Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Pleasant hotel in a good location.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The hotel was very well-located, about 10 minutes from Phrom Phong BTS Station, and Emporium & EmQuartier shopping malls. There are also many restaurants in the vicinity, offering local and international cuisines. Take note that the hotel is old though, so some amenities such as air-conditioning and heated shower may be slightly erratic, though not discomforting. It should not be an issue if one is out of the room most of the time exploring Bangkok. Hotel breakfast buffet spread offers a selection of local, Western and Japanese fare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

More than happy with this hidden gem

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Its location and affordability which are hard to beat.
Cons: Bathroom needed to be renovated but it's fine for another few years.
Location: Shopping, Thai massage, dining, night life
I had to make an immidiate stay with this hotel due to my passport issue getting out of the country but to my surprise, it's much better than I expected. The hotel staff were very helpful, no hassel checking in or out of the hotel. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was dated but functioning. They do have a problem with their water supply on the pressure side but overall it's worth the money staying there where it located next to 2 big shopping malls and center of Bangkok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Moderate Hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Hotel provides welcome drink for all guests.
Cons: More bathroom amenities (e.g. toothbrush, toothpaste), water pressure in shower, hotel staff politeness, room soundproofing.
Location: It is a good location for travelers who would like to stay at a quiet area.
A very expensive 3 stars hotel. The water pressure in shower is too low and I could hear sound from the room beside mine. Overall, a disappointed stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Appearance

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Close to BTS and shopping malls
Cons: The rooms interior should be redone to give the same impression as that of the main lobby
Location: Located in Sukhumvit and convenience for travelling by BTS and very good shopping centre around
Hotel on expedia site looks impressive but overall the hotel is not that classy afterall. Only consolation is that hotel is near to BTS and close to some good shopping areas where there are good food. I wouldn't say it is a lousy hotel just feel that the price is not value for money for travellers wishing to stay in a posh hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A phantasmic hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel is located near the heart of the city. Great loyeltty staff. The hotel has an excellent atmosphere. I'm sure I'll host again in St. James hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Rooms in need of refurbishment

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The lobby area and common areas were in good condition. The room was spotlessly clean and we'll maintained
Cons: The rooms are very tired looking and long overdue for refurbishment. Mattress was a bit hard
Location: Within 5 minutes of phrom phong BTS sky train station masking the entire city easily accessible
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PJ, Malaysia

Very Friendly Hotel Staff & Great Location

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were professional and very friendly. They were helpful in booking for transport/taxi and even for our Floating Market/ATV tour. The location was fantastic. Right outside the hotel is the very famous noodle shop, (serving Bae Mee Heng, or dry egg noodles) and the very famous deep fried fish skin! Also a short 3 minute walk from the lobby are two (proper/decent) massage centers for foot and head & shoulder massage. The pricing is quite reasonable. It is also about roughly a 6 minute walk to the Phrom Pong BTS train station and a 8minute walk to the Emporium Shopping mall.
Cons: The room was very nicely done. The wooden floor panels were a nice touch, but the mattress is a little soft and springy. Like plenty of the reviews have said, this is otherwise a nice hotel, though the smoke (cigarette) smell is prominent. I am a non-smoker, but I can just manage to tolerate it enough to enjoy my staff. Others may not.
Location: Great food nearby and massage, as well as the BTS line train station (Phrom Pong)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel ill book in the same hotel in my next trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Not perfect, but a great deal for the price

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, price, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Not exactly 4 star as advertised, no hair dryer in the room, the swimming pool and the pool deck are too small and without privacy.
Location: Transportation (BTS), shopping, massage parlors
I often go to Bangkok and always stay at Hilton or Double Tree hotels nearby. This time I decided to stay at St. James being attracted by the price, which was almost three times lower. Expedia website classifies St. James as a 4 star hotel, and having stayed there I would not call it that. It is a solid 3 star place, perhaps just a bit above the average 3 star. They have a restaurant, bar, gym and a swimming pool, which would be amenities you expect in a 4 star hotel. The staff is extremely polite, courteous, and helpful. However, there was no hair dryer in the room, and a very small (about 25 feet long) swimming pool is located right in front of the dining room on the ground level, surrounded by a very tight deck, so it would be a little awkward to go there with no privacy whatsoever. So it is not surprising that during my 5 day stay there I have not seen anyone who would swim in the pool. The room and the facilities are a little dated and need some facelift, and it appears that the AC was not working in the hallways, only in the rooms and in the lobby. These are minor inconveniences considering the price. So if you want to stay at a good hotel in the heart of Bangkok 5 min from a BTS station, and the price is a priority for you, this is a great place to consider.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, good service, great room

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Everything was great - Location is great - quiet road, very close to the BTS, also busses and taxis. Across the hotel is a great bar with music Room was wonderful, good size, clean, good bed Service was wonderful - we arrived on a day that became very rainy and as we were about to leave the stuff offered us an umbrella that was very helpful