Ratings based on 1,011 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Our room wasn't ready for check in at 4pm.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The room wasn't ready for check in at 4pm and we weren't given any apologies for the wait. We're told to go into have dinner then check in later that evening. Was told they needed 2 hrs to get it done. When we finally got into our room, it wasn't fully stocked with enough towels, and the room looked thrown together. The room was also very small, hard to move around the crowded small space.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albert

Grand Rockies Resort Not So Grand

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location, pool and waterslide.
Cons: Soundproofing of cupboard doors and ceilings, mattresses on sofa beds very uncomfortable, cleanliness of hallways.
Location: Good location, close to downtown, and just off the Trans-Canada highway Lots of restaurants close by.
Location of hotel was handy to both downtown and activities, and nice view of the mountains. Pool was great for young families - outdoor hottub, kiddie pool and short waterslide! Unfortunately, the rooms are poorly soundproofed, and cheaply built, so lots of noise from surrounding rooms - children running, footsteps, cupboard doors slamming, bodies squeaking in bathtubs, etc., which made getting a good sleep difficult. Kids slept on sofabed on an extremely uncomfortable mattress - you could feel the metal coils, and not much else, beneath you. Elevators are really slow, and hallways long, and awkward for hauling a lot of luggage. Underground parking is nice, but stalls are very narrow, and difficult to get into with a medium or large sized vehicle. Don't think we would choose this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable resort close to downtown

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Was very nice, quiet, comfortable stay. Kids loved the pools and hot tub. Hot tub had two parts - one was inside and the other was outside. One of the pools was perfect for toddlers. Kitchen had all utensils/pots/ plates/ etc if you choose to cook. Gas fireplace brought even more the feeling of cosiness. Close to downtown and many restaurants. Short driving distance to grocery stores. Felt like at home and not in the hotel which was nice for change.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Will not stay here again.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
We were unable to get a decent rest in this hotel. Room was warm with no HVAC control. This was February. Hide a bed was wore out and extremely uncomfortable. Addressed the issues with the staff. No solutions were provided. I bought our own fan and my daughter slept on top of couch rather than use the hide a bed. Overall the rooms and the rest of the building are not as clean as one would expect. We left a day early due to lack of rest. We would not recommend this so called resort to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

I like that place :)

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: I like the suite and swimming area. Great spot for a family gateway .Love the shower .
Cons: Cleanness of the bathroom and maintenance in general in the suite.
Location: Everything is closed by car or walking distance.
I first came years ago when the hotel just opened. I always have a great experiences and came back a few times. Only point I wish they ameliorate will be for the cleanness of the bathroom and better maintenance of the suite. Lot of things was broken a part .Swimming area is great and clean. The staffs are always pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Room with a view?? Facing the Highway

Posted Feb 15, 2017
We found the bed to be quite uncomfortable. Pillows were very full and kept your neck at an awkward angle no matter how much you beat on them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice view

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The staff were friendly and the view beautiful, but our room had a very bad smokey, damp smell everytime we entered. We had to open all windows wide for it to be bearable. Other then that the room were clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel going downhill

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Cons: New ownership.
Location: Great restaurants and close to everything nearby.
Our room was always hot even with the furnace turned off so we had to keep the patio door open. Kitchen sink clogged, plug in mirror electrocuted us, handle on toilet and shower broken, major stink coming from washing machine area, dishwasher didn't wash dishes(probably clogged). We shared these issues and the only thing to get fixed was the mirror. The restaurant and bar are closed for good. Hot tub had sand on the bottom. Seemed like the hotel was declining from what was once a real gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Overall decent hotel and the kids loved the slide at the pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

New and comfortable hotel!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Great location, within walking distance to downtown Canmore but also quick access out to the highway if you're heading out for skiing.
Location: Check out Elevation Place!
Very modern accommodations, and overall great experience. We were in a building separate from the main hotel which meant bundling up to visit the pool.