Ratings based on 1,049 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Really pleased with our stay

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We had a great time at the Juniper which is closely located to Banff and the Norquay ski resort. The hotel upgraded us to the cabin which was amazing and spacious. Every comfort was afforded to us and it was fantastic. The only downside was that the path to the cabin was treacherously slippery due to the warm and cold weather. But other than that, staff were super helpful and friendly. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay for a family with two young children and grandparents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Favorite place to stay in Banff

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Cons: Replace windows to reduce highway noise.
Location: You need a car as it is up the road from Banff, but otherwise it is close to town and everything there is to do.
I love this hotel. It has the most stunning view of Banff and the mountains. I like that it is out of the fray. It is a unique property full of history. My one irritation is the noise from the highway, so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. The restaurant is very nice and the hot tub great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Banff

Outside of town

Posted Mar 17, 2017
They have no vending machines so plan your snacks ahead of time. The walls are paper thin so bring earplugs. Other then that it's cute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Ideal location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
This hotel is perfect! Amazing views of the mountains. The staff are very knowledgeable with what to do and where to go. Minutes from downtown Banff in car, or a nice walk. The bistro was ok, we went there one morning for breakfast and the staff didn't seem to be all awake, but the food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Great location quiet and close to everything!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Stayed one night. Check in was very quick and efficient. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Great, quiet location away from the hustle of the village, yet very close to everything. Will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Beautiful hotel with a view. Friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great just a little noisy

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Price. Pet friendly accommodations. Comfy beds. Juniper Bistro onsite.
We have stayed here before and always enjoy ourselves. The staff are very friendly and they take special care to welcome your pet. My only complaint is that the walls are very thin and when you have loud neighbours you can hear everything. It sounded like the people above us were throwing a rave at 2am and there was a lot of traffic outside our door all night. Maybe there was a bachelor party happening that weekend or something...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Very quaint and rustic with a lot of nice touches.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Everything. It is quiet and secluded. It was not overly expensive and the staff were great.
Cons: You can hear noise from the hallway and people walking above you as the floors are hardwood. Not sure what could be done to improve the noise quality
Location: The location is on a hillside so amazing views from the front. It is secluded yet only five minutes drive to the townsite of Banff and walking trails
Check in and out was very smooth. Room was decent and clean. Bed and bedding was very comfortable. The Bistro dining at Juniper Inn was amazing. Staff were very helpful and quite friendly and professional. It is pet friendly so was not surprised to hear a few dogs now and then.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy room, walls are thin.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
This hotel has a lovely view of Banff but the walls are thin. If you're on the first floor it's noisy if someone is above you. In the morning the cleaning staff started early and even though we had a do not disturb sign, the noise from the hallway and adjacent room cheesing was loud. Poor quality sleep due to thin hotel walls. Other than that the room was very nice and clean and the amenties were well presented.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Beautiful scenery and grounds. Lacking in comfort.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The juniper bistro was gorgeous and very tasty food. Hot tub was a welcome addition to our stay. The key cards kept deactivating over our 4 night stay we had to go in 3 times to get our cards reset. This was a minor annoyance. The big issue was with the beds. They were very uncomfortable and we all had horrible sleeps and went home with sore backs. The walls are also very thin and there was a dog barking underneath us. The dog was quiet after bedtime, probably because it's owners had returned. We are dog owners so we get that it is a privilege to bring your animal to a hotel. We chose to kennel our dogs for our vacay. This was a pretty nice hotel but the awful sleeping due to discomfort is a deal breaker. They need to update their beds and make their double rooms comfortable queens not double beds. My partner and I had to sleep separately because there was no room in one bed and we are not large people. If the beds were upgraded we would consider this hotel again but till then we'll be staying elsewhere.