Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Nice and comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Comfortable hotel , room and nice staff , good location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay: nice property but poor service

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The villas are very spacious and nicely furnished. But many basic facilities are not functioning! In my case: there was no water at all on day 1,then no hot water on day 2, during all stay the wifi has poor connectivity and went completely off on day 3. All of these things can be fine if solved promptly; but at this residence, there was NO willingness to help, to the point of the receptionist who couldn't speak English hang up on me when i was chasing for Wifi to be restored. So overall a very disappointing stay in a property that could offer so much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Great villa experience!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Spacious 3 Bedroom
Cons: Some of the outdoor furniture looked dated but that could be due to the constant rain during low season. It wouldn't deter me from booking here again
Location: The location is kind of off the beaten path but not a far walk to a super market and other local restaurants and businesses.
I'd definitely recommend The Residence! The 3 Bedroom was very spacious, including the indoor and outdoor space. Having breakfast included with our room was also a plus! It was delivered fresh to our door every morning and the room service guy was extremely friendly! Although we did not use our private pool, it was aesthetically pleasing to looking out, especially at night time when then pool lights illuminated the courtyard. Overall, this was a great stay at a very affordable price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australis

Very nice resort.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
A nice resort. Great rooms. Many with private pools. A little remote but they offer free shuttles to various locations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
great hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Spacious villas esp for families, couples, friends

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: the pool, spacious rooms, kitchen is great for those who like to cook, comp fridge items, huge deck on upper level but it was useless for us
Cons: the SERVICE! requests should be handled in a more professional and prompt manner, consistency in hot breakfast, more frequent shuttle service
Location: Bang Tao area which is peaceful and relaxing. About 30 mins via car to attractions (Big Buddha, Wat Chalong temple, etc.) Great local market nearby
I booked the 2 bedroom villa (#109) which was good for me and my boyfriend as well as another couple. However, I will have to say that there were some minor things which weren't up to par...making this more of a 4-star place instead of the advertised 5. PROS: large outdoor pool, spacious living room/kitchen space, free "mini-bar" fridge items (2 beers, 2 soft drinks, water, sml juice box) restocked daily, comfy bed, reliable air con, all-you-can-eat a la carte breakfast, comp shuttle (scheduled) and use of facilities at Bliss beach club, walking distance to local market held on Mon and Thurs, close to Tesco supermarket, location in Bang Tao area. CONS: wifi connection problems first night but resolved promptly, towels weren't replaced first night, no fan in the washroom, hard wooden lounge chairs w/o pads (had to ask repeatedly to get more chairs and padding), slow to respond to certain requests, had to ask repeatedly for extra pair of keys to lock room doors, taxis they booked are always overpriced (better to use GrabCar app), hot breakfast items were cold and bland the first 2 days, secluded area not much nearby, better to stay here if you have a car or don't mind cabbing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice single room villa

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Very quiet, nice private villa with pool, although the pool is small but good for my baby.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Daylesford, Victoria, Australia

Fantastic villa

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Had a wonderful time at The Residence. Villa was absolutely stunning and gigantic! Could have had 10 people stay there! Air conditioning was icy cold, pool was enormous and crystal clear, gardens were beautiful and housekeeping were terrific.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful villa

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Was warmly welcomed and able to check in a couple of hours early. Driven to my room in a little buggy. I stayed in a one bedroom villa and it was amazing. More like a 5 star resort than a 4 star. The villa was spacious, clean and modern. The pool was a decent size with a nice water feature and Sunlounger. Very private. The kitchen was well equipped. Good tv channels. Free wifi which was a little slow sometimes but decent. The villa was tastefully furnished and overall it was just luxury. There didn't seem to be much to do in the vicinity. The resort offers free lifts down to the beach which is quite nice and peaceful. The beach club down there is quite expensive.
5 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Toronto NSW

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great spacious room with apartment facilities with plunge pool,good for Thai humidity. Restaurant food was very good and service excellent.Linked up with Bliss beach club on Bangtao beach which was clean,safe and beautiful.Would highly recommend. We obtained a very cheap rate during oct off season. Also had a massage - excellent value for money and staff very professional and friendly.