Ratings based on 2,904 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Very confusing to find your room. I realize Banff is a major tourist resort, but the money i paid for the night was not worth it. Heard a lot of doors slamming, and heard the toilet flush from other rooms during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location, NO AC!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Our first room was very dirty, but they upgraded us at no additional cost and were very kind about it. There is no air conditioning, but if you open your windows that helps. We were very pleased after we were upgraded to our cleaner, newer room. The older rooms, however, need to be updated because they charge the same for all of them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

LOOKED TIRED

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The place looked tired and old. The rooms are in dire need of a facelift. There wasn't a single piece of wall art, i.e. picture or painting on the wall. We were there for 4 days and not once did housekeeping vacuumed the room. I know this to be true because I spilled some chip crumbs on the floor on day one and they were still there on day four. The towels and wash cloths are due for replacement. They've seen better days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The buffet breakfast, but I would not recommend the Japanese restaurant inside of the hotel, expensive and not too much choice.
It's a good tidy pleasant hotel for a short stay, to spend nights after daily tours. You can enjoy a clean shower, clean bed and a good breakfast (need to pay extra) inside of the hotel; and it's located on the Main Street of Banff, not far away from downtown. I will recommend this hotel to friend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spruce Grove

Overnight Stopover

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The staff were wonderful
Cons: Renovate the rooms and hallways and make the bathrooms bigger.
Location: Location is great . Parking lot is a bit tights behind the Swiss building.
We only stayed one night on our way through. We found for the quality of the room it was terribly expensive. I realize it's intended for skiers and backpackers so it's not fancy but the price is way out of line with the quality. The rooms and hallways are in desperate need of updating. The bathrooms are so small you can either close the door or walk in but you can't do both. On the upside the staff are all friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny,ny

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The price of the hotel was not reflective of the hotel's condition and room cleanliness. We definitely overpayed! Old hotel that desperately needs updating. There were layers of dust around room. No air conditioning and it got hot. Limited appliances; hairdryer did not work; coffee machine in room; small fan in room; stand up lamp was sketchy (bulb falling out and difficult to turn on due to poor electrical connection). Overall, I was disappointed in the hotel due to it being in Banff on the main strip (at the start of strip- could be a long walk for some to shops). I know Banff is expensive, but at least clean the rooms!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta, canada

bad experience.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: location is not bad
very bad washroom (bath tub, toilet, all the water taps), no microwave oven (its common now a days in every hotels). i m not gonna go there any more, even i wll not recommend any one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

terrible experience in the hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: My family dislikes it at all.
Cons: internet, air conditioner
No internet, the WIFI signal is basically useless. The room is on 5th floor, tooooooo hot like a steam environment to stay in during the whole night. My baby got fever in that room and got well after moving out!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Our room was ugly looked like it was a 2 star motel, the outdoor hot tub they advertise is closed down, they had construction going on at 7am outside which woke us up, our door was broken so it took 5 minutes to get in everytime.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from langley

70's hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Only one available
Cons: The entire room and decor
Location: Easy access from hwy
This hotel is located at the end of the strip. The staff are friendly There isn't a lot of parking and located on a steep hill. Doesn't have any air conditioner No microwave The decor was from the 70's Not worth the money No privacy on the patio, anyone can jump from one patio to another