Ratings based on 1,915 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We enjoyed our stay on the river celebrating my 61st birthday. The food, staff, and hotel were amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Convenient location, beautiful hotel, have everything for your needs, only thing to borther me that every time you came in the hotel you must go through security screeners (3 staffs) what's a waste of employee, and time of customer,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai/New York

Amazing hotel overlooking the river

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Very grand and opulent design. Located in a historic district, only steps away from the ferry and BTS. Amazing breakfast buffet.
The Shangri-la in Bangkok is one of my favorite hotels. After all these years it still never fails to impress me, delivering fabulous service with a decor that is timelessly classic. I chose to upgrade to a suite for this stay, with access to club amenities, making this stay that much more pleasant. Most staff are extremely polite and professional. I did however have a small encounter upon my departure that left an unpleasant taste. When checking out I asked for a taxi to the airport. It was early in the morning, but while waiting outside two taxis pulled up dropping off other guests. Rather than being allowed to board these taxis, I was instructed to wait by the front door staff, after a few minutes another taxi pulled up and we were loaded in. On the way to the airport, I noticed that he did not turn on his meter. My wife informed me that he had a plaque in back basically charging a fixed fee of 500 baht. If I recall, the ride in from the airport on the meter is under 200 baht - excluding 75 in tolls. the amounts are small, but it is the principle. If I had been informed up front by the front door staff, I would be okay. But to pass up not one, but two available taxis to wait for one that charges an off meter fare stinks of collusion. I am not sure if this is Shangri-la policy, but it seems obvious to me that the front door personnel are getting a kick back from these fixed fare taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Luxury hotel from top to bottom.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The hotel is stunning. Very luxurious. The food options are numerous and the quality of food is excellent. The service and staff is what makes this hotel standout. Incredibly helpful, always pleasant and extremely accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Jan Kaiser, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kane Thank you for staying at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok. We are happy to hear that you had a beautiful stay at our hotel and many thanks for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that we were able to provide you with excellent service during your days here and appreciate your kind compliments and personal recoommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel. A shame breakfast didn't measure up

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I regularly stay in Shangri La hotels. This time the breakfast disappointed. Tastless and soggy noodles, fruit also devoid of taste. Not what we expect from Shangri La.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Jan Kaiser, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew Thank you for your choosing to stay at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok, your continued support to our hotels are most valuable. We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and had an overall pleasant stay. We are sorry to hear our breakfast was not to your taste and that your Shangri-La experience fell short this time.Our Chef has already looked into our noodles production and makes sure we shall have the highest quality as usual. We appreciate your comments and your valuable feedback as it will help us in our work to continuously improve our services. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice with beautiful river views

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We stayed at Krungthrep wing which had balcony and beautiful river views. Quiet wing with own restaurant area. Breakfasts were great. Downside was location. Without traffic no problem but with traffic oh my! It took our group over an hour to go 3km one night and over 2 hours to go a short distance more the next. Fortunately our restaurants were understanding and didn't cancel our reservations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Jan Kaiser, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ren We are very happy to hear that you had an overall wonderful stay at our hotel and I truly appreciate you taking your time to write us this review and share your honest experiences. Your compliments and recommendation mean a lot to us as well as your comprehensive feedback. Thank you very much for staying at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok and we hope to see you again in a near future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Grand old Bangkok hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Stayed just for the one night but loved it - got a complimentary upgrade and when the hotel realized that I would be bringing my two kids they prepared a roll-out bed. Breakfast was fantastic with an excellent spread and they have a nice pool. I believe the hotel has been around awhile but the interiors are in excellent condition with well appointed rooms. Will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Jan Kaiser, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chad Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate you taking your time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional experience during your stay here with your family and that we were able to provide you with excellent service. Thank you for your kind compliments about our rooms, service, food and facilities. It was indeed all our pleasure to have you and your family here, and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing!

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Great location, very modern and chique. The staff is beyond measure- so helpful and friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Jan Kaiser, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La hotel, Bangkok. Your review is most valuable. We are glad to hear that you had an overall excellent stay with our attentive service. Your compliments and personal recommendations are much appreciated. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chiang Mai

Bed bugs and apathetic staff

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: caring staff and no bed bugs!
Location: Lots of scams just outside of hotel. Do not speak to strangers approaching you.
Lots of bed bugs! I want my money back, I would never stay there again! Bed bugs!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Jan Kaiser, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear J We are sorry to learn about your disappointing experience during your stay as you described. We will investigate the issue mentioned in your review, since these shortfalls as you described are definitely not up to the standard that we are known for as we currently work with and independent renowned Pest Control Company in the city. Your comprehensive feedback has been shared with our department head of concerned area to prevent similar issues from occurring in the future. Thank you for your valuable feedback. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel by the river

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Long queues noticed in lobby at busy check out time (@12pm), perhaps increase staffing around check out time.
Location: 15 minutes ride on Skytrain take you to Siam Centre, 20 minutes ferry ride from Central Pier to Grand Palace. Asiatique night market close by.
Five stars rating deserved from check in to check out. Excellent facilities with room service at least twice a day. Convenient location, close to Saphan Taksin, Skytrain station and Sathorn Central Pier. Hotel provides complimentary ferry ride to nearby Asiatique daily evening market. We had a wonderful time staying at the Shangri-La.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Jan Kaiser, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Charlie We are glad to hear that you had an overall beautiful experience at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok. Thank you for deciding to stay with us and for taking your time to write us your honest review. Your compliments and personal recommendations are highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Bangkok. Sincerely,