Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Great stay! Good value for money and a great location in Chinatown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from japan

Nice location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Very nice location nice staff lot of street food very high recommended to all my friends my family and I was very relaxed in these hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Greta location. Small room.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Located in the heart of Chinatown. That was great. Good food right outside of the hotel. The room was small but clean. The bed took up a large majority of the room. The wifi was nonexistent, when I called and complained , they brought up a personal router for the room. Then we had amazing wifi. Con: no one wanted to bring us back to Chinatown during rush hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by EAM, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that your issue with the WiFi was solved to your satisfaction, and that you had a good stay on the overall. Concerning our room size, if you feel the need for more space I might recommend you to book one of our higher categories on your next visit, e.g. our Premium Deluxe (38 sqm.) or one of our suites (60 sqm.). I hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future. Sincerely, Rasmus Stok Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Great hotel in the heart of Chinatown.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Location. Spacious room and bathroom. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Rooftop pool and lounge. Bright, clean, modern.
Cons: No complaints.
Not sure why exactly we chose Chinatown as our Bangkok destination but it turned out okay. Yaowarat is a very dynamic street, 24 hours a day, giving the Hotel Royal a prime location to be. Short walks take you to the Thieves Market, the temple of the Golden Buddha, the MRT station. Even close enough to the river to use the water buses. We took the MRT to visit Soi Cowboy and the Patpong district. For fun we took the water bus when we went out for an evening on Khao San Road. There are countless restaurants around the hotel (and throughout Bangkok) ranging from street food to fine dining. And the rooftop pool and lounge was a sanctuary! So we booked this hotel by chance but thoroughly congratulated ourselves on the choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by EAM, Hotel Management
Dear King Lud Thank you very much for your great review. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your found the hotel to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the location of Chinatown. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Rasmus Stok Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Exciting Chinatown

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Right in the middle of China town
Location: Loved the area it was in,,,very very busy
Quality hotel,with very good breakfast,staff were always busy and very high number of Chinese visitors,so foyer always full,,will no let you in until 2pm ,which was a pain given we arrived at 10am,,however they took our luggage and we went exploring,,all in all ,a good experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by EAM, Hotel Management
Dear Warren Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location in Chinatown. We hope to see you back again in the near future. Sincerely, Rasmus Stok Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good hotel located in centre of China town.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
If I over look cleanliness of our bathroom. The hotel was just superb. I would 100% stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by EAM, Hotel Management
Dear Happy Thank you for your positive review. Your comment regarding the bathroom is noted and we will look into how we can improve on this point. We hope to see you back again. Sincerely, Rasmus Stok Executive Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.. 12minutes walk to pier 5 for river

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Booked room with window.. However very small window but room was spacious and bed comfortable.. The madness of nighttime Chinatown outside the front door.. Rooms quiet.. Good food at mezzanine restaurant and affordable
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by EAM, Hotel Management
Dear Paul Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the location of the hotel. We hope to see you back again at Hotel Royal Bangkok @ Chinatown. Sincerely, Rasmus Stok Executive Assistant Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

What a disappointment

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Good value for the money if you are only here for 1 night. If you are staying longer, I'd consider going to Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn.
Cons: Better communication by the staff at the desk and bell boy.
Location: check out the food stand (Krun PornLamai) on the alley to the right of the hotel (pass 7-11). The fried noodle was amazing.
We arrived at the hotel at 2pm from BKK, which was the check-in time. After giving the receptionist our passports, we were then told that our room was not yet ready. This came as a shock because I had specifically requested early check in (around 1pm) on my reservation. I don't need to hotel to honor early check in but do expect the rooms to be ready at check in time. She apologized profusely but as we were only in Bangkok for 18 hours, I insisted on getting a room. That's when she walked away and came back with a room card (wow, magic!) And that's all we got, one room card for 2 people. Which we realized to be an issue upon entering the room. The room requires key card for the room power. Since the room was northwest facing, it received a lot of afternoon light and therefore was hot when we entered the room. This is not an ideal situation when outside temperature was around 32C. The AC also never got really cold, even when we dropped the temp down to 16C and it was just okay in the room.The room itself was decent, nice size with modern design. Bathroom was a bit dimmed given that the floor tiles were black. Fridge was off when the power wasn't on so we couldn't cool our water bottles. Also no slippers in the hotel (even though it is listed as an amenity on their hotel website) so bring a pair with you. Hotel pool area was small but does its job. Decent view of the city too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Everything is good

Posted Feb 26, 2017
If the noise from people walking next to your room is not a problem, this hotel is for you. A lot of restaurants around, we are in China town!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by EAM, Hotel Management
Dear loc Thank you for your review. Your comment towards noise from people outside the room is duly noted and will be taken into account in future improvements of the hotel. We hope to see you back again at Hotel Royal Bangkok @ Chinatown. Sincerely, Rasmus Stok Executive Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Best bed so far

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Your money goes so far. Great location. Step oit into a food safari.... Chinatown bonanza
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by EAM, Hotel Management
Dear Joelle Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We hope to see you return to Hotel Royal Bangkok @ Chinatown in the near future. Sincerely, Rasmus Stok Executive Assistant Manager