Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place to stay besides the fairmont

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Good enough when you need to crash somewhere for a night, but too old for myself.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

ok stay

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: clean, well maintained rooms. Bath amenities were high-end (L'Occitane brand). Friendly staff. Excellent restaurant.
Cons: Wifi needs to be better.
Location: Very close to the lake and Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.
Made a last-minute booking so paid premium price for a very, very small room. It was fine for one night but if we had to stay longer we'd definitely have tried to move. The wifi was terrible too, and you could hear everything going on in the next room and outside in the hallways. On the BIG plus side, the room was very clean, the two twin beds and duvet were very comfortable and clean, and well maintained. As old as the hotel was, there was no mold/peeling paint, dusty corners etc you would have expected. The bath amenities were L'Occitane, which was nice. Also, the restaurant was excellent for dinner. They were understaffed that night but the staff kept us well-informed. The food was delicious and the views were beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed. Standards have dropped..

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Hotel staff were great. The hotel infrastructure needs a huge upgrade. Rooms very hot - we managed this by keeping the windows open. Strange instructions about the "scalding" water. Some pillows very smelly! Won't go back..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the ski resort

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Awesome place to stay off the grid classic style hotel. We had a great meal and finished the night off in the rooftop hotub
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Facilities and location

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Hotel location is very good as it is 5 minutes to Lake Louise and it is very convinient, it is clean even the hotel is very old. I like the hotel architecture. Price was average compare to the others. Something to improve: Hotel has defective temperature control, knobs are made of wood which is not functioning. Wifi connectivity was very slow and almost unable to use. No television and refrigerator. Food prices at restaurant was expensive but delicious in comparison to its nearby 5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great location and amenities like morning coffee/tea and the hot tub and sauna! The room was clean and comfortable although very warm for sleeping (the thermostat didn't seem to work so we opened a window).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chichester. UK

Good location, poor hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The location, nothing else.
Cons: Staff, food, rooms etc etc
Location: Lake Louise is wonderful but stay somewhere else.
I will try to be diplomatic here and therefore will say that the majority of staff we encountered here were in need of some customer service training as they were abrupt and argumentative. The first room we were assigned (310) was tiny, dark and totally inadequate for two adults with luggage for a two week trip. We were upgraded (at great cost) to a room in the newer part of the building. the new room had water and a can of beer (presumably from the last guest) in the ice bucket and the bathroom bin hadn't been emptied properly. Not that big a deal for me but shows again a lack of care by the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MB

Meh...

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Only thing going for it is location & restaurant. Incredibly outdated & tiny rooms. Staff was difficult when checking in due to the name with my email/expedia account not perfectly matching my id. We got the hot tub to ourselves for a bit so that was nice. Was a 1st & last time stay though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec City

PERFECT LOCATION

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Location: Visit Lake Louise, hike up to the Agnes Tea House. Take a trip to Moraine Lake.
The Deer Lodge hotel has SO much potential. Located just behind Chateau Lake Louise, it has the perfect location. It can be used as a base for hiking and exploring the area. Moraine Lake is about a 15 minute drive away. The dining rooms - both in the lounge and the formal dining rooms - are excellent. Self-parking is free. This hotel chain sources its meat from its own farms. From this point-of-view, I would certainly stay there again. On the negative side, the hotel seems to be run by students. While the staff is helpful, there is much to be done to improve the look of the hotel. Hallways are dim with ceiling fixtures which are full of dead insects. The rooms are spartan, but this is okay. No television? Perfect by my standards. But goodness, a fresh coat of paint everywhere and redone bathrooms would be a very necessary beginning. I do not understand ventilation systems that are so full of dust they have not been cleaned in many years. Cleanliness is so so important. I have written this message to the manager, and hope that person acts soon. There is absolutely no reason why Deer Lodge could not be a top-rated hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location but poor hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
This location and hotel has so much potential but it's dated, smells and the service is poor.