Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice hotel, good pool, good location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The room was nice, the hotel was clean, the pool was enjoyable and the waterslide was surprisingly fun! A second slide would be even better!
Cons: Two things I would like to see improved are the comfort of the bed, mine was way too hard, and the shower could be hotter, it was warm at best.
Location: The location's good, it's near Canmore's downtown, rec centre and good food choices. On the down side, you can hear the highway from some balconies.
I was one guest of several who attended a wedding, and somehow I was the only one who ended up in a room without a balcony. This was disappointing, as I don't think I had the option to choose between a balcony and not. The business centre was handy, though not easily found.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Value in the Rockies

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This hotel was the best of our 10 day trip in the rockies, and was almost the lowest in price. The suite had full kitchen with stainless steel appliances, full electronic showers that talked to you (and required an owners manual), and was beautifully furnished. The three-story waterslide in the pool was a big hit with the kids and I liked the 50m walk to the local pub.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice ambience

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The hotel experience overall was great. Didn't see any negatives for the price we paid. Said there for a week, felt homely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Canmore During the Week

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Hotel was nice and location was fairly central, but noticed some inconsistencies as I had friends staying in an identical room down the hall. Bird poop on the balcony, missing screen door, laundry machine smelled bad and old coffee left in the pot from who knows how many guests before and different kitchen supplies in the shelves/drawers to name a few. Staff at the front desk weren't helpful at all. Managed to do some cleaning/tidying of the room myself and overall enjoyed the stay! Pool/hot tub were nice, the hot tub is indoor/outdoor -the hotel restaurant is closed Monday/Tuesday and couldn't book a massage at the hotel spa. A couple of the cleaning personnel were very rude, and my bed wasn't made/room wasn't tidy upon returning after a long day of hiking which was frustrating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel fixtures, terrible!! Nice location.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The size of the suite and the balcony view.
Cons: Room basic fixtures and amenities because they are clearly problematic. Also the responsiveness by the Hotel Manager in dealing with the problems.
Location: Canmore is a nice little town and it is close to Banff which is a beautiful place.
The Hotel personnel at the front desk was nice and polite but we started immediately having problems with the room toilet that got plugged two days in a row. the Toilet tank and water discharge had clearly some fundamental problems in which the water does not have nearly enough velocity to assist in discharging the solid waste. The third day after coming back late we discovered that the toilet issue had not been resolved and, no message or notice was given by the Hotel Manager or representative. Finally, at past 12 midnight, the hotel personnel decided to relocate us to a different room. In addition, the faucet handle that regulate the water temperature inside the shower was very defective and stuck into a position. Therefore, due to the very hot water temperature, the 3rd day we had to bathe at the sink because the water temperature in side the shower was way to hot. These are big inconveniences with the very basic services that amenities that an hotel of this price range cannot have. All the experienced issues are issues with which clearly the hotel has been dealing for a while but, has voluntarily disregarded to fix. This is unacceptable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat Alberta

No Mountain view at all

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Easy to find. Rooms all face the courtyard with no view of mountains which for the price paying is not remotely acceptable. Fantastic kitchenette suites with balcony, BBQ and very modern, bright and home'y. Wayyyy over priced. Don't plan on staying a long time unless you can absolutely afford the price per night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice stay in Canmore

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The WiFi Connection was excellent - faster than home ! Good location and nice amenities.
Cons: Even though the parking was underground - It was very confusing where to park and it typically was a long walk to get to the rooms.
Location: Safeway was nearby very convenient to pick up lunches to go for the next day. Lake Louise and Yoho Parks within about an 1 Hour ride.
The Grand Rockies Resort worked out perfectly for us. It was in a great location for exploring the lower Rockies of Canada. The beds were comfortable ...the room was a nice size. The WiFi connection was amazing fast. The Shower and the kitchen were very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but not worth the extra money.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Clean, conveniently located, modern, friendly staff
Cons: Update photos on the internet to reflect accurate photos of facilities, including remote buildings.
Location: Walking distance to many shops and restaurants, very convenient from highway
The pictures on the internet of the resort are beautiful. Unfortunately, we were not given a room at the pictured facility but across the street in an older building that sat right on the main street of town. When I booked our room, I decided to treat ourselves to something a little nicer and spend a little more than typical on the accommodation because it looked like such a nice place--very disappointed. I feel it almost bordered on false advertising. In spite of that, the room was very nicely appointed and modern but somewhat noisy due to traffic. The resort is very conveniently located within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The housekeeping service didn't appear at our room until around 5:00pm and then only asked if we needed anything. Overall it was a nice room but not worth the money we paid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with mountain view

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The lounge and bar
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Great cycling, jogging, walking in the town and vicinity
We had a great time in the swimming pool with the slide and the hot tub. The staff was more than friendly. The room was very clean and the bathroom nice. We could walk into town from our hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

The facilities were good but the staff was not.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The room was nice as was the lobby area. The front desk staff was neither helpful nor knowledgeable. They were unaware of the hotel policies (dining, codes for parking area, pool, wifi, etc) and I had to beg for an answer to the most simple of questions. The amenities were different and if a lesser quality then those advertised by Expedia. For example if you book through Expedia breakfast is not included.