Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by John from Australia - NSW - Coffs Harbour

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Huge rooms. Front river view rooms had a spectacuar view of the river and the city.
Cons: No wifi. TV old and poor reception. Sauna not working.
Location: Inspiring
Facilities: Tired; Value: Affordable; Service: Tardy; Cleanliness: Clean; The staff were helpful but didnt really care.
5 out of 5
by Reea from Australia - NSW - Newcastle

Posted Mar 31, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Large room and great river views
Cons: No free wifi
Location: Tranquil, Good views
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
2 out of 5
by Johncccc

Definitely not a 4 star hotel as listed...

Posted Nov 16, 2012 on Orbitz
The Royal River hotel was probably a nice place at some time, maybe even deserving 4 stars. Today it's run down with nasty filthy carpeting in the hallways and rooms. The bed linen full of holes and the typical super thin, frayed towels you'd expect at a cheap budget hotel. When I arrived at midnight, the room was not even cleaned from the previous guest. Dirty towels, unmade bed etc. The bellman did not even notice and just dropped of my luggage. I called the reception and talked them into giving me a clean roam. How nice. The staff is nice enough but the hotel is so old fashioned that even buying a WiFi access card from the reception for $9 cash requires a handwritten, 3 copy invoice and approval from the reception boss... So, everything is SLOOOOW. Breakfast is nice apart from you sit at dirty table cloth from previous guests. The pool is ok. The hotel is located far from everything, and some taxis in central BAngkok refused to go there because of the distance. There is absolutely nothing around the hotel. Taxi is needed to go everywhere. Most of the guests were French and Chinese on budget bus tours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TeAE

Great value for money

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Ebookers
Royal River Hotel offers exellent value for money. I am traveling a lot, and RRH is among my favourite hotels. In Bangkok, it is my #1. The staff is very kind, helpful and accomodating. Room standard, food standard and location is very good. The only feature I feel can be improved, is internet speed/price. Speed is way to slow.
3 out of 5
by Samut

River View

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on HotelClub
We attended an event in the hotel so location was perfect for us otherwise it is a bit far from the center and the attractions. The room is big and so was the balcony facing the river but rather old fashion and not really the hotel I would look for. However staff was friendly and sitting on the balcony watching river life was great so nothing to complain.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2011 on Hotels
very old and tired, if you need to stay there, you must ask for a room with balcony, is a must
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Not Happy

Posted Dec 15, 2010
We found the hotel staff really unfriendly and not very helpful. There is no maps given out of the area and little information regarding the hotel boat service. The normal river ferries travel frequently though and are near to the hotel. The food at the hotel was very expensive and luke warm. The internet changes were also very expensive. The prices at the hotel have shot up since our last visit but the quality has decreased. Will not stay there again. Too far from everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn

had everything we needed

Posted Nov 16, 2010 on HotelClub
had everything we needed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

We booked the wrong type of room.

Posted May 19, 2010 on HotelClub
We booked the wrong type of room. After upgrading the bed was good. The evening meal in the resturant was terrible. Most to the Reception staff we very good. The front door staff were totally unhelpful. Strange when so few tourist were staying. We had to walk about 100m to find our own taxi. Our maid was fantastic. Hotel caters for tour groups who must tolerate a low standard. For most people the location is far from BKK but hotel has a great view of the river.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

" Good Hotel if you are going to Yan Hee International Hospital, better places to stay if not "

Posted Feb 12, 2010
Good hotel for the purpose of my trip, which was to be close to Yan Hee International Hospital. Apart from that there is nothing of interest whatsoever surronding the place. A riverside room is an absolute must, the river views are superb, the other rooms look out on shanty town ! My biggest gripe was the diabolical choice of TV channels, no Star Sport or Movie Channels. You are left with BBC World News and thats about it ! Second issue is the hotel mainly caters for large coach tours, particularly french tourists. If you dont get down early for breakfast ( which is excellent ) the croissants are gone ! I personally dont like hotels that cater for coach loads of people , one tends to feel over run and that special bit of holiday magic is not there . Good room, balcony is a bonus , our cleaner was lovely, other staff ok , although the receptionists are not particularly friendly. Finally a little bit of humour,asked a few taxi drivers to take us home, and often drew a blank. Sussed it out in the end, one must ask for the " Loyal Liver "!! To be honest for the money ,there are much better hotels in Bangkok than this one.