Ratings based on 742 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sturgeon County, AB

UNDECIDED A UNDECIDED ABOUT WHAT IT WANTS TO BE

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The place is beautifully situated and the property has some luxury features. The dining room provides good fare with some interesting items. The owning company CRMR has its own ranch near Calgary and it raises elks, bison and beef there. All meats served comes from this farm. The best item is a charcuterie platter consisting of a variety of dried meats--elk prosciutto, and so on. But on the whole the menu is skimpy, and the prices are atrocious. Two scallops for $ 19.00 and the waitress claims that the item is "very sharable"! Too much up and down stair climbing to get from the main lodge to individual cabins. It seems that the place cannot make up its mind about what it aims to be: a luxury resort, a young folks' sporting base, or a spare and spartan meditation centre. No cell service. Wifi only in the lodge. One is cut off from the outside world. Impossible to fathom why wifi cannot be provided in the cabins. It is unlikely that we will go back to the place. That is a shame because the location is unbeatable for its amazing natural beauty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Airdrie, Alberta

Beautiful, Secluded but not convenient

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We did not realize that our room would be at such a distance from the parking lot or that the rooms were actually in individual small lodges / cabins. Once we got our luggage in (shuttle service required) we had a lovely stay. But it takes a bit to coordinate check in with registration and allocation of belongings. Absolutely beautiful, natural and low footprint on the environment. The Ad made it seem like a hotel, but peeps should recognize it is more of a rustic experience. Definitely, gorgeous but expensive rustic accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Loved the view, warm fire place all the rooms to explore in the lodge and the hot tub ( our favourite)!
Cons: Price of food.
Loved our stay, such a relaxing beautiful place. Staff are very helpful even bought more kindling to help start our fire, no problem at all. They seemed very happy to be there, always working and smiling. The food was a little pricey, but good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed here for a 2 night get-a-way.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Great location, nice for 'getting away from it all', and the food was excellent (although a bit pricey). More on the 'rustic' side.
Cons: Room cleanliness. Wanted to walk the trail around the lake but trail not maintained in winter.
Beautiful location on the lake, peaceful and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,ON

BEST HOTEL EVER

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The fire place, the hikes, the staff, the food
Location: The best hike we did nearby was the Wapta Falls! It was gorgeous and a beautiful hike!
Wow, Emerald Lake Lodge was absolutely fantastic! The staff were extremely friendly, the food was fantastic, and our room was clean, cozy and warm. The best part about our room was the fireplace. It was so nice to end of long day of hiking by the fire in our own room. They provide the wood, kindling and matches. Everything about our trip was fantastic. We went in April so the lake was still frozen but it was just as beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Emerald lake lodge

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The hotel was great but dated. Some hard wood instead of I'd carpet would of been nice and a small fridge in the room would of been convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Rustic as in worn, dated and don't let your baby crawl on the floor. Great location, peaceful and nice to unplug for a few days. Crackling fireplace in the room was splendid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Still love this place!

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location, hot tub - the pine marten that kept trying to get into our cooler - kept on the natural fridge that is outside on the balcony...
Cons: Needs some renos
Location: Nature walks, snowshoe, Xcountry skiing.
2 night Spring Break getaway. So beautiful at Emerald Lake in winter! Or late Spring - still lots of amazing snow! Still love the lodge although is starting to show its age - in need of some renos. Shower screeched whenever in use. But to wake up in such a beautiful place and be able to rent X Country skis right there and enjoy a fantastic day of skiing is so worth it! And the outdoor hot tub after is always wonderful. We bring a cooler, toaster and kettle so we can have snacks and breakfast in room - bit pricey to eat all meals at Lodge... The meals we had were excellent. Spent lot of time upstairs in game room playing pool and card with the kids and if you really need to see the big game there is a TV there also... I personally love that there are NO TV's in the rooms!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Emerald Lake Lodge is always an enjoyable experience. It's the spectacular setting!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay was amazing

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Great location , helpful and friendly staff and will be coming back :)