Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but very small room!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Right on the downtown strip but the room was the size of a large closet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Extraordinary staff in an extraordinary situation

Posted Dec 31, 2016
During our recent stay with the Mount Royal Hotel in Banff the hotel had caught fire. The staff and the hotel itself handled the situation incredibly. Full credit to everyone involved in the management of what can only be described as a disaster. Before the fire all staff were extremely helpful and the room was good, clean and comfortable. Post fire we were swiftly rehoused in another hotel, taken care of with food and supplies and was constantly kept up to date on what was happening. I hope the hotel rebuilds and when they do I will 100% be back to support them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, ON

Nice Hotel in Downtown Banff

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Maybe the jacuzzi and sauna area.
The hotel is very well situated, close to restaurants, shopping and just behind the parking lot where the ski (or airport) shuttles come. Rooms are comfortable and clean, staff is great and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Great Hotel Location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
If your looking for location in Banff, you can't beat it. Hot Tub was underconstruction so that was a little disappointing, but we got to use the sister hotels hot tub and it wasnt too far of a walk down to it. Hotel staff where excellent and rooms where fine. Seem a little dated but no complaints. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary ab

In downtown close to shops

Posted Dec 26, 2016
It's a good place for the nite in banff close to shopping and food parking was an issue but rest of it was good ni e place ....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Heater does not work well, hot tub not working

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Amazing location! Lot of reviews complain about parking but for being right in downtown Banff I think they actually have a lot of spots. The room was lower standard. The heater/Airconditioner was not working well. We had to set the heat to 90 deg F to not freez at night, and I usually keep my bed room cool at home. Hot tub was broken. Very disappointed about that after a long day of skiing in the cold. A little "we are sorry" sheet was located at the front desk but at least some coupons for the bar or restaurant could have made the difference in customer service. Next year I will stay at the hotel from last year again which was only 2 blocks from the main downtown area. Hallways are very noisy (not from partying people) from normal through traffic and bad noise insulation. They do provide ear plugs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Right in the middle of downtown

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Great staff. Great Location.
Location: Literally everything is just a few steps away. I recommend Eddie Burger and The Dancing Sasquatch for entertainment.
It is a great location. Although, you might want to keep in mind it is in the middle of a party town haha. That might be a bonus, depending on who you are. It was great to be able to walk anywhere from the hotel. The staff were all really great and accommodating! The hotel itself is pretty old, so of course it wasn't perfect, but I imagine none of them are in this area. Our trip was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for the price

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Had a good stay. Service was good. Only annoying thing was the roof workers making a ton of noise. The place is super close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Hotel was exactly what it advertises as. Perfect location and reasonable cost. It is an old hotel but had been updated recently. Staff were great. No real concerns
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very much enjoyed my stay!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Travelling around Alberta, Banff town was always going to be my main area to stop and I'm very pleased I chose this hotel to stay at. I read reviews saying it was a little dated and noisy but this is absolutely not the case. I can understand how it may get slightly louder when the busy season kicks in with a restaurant and bar below the hotel but considering value for money, it's fantastic. The staff were very pleasant upon arrival and I was happy to see plenty of car spaces available round the back of the building. The room itself was nice and modern with plenty of facilities available within the hotel. It was very well kept and as a nice token of not accepting a room clean each day, you're offered a discount on food each night, which was a pleasant surprise! The location of the hotel is literally perfect .. Dead set in the center of the town with all the shops, cafes and restaurants nearby. There's also a bus area round the back for trips up to the mountains. If I had to pickup on negatives, I'd have to say the bed could have been a bit softer and the TV needs an upgrade. They were flat screen but very fuzzy in terms of image. The only other niggle is that the lift is horrendously slow. Other than that, nothing to complain about really! I'm very keen to come back next summer and repeat my stay. Thank you!