Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Location & Lots of Food Choices

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Fantastic location, 1 min from ThongLor BTS. Lots of street food & Japanese restaurant. Many massage places. Room is compact, good for 2 people but is well - equipped with basic amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Nice guest house, perfect location

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Bed, location, price, staff
Location: Near BTS Thonglor. Many restaurants, Thai and Japanese. Near Emporium for shopping.
Room is compact with all the comfort inside, good bed. Price is reasonable and the location is perfect, just one step from the BTS. Many Japanese restaurants and karaoke around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

i checked in and checked out again

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Overall disapointing if you been used to a hotel with elevator. Very narrow dark corridors and long walk to level 4 with my 2 suitecases. Totally soaked i arrived at my room. Room walls are durty, room is small. Bed matras weak. I did not feel well. So i checked out and booked a decent 3 star hotel for just 300 baht more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Jack

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
2 out of 5
by Christina from Boston, MA

Decent room but bad smell

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: -Location -Size of room
Cons: -Smell
The room was spacious and clean enough but there was a terrible smell emanating from the bathroom. I don't think this is the fault of the hotel because the area in general had that smell. The location is excellent, just outside the Thong Lo BTS stop. The shower was adequate. If you're planning on checking in after midnight, send them an email in advance. I would not recommend this guest house for anyone with average or better olfactory perception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by graham from Brisbane, Australia

Simple little guest house.

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Price and simplicity.
Cons: Bathroom does have a smell on entry, i either got used to it or it was overwhelmed by me.
Location: Sky train is close. 711 is close. Full stop cafe on soi 55, great coffee. Original Pad Thai shop, ranked 5 in world, also soi55.
A simple guest house with some quirks but all good. Price is right. On the fringe of Sukhumvit, need to catch sky train for 1 or 2 stations to get to the main action but there is plenty of food, facilities and local sites in the immediate area. Padi Madi offers a small room with the basics, good bed, small TV but 80 stations, A/C, table and chair. Ensuite is small but functional. Not staffed 24hrs but not an issue. No breakfast or dining room. No lift. No room safe. No cupboard or table for bags. On the corner of Sukhumvit road and a side street, not silent but not too loud. 50m from train station, 100m from 711. I stayed for 4 nites.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wish...

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Location was nice, right next to BTS line.
Cons: The experience. This improvement suggestion is about making it feel like your are being taken care of and not just one step above a bad hostel.
If you don't read anymore than this: If you want cheap, stay here. If you want anything above that, don't. Look, I thought I went into this hoping it would be more than about "cheap" or "budget" and more about a nice surprise. I gambled. I lost. Really, I was visualizing a "bed and breakfast" Bangkok style. I was naive. Now, having said that, I have pretty much stayed from budget to exclusive locations in Europe, US, and Asia...this didn't measure up to any of them. I wasn't looking for or expecting 'world class'. I was expecting something maybe a little more "home-style." Nope. In summary, I booked 6 nights and left after 1 night. As for some of the other reviews about street noise or stairs--yes, they had all that, but I can deal with it. The overall cleanliness, environment/feel, and feel of safety--were the deal breakers. Madi Padi, I think you could have a great thing on your hands...I do. I just don't think you need undersell yourself as much as you think and with some minor updates, you'd be laughing your way to the bank and great reviews.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near to BTS Thong Lor

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Very very near to BTS, and there is a lot of Taxi-motor.
Cons: Maybe a lift? Good water pump for 4th floor, and change the carpet in the room. Either with a thicker and waterproofed one or tiles will be better.
Location: Go down the next road - Sukhumit 55, walk till Soi 16. There is a whole stretch of restaurants and pubs awaiting you.
This hotel is really very near to BTS Thong Lor, and Sukhumit 55 where there is a lot of good food and pubs. But all rooms are located on the 3rd and 4th floor, the climb is okay but we limited to once daily - which is going back to sleep. Once we 'climb' back to our rooms, we wouldn't want to go out anymore. So do pack some snack and cup-a-noodle or bowl-a-noodle just in case you are too hungry. There is a small Japanese pub just right at the corner, typical Japanese "setting". We are on the 4th floor, the sound from traffic & the trains are quite bearable... Overall, it is quite an experience.
2 out of 5
by BZ from Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

You Get What You Pay For!

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: The Thong Lo BTS was just right at its doorstep!
Cons: The smell of sewage from the bathroom!
Location: Fantastic location if you're not planning on being in your room much
We were given a room on the fourth floor, and there was a dreadful, horrid smell of sewage coming from the bathroom! It got worse every time you washed your hands or had a shower, basically any use of the drainage system! The room was super tiny to begin with, but this made it 1000 times worse! We asked for a room change the next day and was relocated to the 3rd floor, with no extra charge. Otherwise we would have forfeited the rest of our stay there (5 nights) and checked out of the place. Everything still smelled a bit musty in the new room but was heaven compared to the scent of sewage. Oh, I couldn't seem to connect to the WiFi on the fourth floor but could when moved to the 3rd floor. The receptionist half-jokingly mentioned that the owner probably could not afford any modifications to the place, hence any complaints would make no difference. But on the bright side, the staff are friendly and helpful. And the best part is that the Thong Lo BTS is literally at its doorstep. So for the price of the place, I guess you really do get what you pay for. p.s. Loads of stairs, so if you're not physically mobile, forget it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Howard

padi madi guest house sukumvit 53

Posted Jun 14, 2013
centrally located on corner of sukumvit 53. next to thong lor metro. convenient for restaurants massage parlours and good street food. very impressed with french manager Fred. hotel does experience traffic noise so bring earplugs and eye mask for a comfortable stay. staff speak english and you can leave some luggage there ,which i was very greatful for. Overall i would definitely recommend padi madi guest house.