Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere, The staff, The location.
Cons: the room could have been a little more updated.
Location: The location was the greatest. It was away from the big crowds. But close enough to Banff and Lake Louise. The views are spectacular.
This hotel was the best. it was older and a little run down but the staff makes up for everything. The front desk worker was the greatest. I would go back for sure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

One night at Kananaskis Lodge

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: I like where the hotel is situated. I like all of the lovely shops that are a part of the centre. The outlook is beautiful.
Cons: I would like to have opened the window and get fresh air. Especially that we are in the Wilderness.
Location: There is so much to do nearby...usually we camp in the area but a visitor from Australia staying with us, wanted to shout us to a nice hotel.
We had a lovely over-night stay at Kananaskis. At night time we used the Spa facilities which are excellent.We also dined in one of the restaurants which was delicious. The next morning we had a leisurely morning going for a run and walking outside for other members of the family. The view and environment are spectacular. We then took a walk to the river below after we checked out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

You will fall in love with the delta lodge.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
This was our third stay. We love the rooms, scenery is breathtaking, the spa is amazing, staff are so friendly and make our stay very special each time. Get a loft room with a view.You will love everything about the delta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Joanna Gregson , Hotel Management
Dear Miranda, Thank you for sharing your feedback and photos with us! We're thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the mountains soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from YYC

Noise!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rethink your pet policy. Perhaps place the pets on the lower floors of the hotel??
Location: On leaving the hotel we headed to Elbow lake for a short hiking and a days fishing.
Checking in went smooth with no issues. Went for supper in the Fireweed Grill, the service was slow and the food did not meet our expectations. The starter soup was only warm went it finally arrived. We had a steak for the main course. When it arrived we requested a steak knife but gave up waiting and had to use the butter knife. The steak was very tough to eat. Over all not what we expected for this location. We were placed in the Mount Kidd Manor for the night. The room is very basic and in need of some upgrades. Our room came with a balcony but on opening the curtains we where greeted with a view of tree trunks. Not really a selling point! Apparently all the rooms are pet friendly at this hotel and they feel it's ok to place guess with pets in rooms above other guess without pets. The dog in the room above us was busy moving around until 4am the next morning! Due to the terrible nights sleep we actually missed our original intended departure time the next day. Overall a very disappointing visit this time, not sure if we will be back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Joanna , Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. After reviewing your comments, it was concerning to learn about the service you encountered within Fireweed Grill in addition to noise from other guests. Based on what you've described, that isn't the experience we want our guests to have, nor a common occurrence here at the Lodge. We sincerely apologize for our team's shortcomings. In an effort to improve our resort operations, we've shared this with the appropriate teams. Although we failed to exceed your expectations, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kananaskis in the near future. Kind Regards, Joanna Gregson
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dans la nature mais vieux et pas de AC.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Bel emplacement . Dans la nature . Besoin de renovations . Pas de climatisation....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario

Needs a refresh, and more attention to guests

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting and when work is done, it should be much better.
Cons: Tell the truth about long-term problems like the hot tub. Have more than one patio available to enjoy a drink and the scenery. Update the info boards.
Location: Lots of hiking, biking, driving in the area, and tons more to do in the wider area.
The hotel must have been nicer 20 years ago but it is showing its age now. Entertainment was hard to come by, and not that great when available. One manager told us the only rooftop patio in the entire place was closed for the night (at 8pm) because it was 'too chilly'. It was a beautiful night and 20 degrees Celsius! They just didn't want to staff it as there weren't that many guests around. Notice boards hadn't been updated in about a month. Renovations are underway, as we noticed from 7am to 5pm every day with the sound of buzzsaws, trucks and other loud construction noise. Had I known it was undergoing construction we would have stayed elsewhere, as it was impossible to get a moment's peace during working hours. It didn't help that they kept the lobby doors open. The inside-outside hot tub was out of commission and while the front desk staff said it could be up and running 'later today or tomorrow', it was very obvious that no work had been done on it for quite a while, and wouldn't for the forseeable future (and probably not this season at all). Don't lie to your guests! The scenery is amazing, however.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Joanna , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. As you noticed, we're currently undergoing a phased, multi-million dollar renovation which is slated for completion soon. To date, John Palliser Manor is complete and we're currently updating the Main Lodge. Although we failed to exceed your expectations during your stay, we hope to welcome you back to Kananaskis soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off the beaten path

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Location: Access to all the local tourist area's, the golf course is still closed unfortunately but the ski hill looks like it deserves a visit this winter
I've spent lots of time in the Banff area and wanted to try something more serene, the Delta is close to the highway and provided a nice break from the hustle and bustle of Banff. the hotel is really clean with beautiful grounds and the food quality was very good. it provides a nice staging point for traveling on in any direction
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Recommended hotel. Beautiful area, amazing staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel okay, staff ok, location beautiful!

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Some areas of the hotel were in need of an update including tiles and matinence in the pool area and the food in the restaurant was not very good. The scenery was beautiful and peaceful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Beautiful Location

Posted Aug 25, 2016
We came up for the weekend as our son was getting married in Canmore. We wanted a peaceful, serene setting in the mountains. Our room was lovely, overlooking the mountains. The beds were comfortable and the fridge was a lifesaver to keep the wedding bouquet cool, as there was no air conditioning in our room on this exceptionally warm weekend. My future daughter-in-law and I booked a spa package at the hotel that was amazing! The grounds at the lodge were beautiful for taking wedding photos.