Ratings based on 1,145 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

this is quite a walk from town, 20 min. walk

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: It was in Banff and less expensive than the usual.
Cons: be clearer at check in what was going on --- and have a better check out procedure.
Location: It is about a 20 minute walk from the main part of town. just motels, a few restaurants...
This was the 3rd motel we stayed in for the 5 days we were in Banff and the most disappointing. The room was okay but very dry --- so dry in the air that I woke up with a headache. Also, when we checked in, we were told there was a breakfast, but I told them we had to leave at 4:30 a.m. to get to the airport for our flight -- I was never told that there would be no one here to check us out, so I never got a receipt. That was unsettling to me because when I got home last night, I saw that they charged me $39 more, so I had to call to find out what that was. It ended up to be pending and protocol for them to charge a fee, that they would have removed in the next couple of days (the charge was pending). I wasn't used to that and someone should have told me that (the kind man on the phone said the same thing). We weren't here much, but it was just okay, and I'm not likely to rebook at this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location. Comfort
Cons: Have more options for eggs on the breakfast.
Location: Location is great. Nice to walk on Banff avenue
Really convenient location to have a walk on Banff Avenue. Breakfast is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Cons: Upgrade continental breakfast a little, e.g. Belgian waffle maker w/dispenser for pre-measured batter would be perfect! Breakfast staff great!
Good location for all downtown Banff Ave. shopping, restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Very basic hotel but clean!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Renovations of room decor, general look needs updating
Location: You are in the heart of downtown Banff! You can see it all!
Great way to enjoy a comfortable room at a decent rate. Very clean. Super spacious bathroom. Breakfast is okay and could be improved. Staff are friendly. They are not flexible on early check in. Would surely bring my family back to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Convenient

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Better breakfast
It is basically a Motel disguised as a hotel. You take the elevator to the second floor and you find yourself outside. The good thing is it was clean and comfortable. Overpriced but that's Banff in the summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nicely setup hotel close to Downtown Banff Action

Posted Aug 21, 2017
3 Adults in a two bedroom suite. Bedrooms are separated by a small efficiency kitchen and bathroom. Seemed clean and we laid out. One room has a queen and one room has two twins. Would be a nice option for a family with kids. Pool and hot tub were a nice perk after a long day of hiking. Breakfast was meh, but also free with room so a cold waffle and canned fruits will do, I guess. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Comfortable hotel in Banff. Nice staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We had an overnight stay after a drawn out travel experience. The staff and facilities were good .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas, US

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Nice hotel, we had loft Fireplace Suite, great for the family. good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good quality hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay in charltons, it's a good quality hotel, clean, well looked after with a great indoor pool and hot tub that our kids loved. Service from staff was excellent and they quickly dealt with a complaint about noisy neighbours. It was resssuring to see they have a very strict policy about noice after 11pm. Wood stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la porte, tx

small room, out side hall.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: I do not like this hotel.
The room can NOT control air condition .you need to call the front desk to ask someone to come to turn on your air condition. And they control the temperature .