Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great lodge on a great lake…

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, nice views (balcony overlooking the lake a must), excellent food at their restaurant and deli. Free canoes
Cons: Wish list for improvements: more diverse dinner options (many meals repeated night to night), better heating controls in rooms
Location: Hiking, drive to glaciers, falls
I highly recommend Moraine Lake Lodge for its accommodations and proximity to the lake. My wife and I went here for our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed the lodge and its surroundings. Of the two lakes (Louise & Moraine), we were grateful we stayed at Moraine Lake Lodge as its lake and surrounding mountains and its hiking trails were more appealing and less touristy.
3 out of 5
by Tartan Travellers from Scotland

Romantic Gem - Almost

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels
We chose this hotel abpve the Fair,not as wanted a smaller and quieter out of the way romantic destination but it came with a few disappointing surprises. Location idyllic when the weather is kind to you. We were in a romantic cabin with real wood fire but the romance was decreased by us not realising that we had a public footpath outside the lodge as this is a major tourist destination with anything up to 10 coaches in car park by the morning. This lack of privacy, including sharing breakfast with crop ins from tours really lessened the enjoyment for us. In addition the food in the restaurant was significantly overpriced for the lack of quality delivered. We chose to change to eating at the Fairmont for 2 nights despite the hours return trip there. We had also hoped to try canoes on the lake and a guided walking tour but discovered that canoes so not get used in the rain and the tours do not happen in the week! This was by far the most expensive hotel in our holiday and did not deliver value for money and the weather which was truly horrific did not enhance the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dozer from Oregon

Fantastic Wilderness Getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Remote location/ Excellent breakfast includes
Cons: Room a little smaller than what one would imagine from the photos - could barely walk past the chair to the other side of the bed
Location: 14 km from Lake Louise /Fairmont hotel. Excellent hiking location
Fantastic and it snowed overnight. Couldnt use canoes but snow made up for that!
5 out of 5
by Chip from New Jersey

Ideal alternative to Lake Louise accommodations

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels
My wife and I can't speak highly enough about the Moraine Lake Lodge. The view of Moraine Lake from our cabin was outstanding. Services including meals, guided hikes, and evening speakers also distinguished this lodge. The road leading up to the lodge did become quite crowded with tourists visiting Moraine Lake or using the hiking trails that start at the lodge. That should be expected given the beauty of the area. And compared to Fairmount Lake Louise, the crowds were lighter. I would recommend the Moraine Lake Lodge for those visiting the Lake Louise area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vishal from mumbai

Great hotel and overlooks the lake.

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Highly recommended but expensive. The staff were helpful and informative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by charlotte from los angeles

most amazing place on the planet

Posted Sep 16, 2013
i love everything about this place. the people, the surroundings, the room, the energy. we stayed here one night and then the fairmont on lake louise. as soon as i arrived at the fairmont i instantly regretted leaving moraine lake lodge. stay here if you are you around the lake louise area. you wont regret it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels
I loved our stay and was v sorry to leave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Most beautiful lake setting in all of Banff

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Cons: Lighting was spare in the cabin and I would have liked more lighting at night.
Location: Lake Louise is a 15 minute drive from Moraine Lake and a must see location with fabulous Tea House hikes right from the lake.
For a special anniversary, my husband and I stayed for 3 nights in a Deluxe King Cabin overlooking the breathtaking turquoise lake. While there are hikers along the lake trail most of the day, from 9 in the morning until 7 pm at night, it was mostly a quiet, serene setting. Our cabin was on the end, closest to the hiking trailhead entrance, away from the canoe dock, which can be noisy between the operating hours of 10 am- 5 pm. We ate all of our breakfasts and dinners in the Lodge dining room and the food and attentive service was excellent. We hiked each day with a guide (free for guests) and I highly recommend the experience. The hikes were not too difficult, and the information shared by the guide really added to the experience. My favorite photo from our 12 days in Banff, Jasper, and Lake Louise is from the upper perch above Moraine Lake, which is easily hiked up to from the parking lot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels