Ratings based on 819 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aust

Has many eateries just outside the hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
First night was unpleasant due to open concept of the bathroom. Request to change of room due to uninvited "guest". After changed of room the aircon in room 506 was too cold despite adjusting the temperature. Other than these, my Son and I had a great time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing place

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Absolutely great place! Lovely staff and great location. There was a live jam session one of the evenings. decorations are exceptional : a lot of lovely Chinese details, smells, colours! Definitely recommend it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from NJ, USA

The hotel is in the heart of Chinatown!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Overall experience = Great. Great service. 24-hr concierge service. Very helpful providing us directions to where to go. The hotel located in the heart of Chinatown so we were able to get the real experience. No complaints and would definitely recommend this hotel. Plus - big bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Jun 16, 2016
perfect location , friendly staff, amazing decoration
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016
In the heart of China town in Bangkok. 20 min walk from the nearest metro rail. Hotel staffs are not so polite. Doorman tries to sell tour packages and offer taxi services twice the average price. Website pictures are overrated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from taiwan

很不錯的一間特色飯店,位於中國城,吃魚翅、燕窩、炒海鮮就在樓下,晚上很熱閙

Posted Jun 9, 2016
中國老上海復古風,基本配備,床很舒適,樓下的咖啡廳很不錯,晚上某時段有音樂演唱,很休閒,很不錯。 很不錯的一間特色飯店,位於中國城,吃魚翅、燕窩、炒海鮮就在樓下,晚上很熱閙
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel in amazing area to explore

Posted Jun 3, 2016
The hotel and its staff are just amazing! During our trip in Thailand be came back to Bangkok twice and each time stayed @ the Shanghai Masion because it was just that wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

Awesomely Unique

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, live jazz, cleanliness, friendly staff, interesting location, special thanks to Joy.
Cons: Internet in rooms could be improved the signal is very decent in the restaurants but terrible in the rooms. The dinner menu could also be improved
Location: Wat Tramit(The Golden Buddha) and railway station Hua Lam Phong. The street food is interesting and excellent. 7-11 at the end of the block.
The Shanghai Mansion Bangkok is a respite from the hustle and bustle of Chinatown. The rooms are a throwback to a bygone era and represent the class and elegance of 1930's Chinatown with modern convienences. Our rooms were large and well chilled to beat the extreme heat of Bangkok. We stayed in the Mu Dan room which sat directly across from a beautiful indoor pond. Our Room was well organized in the period and very clean. The complimentary amenities and the mini bar were a nice touch as touch as water is needed constantly in the hot and humid conditions outside the hotel. I can't speak highly enough about the staff. They were extremely helpful, patient and friendly; with recommendations for everything from airport transfers to restaurant choices. Breakfast, which was not included with our package, was worth every penny of the 399THB (Approx $11.00). It's worth it! You can order your choice of traditional breakfast items or enjoy the local cuisine with a full buffet; an excellent way to start the day. The location is perfect and adds to the uniqueness of the experience. While slightly "off the grid" from from the main section of Bangkok you are a stones throw (about an 8 minute walk) from Wat Traimit (Golden Buddha) and close to the Hua Lam Phong railway station. There are plenty of taxis to get you to other parts of the city at a reasonable rate. The live jazz and happy hour are nice too. My only criticism is the poor internet connection. But overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
Good position, good price. In front of the hotel starts a chinasee street market with good food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockton CA

Good hotel in busy Chinatown

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Location was good, near lots of shops/restaurants/attractions, but may be a bit of a culture shock to some from the West.
We had a great stay at the Shanghai Mansion, the room was nice size, internet was good, bathroom was ok, the best part it was very quiet at night. We figured it would be difficult to sleep at night given how busy and loud Chinatown is in Bangkok, but our room was surprisingly quiet, bed was ok too, we were able to sleep quite well.