Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location but I was disappointed personally.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Honestly, first thing first ... the location is amazing. Overlooking the Emerald Lake, you honestly won't believe it until you see it. Now, the hotel itself. The rooms are a little more dated than I had initially anticipated and there's no television or WiFi available in your cabin. I was aware of the WiFi situation but not having a TV, whilst understandable because of the remote location, left me a little bored in my room in the evenings. Thankfully, I brought a laptop along prepared with something to watch. I was travelling by myself so it could be very different if you were in a group of 2+ but for me, a bit disappointed with that aspect. Another issue was, in the winter, the path/road were unbelievably icy. My cabin was at the furthest point from the main lodge where all the facilities were available and I honestly left having a lunch on both days because the ice was too much along the highly uneven path. It could cause a very bad accident. I also had to down-vote the staff aspect because some could see people struggling along the path and not offering lifts in their golf carts. Most of the staff were great but I thought, if you're not going to clear the path by gritting it, at least offer people an alternative way of getting back to the main lodge. The cost of food was fairly reasonable however I was a little shocked when I paid for a drink and wasn't even offered change back. It was over a 40% tip! Overall, it was nice but value for money, disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Stunning location nestled in the mountains.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Perfect for getting away from everything and everyone. Back to the pre cell phone, TV days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Winter Wonderland - for romantics and adventurers

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Unreal location on a beautiful Lake. Great hiking, amazing food, wonderful lodges and best of all, wood burning fireplaces! I recommend everyone take their significant other here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Beautiful location. Everything was great until we got into our room and then it was disappointing. Rooms are in need of updating. Carpets desperately need to be torn out!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

One of the most beautiful places I've ever been.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: It's pretty isolated but worth it. Hiking is amazing and you won't be sorry you made the trip.
They need better wifi in the lodge. Amazing location. No cell service unless you drive to Field.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Emerald Lake Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful getaway to the lodge and enjoyed being in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again for your feedback Kind regards, The Guest Relations Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, uk

Rip off

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The location and the fireplace in the room
Cons: The dining options. Also would have been nice if they provided map of lake with approximate times it takes for each trail.
Location: Emerald lake, hiking trails.
Lovely location, only hotel actually on the lake. Given the price we paid per night i did expect a bit more. Breakfast wasnt included and wifi was only available on the main lodge which was a hefty walk from our cottage. Only option for food and drink is in the main lodge, the cheapest option on the menu is "bar snacks" which were waaaaayyyyy overpriced for the tiny portions. Ordering a main meal from the main menu will set you back the same as a tank of gas and a glass of red wine could have bought me an entree and glass of wine in a less fancy establishment. Only encountered 2 nice members of staff, others not helpful or friendly amd refused to let us stay an extra night after a road closure prevented us from getting to the hotel. You are much better off taking an rv there and parking up and taking your own supplies!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Amazing! Great views of lake. Quite and comfortable stay. Great food!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

아름다운 호수 그저그런 호텔

Posted Oct 11, 2016
위치는 호수 옆에 멋집니다. 시설은 제가 롯지를 처음 이용해서 그런지 별로에요. 장작을 때는 벽난로는 매력적이지만 좁고 시설도 별로에요.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara

From a simpler time

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Emerald Lake is smallish -- a circumference of 5.25 km -- but lovely. The main lodge houses reception and dining facilities as well as a large billiards table and the property's only TV and internet outlet. The main parlour is overstuffed with old furniture. The food is good+. The sleeping cabins are rustic but worn and tired; each cabin offers four guestrooms; each guestroom room has its own bathroom and bedroom with fireplace. If you enjoy the aroma of creosote you'll be right at home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice getaway for a weekend

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: quiet and out of the way with a view of Emerald Lake.
Cons: Wi fi for the rooms.
Location: Emerald lake, Natural Bridge and various falls.
Lovely location. excellent staff and facilities. Wi fi only in the lobby, hard wire in room. No TV in room but who needed it when you are out all day. Large rooms, Rustic feeling.