Ratings based on 1,343 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Historic Hotel in the heart of Banff

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Free outdoor parking, location, restaurant +cozy pub onsite. And we got $10 off $30 coupon for Toque Canadian Pub, located just steps down the block!
Location: Tons of restaurants and bars nearby, and close to public transport.
Great location, walking distance to almost everything within the Banff townsite. It's been updated nicely and still maintains some character (including the small slow elevator, but that's also part of the charm!)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at Mount Royal Hotel In Banff

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: already explained
Cons: already discussed
Location: Banff is Banff. Been going there for 50+ years
were happy with the check in HOWEVER the property is in HUGE NEED of SOUNDPROFFING. THE FRONT DESK DOES NOT MAKE A HOTEL. The noise level and activity going on was beyond the hotels ability to control. It’s just the nature of an old hotel refurbished with NO SOUND DEADENING MATERIAL USED. I HAVE NEVER BEEN IN A HOTEL BEFORE WHERE THEY PROVIDE EAR PLUGS. NOW I KNOW WHY BECAUSE THEY KNOW THEIR GUESTS ARE NOT BUYING THEMSELVES A GOOD NIGHTS REST AND ARE MAKING A POOR EFFORT TO REDUCE A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. THIS IS JUST PLAIN NOT ACCEPTABLE. We feel really taken advantage of. MY THOUGHTS ABOUT EXPEDIA IMPLYING THAT MY WIFE WAS GOING TO GET A GREAT SURPRISE WITH A GOOD PROPERTY FOR A SPECIAL RATE WAS A HUGE DECEPTION AND I WILL NOT BE RECCOMMENDING YOUR SITE TO ANYONE AND MOST LIKELY WILL BE TELLING MY ASSOCIATES THAT THEY NOT USE YOU!!!!!!! Taking our money for what was to be a special Saturday night was robbery. I begrudge the money you took from us and the “special “ implied “opportunity night “ that we were ordering from you. We’re so very disappointed and feel so RIPPED OFF!!!! So Not Satisfied, Jim and Irene Jenkinson
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't stay in room 349

Posted Feb 1, 2016
We usually have a good time at Mount Royal. It's cheap and very close to everything but the room we stayed in, room 349, is along the stair case to the added on 3rd and 4th floors. All night and all morning, all you hear is drunk people stumbling down the 5 stairs, and the early morning is filled with ski boots clonking up the stairs. You know it's bad when the staff have left ear plugs on the end table
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from EDM

Nice hotel on the strip

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Really good hotel on the strip of downtwon Banff! Only thing is there is no pool only a hot tub so those of you with young kids should reconsider!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Great value for money. Best location in town. Having Tony Roma's inside the hotel a great plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Nice Quick stay, close to everything, good deal with expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

The maintenance fellow was a H-O-T-T-I-E!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The location was great and the staff was great.
Location: Wild Bills - woot! They have this thing called dancing which is pretty fun.
A part in the toilet was broken when we arrived. The room was small and no counter space in the bathroom. For the price, it wasn't great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from red deer, ab

Very nice place in down town Banff!

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Very nice old building, lot of history around it.
Cons: Microwave and small refrigetor on the rooms!
Location: Perfect location and everything is right on walking distance.
Very friendly staff. Nice place right at the down town Banff! No need for using your car, everything was close to the hotel. Very quiet place, you don't have problem with the traffic noise.i
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel on Main Street Banff

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Older hotel literally on Main Street...lots of outside noise (yes, even on a Sunday night!) be warned if you want peace and quiet...kids love to party there, and they do!!! On the plus side, the staff at front desk are awesome...so are the staff at Tony Roma's!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Everything was awesome except my room did not have a hair dryer