Ratings based on 1,293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Friendly staff. Quiet location away from the crowd

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Homely feel.
Location: Quiet and beautiful. Surrounded by the mountains.
Staff are always ready to help. Reception is always manned. I like the complimentary movies, popcorn and board games to make you feel t home with the family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
We appreciate the perfect rating you have shared with us. It means a lot to us that you had such an exceptional stay and we do hope we will be your first choice in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Photos were very misleading

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room, large suites, lots of amenities such as washing machine and drier, DVD and movies, full kitchen and underground parking.
Cons: Move the location so that you have a better view. Or cut down the tall trees between the hotel and the mountains. Advertise using real photos.
Location: Quick drive into town, quick walks to locations with great views. Hotel itself, does not have a good view.
We were very excited about our stay at the Falcon Crest in Canmore, primarily because the photos and descriptions indicated cozy common rooms and a balcony facing the mountains. However this hotel is located between other hotels and tall trees and barely has any mountain view, especially on the ground floor, where they placed us. That took the wind out of our sales. Even though the staff was friendly and the our suite was quite large and clean and complete, we couldn't get over not being able to enjoy a nice view from our room. Be wary if you are looking for a nice view. Otherwise its a great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are currently working on trying to solve the tree blockage, but it is not on our property so this takes some time. We apologize for any challenges you faced with this and do hope in the future we can offer you want you are looking for. Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Friendly informative staff

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, and price.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Plenty of outdoor recreation activities to do in Canmore and Banff.
Staff gave us great advice of the area and when and where to visit per our interests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a perfect rating. We appreciate your time and are pleased to know you had such a lovely stay with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
We had wonderful stay at the hotel. The room was cozy...had washer and dryer inside the room which came very handy. Overall we had a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we do hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Just amazing, the room is great, the bed was comfy the room was so big and the view... wow! Will stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
We are thrilled to know that you will stay with us again. Thank you so much for the prefect rating and we do look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australian

Very comfortable! Great position

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Staff very helpful. Clean and very comfortable room with a bonus kitchen! Only problem was the outside was being painted and workmen were outside our room both days and we didn't feel comfortable using hot tub! Great position! Walk into town and restaurants easily.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the prefect star rating! We apologize for the situation with the painters as summer is the only time we can do these touch ups. Feel free if you stay with us again to let our Guest Service Team know of any concerns you have as we would have moved them for you. We appreciate your time and do hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent Washington

Expensive!! Noisy!!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
When I booked this hotel I used mostly my Expedia points so the price was not bad. But....if I would of paid full price I would be very unhappy. It does have a full kitchen stock with all utensils needed. The bed was very comfortable. But only had one small tv over the fireplace. Made it a little difficult to watch from bed. The other furniture seem old and damage. Management did contact me on my last day as I had complain the ugh before about the numerous small kids screaming till 11 at night and then again at 8 in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2016 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We will be doing full renovations of the Lodge within the year, and there will be a change in the furniture as well. We apologize that your stay was not as perfect as we like to offer, and will certainly review and fix these concerns as best we can. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Pretty good stay

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location easy to find and was clean and the staff friendly.
Location: Lots to see and many trails to explore the outdoors.
I was unhappy with the noise of children running in the room above us and the noise of the trains constantly in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize you had some challenges with noise levels. Should you return please always let us know if any concerns so that we may ensure your stay goes perfectly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was great close to town and river walk

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Staff was helpful with any inquiries and always ready to help
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
We truly enjoy providing you with the most amazing service levels, and ensuring you have a wonderful stay. Thank you for sharing a review with new and potential guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great Service

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: service, staff, stunning view of the mountains from our balcony
Cons: New carpets/flooring
Location: lots of great hiking in Canmore and Banff (short drive away)
We had a very nice time staying at this hotel. It had two hot tubs and every night we were there we had a great time meeting and talking with people we met in the hot tub! We shared stories of great hikes we had done each day. We liked the fact that this seemed to be a hotel suited to adult travelers as opposed to families. The view from our hotel room was stunning! We could see the Three Sisters mountains. Unfortunately we could also see the lovely pool in a nearby hotel (which we did not have access to). The front desk staff was helpful, courteous and friendly at all hours!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Cory Haggar General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Lodge. We appreciate your time and do hope you will think of staying with us again in the future.