Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Andre in the breakfast area was amazing

Posted Mar 27, 2017
The entire staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Andre, in the breakfast room, was exceedingly friendly and helpful to us and the numerous tour groups we encountered
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Not suitable for snowboarders/skiers

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, decent breakfast.
Cons: Most of it. A good renovation, allow gear to be brought into the rooms. Train staff on giving directions and being more service minded.
Location: about 20 min walk into the center of Banff. Bus shuttle (within a 5 min walk from the hotel) to Sunshine Village, costs $15 for a return ticket.
Like I said in our "first impression" review, if you're in Banff for snowboarding or skiing, don't stay here! You're not allowed to bring your gear into the room, so you have to get a lock from the front desk and carry all your stuff from the lobby, downstairs, go outside-across the parking lot into the neighboring hotel, take the elevator down to the underground parking, walk across that and in to a storage to put your gear into a locker that can barely fit the items. The hotel felt old and in need of a good renovation, the area felt very dodgy and the room looked old and you could easily hear your neighbors and people outside the hotel. There's a teeny tiny flatscreen tv, I'd say about the same size as a computer monitor. We had to place it on top of the microwave to be able to see it from the bed, since the dresser it was standing on was very low.. The bathtub had some weird black stains in it, the toilet wasn't flushing very well and you had to hold down the flush for quite a while for it to do it's job. There were no glasses in the room, only plastic cups for the coffee. The "year-around heated outdoor pool" isn't heated, it's more lukewarm, which isn't the nicest feeling when it's snowing outside. The staff didn't feel that engaged and friendly, more like they couldn't be bothered. Only good thing was comfy beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the low price.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Much better inside then on the outside. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice comfortable sheets. Very bouncy pillows. Nice if you are out all day. Short walk to downtown. Bonus that the price included a hot breakfast!!! Could use updating of the pool and hot tub area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice hotel right on main street

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Were 'upgraded' to their sister hotel next door: Spruce Grove Inn. Was very nice. Spacious, clean room. We were just off the main lobby, so we could hear people talking and laughing as they were checking in (a bus full of visitors), but once the check-in desk closed, it was quiet again. Full hot breakfast was included with room, which was great! Everything from cereal, bacon and eggs, fruit and yogurt, waffles and pastries with tea and coffee. Parking was free and convenient. We were a short walk from the middle of the town. Would stay there again, and would recommend it to our friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too old

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The staff are wonderful and cheerful, given the hotel's condition. Our room is dirty, toilet flush had to be fixed by my husband, the beds were made but footprints can be seen in top sheet. The shower head is too big and hard to adjust. We stayed only one night, a Saturday night at that, and it was only 630pm, but the hotel hallway to the rooms in the East already smelled strongly of weed! Continental breakfast is average, but in our table the cutlery and water glass were dirty in that you can see thumbprints and smudges we're way too visible for comfort.
4 out of 5
by kayla

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ont

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Staff were extremely helpful. Food was really good & portions were big. The rooms are a little dated but clean & comfortable. Pool, hotub & sauna were great after a long day of driving. Licquor store on premises a definite asset.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Asked to next to friends room and they said it could be arranged and we were across the hotel from them.
4 out of 5
by Alison

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The front desk people were kind and helpful and the complimentary breakfast was good. The only negative was that they used too much heat, but with 6 degrees outside, there are worse things.
5 out of 5
by Rainer

Lovely Affordable Hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was comforting and relaxing for me. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Will stay again in there next year!