Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming colonial hotel on the banks of the river

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Lovely. Firstly you are collected from pier 13 in a private ferry. On arrival you are transported back to a different era, but with modern facilities. A haven in the midst of the craziness of Bangkok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better places to stay than here

Posted Nov 24, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very damp and smelt. Condensation was dripping down the walls. Made us both Sick. Towels were very old, loose threads. Swimming pool was green with leaves floating on top. Definitely not worth the price they are charging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neuenegg, Switzerland

You be careful taking Uber to the hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Ebookers
Since we booked through ebookers and not the hotel web site, we did not know that you cannot drive to the hotel. You are supposed to get to the hotel using their private boat shuttle from pier 13 across the river from the hotel. Our Uber driver and we were stranded in the midst of of the nearby neighbourhood with no foreseeable way to get to the hotel. We called the hotel for help. We were immediately rescued by the hotel staff, who carried our luggage along the sea wall to the hotel. We made a memorable entrance and greatly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is nicely situated near the Grand Palace, but still is very peaceful. The boat taxi was very convenient and added a sense of adventure to our stay. The staff was very attentive and made us feel welcomed in this wonderful Italianate Villa-turned-hotel.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Prays Palazzo

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Staff very friendly and efficient. Good food at restaurant. Will be better when pool bar is operational.
5 out of 5
by Jaime Echanove from Dallas (TX)

Unique Hotel. Historic building. Great views.

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic. Beautiful views from the pool. Very kind and professional staff. Access is only by boat, which is not an issue, but actually adds even more charm to the Hotel: the Hotel provides free boat service; it's available 24/7, at clients request, and it takes them less than 5 min. to pick you up at Pier #13 (Hotel will provide you a mobile phone to call them, for free). Boat trip from the Hotel to to Pier #13 (and back) takes just 5 min. There are many river-view restaurants close to Pier #13, and a nice shoping/pubs/restaurants area at a walking distance (less than 5 min.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Peaceful beautiful hotel across the river

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The restful elegance and the architectural style. Also the very cordial staff and the historical design.
Cons: One time we had some trouble with the free cell phone they lend to you to call the boat. We were able to call from a merchant in the shops nearby.
Location: It is across the river from central Bangkok with a personal boat that comes to pick you up.
We have been coming to this hotel for two years now when we need to come through Bangkok, since it offers peace and tranquility in a nosy and stressful city. The staff are all very friendly, and the property itself has character, charm and a certain graceful elegance. We love to look across the river and see all that busy stuff going on as we sip our drinks by the pool and enjoy a quiet evening of rest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely 1920s traditional Thai mansion that is definitely not the run of mill "bed-in-box" experience. It is very cool that the hotel sends a boat to pick you up and deliver you to the side of the river where everything is...but that has its downside too since bad weather can prevent the boat from running and no roads go to the hotel. The beds and pillows are as hard as a rock which is typical in Thailand but be prepared to ask for extra duvets to add some element of comfort. The staff is extremely helpful and gracious. The breakfast is made to order but the choices never change. Overall, highly recommended for a weekend stay but probably not for much longer. Terrible wifi connection depending on which room you are in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
This is an old place that the owner try to keep it original, it's nice and quiet. In my opinion some improvement will make huge different, like change the mattress to more comfortable, fix shower head or replace them, get better TV channels Services are awesome, They will treat you like a king ( almost ) But over all I was happy even though it's a modern hotels with stars. It's some thing different and it can be romantic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ/Bangkok

Elegant Experience/Wonderful Staff

Posted Apr 9, 2017
We loved our time at Praya; not only are the surroundings elegant, the facilities rustic, the food excellent, but the staff are comprised of the most wonderful people you could ever meet. Special thanks to Ta and Joe who made our stay a most memorable one. Very professional - all!!!
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Very quiet away from the hustle and bustle

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
First class service. very friendly. Perfect to get away from the hustle of central Bangkok. Remember that it is a boat to get there which is very lovely. Don't expect chain hotel experience. It is a very personal hotel, very quiet and has a boutique feel.