Ratings based on 1,839 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, comfortable for skiers

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Clean room, good breakfast, bus pass is paid for, shuttle stops to ski hills outside hotel.
Cons: Cold walk from pool to room on higher floor because one needs to walk outside. Perhaps supply bathrobes?
Location: Reasonably close to downtown and bus/shuttle stops are a few steps outside hotel. Good location.
Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful; loved the bus pass and free breakfast. Only complaint would be that I had to walk outside to get from warm pool to room, but this is a small matter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

stayed 6 nights/appearances are deceiving

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: level of cleanliness=very good/staff=very good/location good=outside of town centre,easy walk to town centre/ room size=good(especially for Banff)
Cons: they need to either change mattress or add very thick mattress padding/condo size furniture is right choice but they need to concentrate on comfort .
Location: located at one end of town so everything is a walk/ski busses at door/Banff roaming bus at door/great variety of pubs,restaurants within walking.
staff really good(friendly, try to accommodate)/had king suite=bedroom with king bed,seperate area has balcony doors to small balcony + wet bar area(micro,fridge,sink,toaster,kettle) + small dining table and 4 chairs + area for couch,chair,tv/Problems= bed was like concrete(had to ask for extra duvet to fold up under our backs) never had a bed that I had to take pain killers to sleep in/couch+living room chair are condo size but also hard and uncomfortable had to use padding and pillows to use and actually switched out bedroom chair with living room but it wasn't much better. dining chairs: hubby sat on and someone had repaired by drilling thru top upholstery =when he sat the repair screws dug into his legs/outside hallways create noise(Banff is a party town)had to use fan noise to block street,guest noise/tub barely drained,bathroom fan barely worked/TV very slow and clunky to use with limited channels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lethbridge

Nice hotel with good view

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The pool
Cons: Mini fridge in room
overall my experience at the fox was great. However our room did not have a mini fridge which made it difficult to save food as we dined out a lot and was dissapointing. The pool facility was very neat and would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, ab

Great hotel, nice walk to Banff Ave

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Great hotel, great food. The hot pool was maybe a degree or two too hot but overall it was a great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Perfect spot on the downtown strip.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Perfect tocation, ROAM (city bus) is outside your door. Ski shuttle 500ft away. Great service, friendly staff. They even provide bus passes! Can't wait to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice family hotel for a ski vacation in Banff

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: good value for the price - good set-up for a family
Cons: the air is extremely dry - some humidifyers
overall good stay at the Fox hotel. Had stayed there about 6 years ago in the summer where it was the nicest hotel in Banff. There has been a lot of new hotels in the last 5 years - probably much more expensive. Has all the basic amenities that you need for a good ski holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for quality

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Nice facility. Quiet. Good location. Pool is fantastic! Staying again in summer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

The Fox is fun!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Loved the closeness to everything. The Grotto is awesome. Friendly staff. Love the privacy of the rooms. Would stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
We loved the look of the place as soon as we walked in. The staff were attentive to our needs and very friendly. The restaurant food was good and the continental breakfast had a wide variety of hot and cold food to choose from. Our room had plenty of space and the bed was comfortable. I would have appreciated better lighting in the bedroom and bathroom. There were ambient floor and table lamps but no overhead lights and I found that it wasn't bright enough when getting ready for the wedding we were in Banff for (and we're in our 30's so it's not like we have "old" eyes). Also, a mirror in the bedroom would be nice, not just in the ensuite and hallway. Just something to know ahead of time that we didn't realize, is that the "hallways" are outdoors, like a motel, although all facing an inner courtyard surrounding the hot tub/grotto. This is a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
I have been coming to the Fox as often as I can for about 10 years now. I love the location and look of the hotel with the inner open courtyard. The rooms are always clean and the beds very comfortable. The hot pool with the opening in the ceiling to the outside is amazing and one of the best features of the hotel. The staff has always gone above and beyond, everyone I have introduced this hotel too has loved as well and can not wait to come back.