Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old out of date hotel that is not a 3 star hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
-After we booked this hotel we were later notified that 'minor' construction is occurring. However when we stayed there the whole floor above our heads was being rebuilt and sanded at 8:00am (a lot more then 'minor' construction) - When we got to the room it was out of date and the bed sheets felt like sand paper. -The cost per night does not match what you get here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Lots of construction going on. It does not say there was any construction going on in expedia's website so payed full price to hear lots of jackhammering. Would of been nice to know about the construction cause I would of gone somewhere else. The staff said it says so on the website bit it does not. Flat out lied to. They still have tube TV's didn't even know they still existed Lol.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta

Dirty and noisy

Posted Mar 5, 2017
They were under renovation and started work before 8 am. Not overly impressed. Haven't seen bed spreads or a box tv like what was in our room since the early 90's and believe me I am not a picky traveller.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Bath tub wouldn't drain properly. Sink in room made noises all night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I should have read the reviews before booking

Posted Feb 22, 2017
the Spruce Grove Inn is extremely dated and over overpriced for what you currently get. On the plus side the Inn is under renovation. On the downside, the entire main floor is currently cordoned off, and the staff have little to no desire or incentive to do anything. Daily room cleaning was minimal at best. Our garbage can remained unemptied for two days, but at least they brought fresh towels each day. Not so with the sheets.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
..................................................
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Convenient & Good Value

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Underground parking and complimentary breakfast.
Cons: The facility needs a bit of TLC.
Location: As far from town as you can get, but town is small, so not far to drive.
The Hotel is at the far end of town on main street so is a short drive or city bus to town center. The underground parking garage was great. The complimentary breakfast was okay, but there was a line our last day which kind of messed up our trip back to Calgary. The walls are a bit thin so hall and neighbors noise can be heard. No refrigerator so we used the outside window sill to keep our food cold. Just had to keep shooing away the ravens. All in all, it is what we expected and would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Adequate hotel driven down by obsessive cheapness

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: It's in Banff.
Cons: Put fixtures in the room. Hire enough staff and train them to be competent. Make the restaurant food edible. Run the hotel like a hotel, not a hostel!
The hotel itself was fine for a budget stay. However, the management's cheapness showed in every corner of the room - the microwave, fridge, and hair dryer had all been removed from the room. The TV was a CRT. There were no extra pillows or blankets to be had, and they pillows were *cheap*. The beds were poorly made-up and didn't have fitted sheets. When we got back to our room on the second night at after 5:00, they were only halfway through cleaning our room, so they left without restocking the coffee or vacuuming the floor. The room came with exactly *two* coupons for breakfast per night, regardless of the number of people staying in the two queen beds. (not actually a problem because of the restaurant itself - see below.) The hot tub and sauna (next door) were pleasant, although the landing on the steps to the outdoor pool were solid, sheer ice - that is a lawsuit waiting to happen! The restaurant (also next door) was truly poor - Cheap furnishings, coffee-shop menu, and barely-edible food. Save your money and go to A&W instead. Bottom line: If you need a place to stay, this likely won't make you sick. However, it is run as a budget hotel through and through, and is *WAY* overpriced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Noisey Hotel full of partying skiers up all hours

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Sound proofing, assigned parking
Location: convenient to downtown; underground parking (great in winter)
2:30 AM pounding on the door of the room next door, continues for at least 10 minutes. 4:30 banging starts up again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Fine choice for a limited budget. It worths the price.