was spacious, had tv, fridge, and other amenities. My parking was included and was able to use the indoor garage of the hotel next door. The place is a little dated, buy the conveniece of the location to the main street as well as the comfort I felt were worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Older hotel however the premium room we had was fine for a short stay. The front desk staff appeared disinterested which is unfortunate as initial impressions made a difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Good location, on the river and close to downtown

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Price, location
Cons: Better beds, staff should check to see that fridge and remotes, etc., are working before guests arrive
Location: Just a short walk to Banff Avenue and excellent shopping, dining, and places to book mountain adventures.
We spent Canadian Thanksgiving weekend here, our fist visit Rooms were small but clean and well-appointed. We had a bit of trouble getting the mini-fridge to work initially, and the batteries were dead in the TV remote when we arrived, but everything was worked out. There was a very loud party underneath us on the Saturday night, but fortunately we had brought earplugs. Lastly, we both found the bed to be uncomfortable and woke up with sore backs all three mornings. Luxurious it was not, but the accommodations were perfectly serviceable -- a no-frills setting with an excellent location and decent price per night for Banff on a holiday weekend. If you are just looking for a place to crash between mountain activities, this hotel may well serve your needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the River

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The Bow View Lodge is a decent hotel in Banff right on the Bow River. Although the lot is small, parking in the adjacent garage is available. Overall, a good hotel for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

It's alright. You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: It's on a quiet street and has parking.
Cons: No air condition
The room that I stayed is clean, and the staff are helpful. The location is at the end of a street, so it is pretty quiet at night, unlike those located on a busy street. The down side of the hotel are the following: - It doesn't have air condition, so it could be hot in the summer. I stayed in the fall (end of Sep) and it was fine. I just needed to turn on the fan in the room. But I can see that it could be hot in mid-summer - You have to pay for wifi - stated in the deal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Tired motel on bow st

Posted Sep 20, 2017
This is basic and tired. Needs a refresh. No free internet but the good thing is they have free parking and it's a short walk into town. The rooms are clean and tight. A double bed and a single squeezed in. We could have done without the single. You can hear the trains at night and coyotes plus the odd Elk bugle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice clean hotel that is very central

Posted Sep 11, 2017
A nice clean hotel. I had a lovely view from the balcony of Bow River. Very central and within walking distance of everything in Banff. Very clean with good, basic facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Request a river view

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Excellent location with large rooms, comfy bed and balcony. Only pain is not providing free wifi and, although I didn't need it, there was no aircon but there are screens on the balcony door. Easy access to swiming pool at Banff Park Lodge round the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

great location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: location and price
Location: located at riverside, walking distance to town center
the hotel is old, but location is great - located at riverside, walking distance to town center.