Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redditch

Very welcoming

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Nice quiet spot,with secure parking and exceptional food -- especially the pie.
Location: Quiet location close to main route to Holyhead and Snowdonia.
Full of character and really friendly staff.The hotel was an old coaching inn and consequently the layout reflects this,but the atmosphere more than makes up for this.The staff were very pleasant and knowledgeable,and the food on offer is good.Overall an enjoyable,albeit short,experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Errol, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
by Judith from Oregon

Moderate comfort and value

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Not as good as we hoped. Most rooms 1 or 2 twin beds. Only 1-2 doubles. More used to American hotels with larger rooms and beds. Felt like an older coastal motel. Stayed in a lovely B and B in the Dales with more comfort for same rate. Pub food good. Breakfast standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Not sure why you think we only have 2 double rooms, we actually have 5.Thanks for your review anyway.
4 out of 5
by Robert C. from Bendigo (but still on the road)

Bonza Bangor!

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed one night unfortunately, as we were already booked to take the ferry to Dublin. Appreciated the service, ambience & staff of this local neighbourly venue.
1 out of 5
by Matthew

More a hostel than a hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately I didn't research this hotel very well and although I was looking for a 'bed for the night' I wasn't expecting such basic accommodation. I booked this hotel primarily because it appeared to be more of a pub so I could relax in the evening; I got back from a local restaurant before 10pm and the bar was closed. I'd recommend this hotel for local workers, although it wasn't cheap for what you got!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It would seem that the majority of our customers dont agree with you Mathew.If our bar is empty for an hour after 9pm we dont remain open, its simply not worth it, maybe a town centre establishment would be better for you. Thanks for your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely recommended.

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was very reasonably priced with lovely clean rooms and a good quality cooked breakfast included. Staff were very polite and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

A little far from train in bangor but worth the tr

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Well kept also friendly staff
Location: A bit far from train station which left most sightseeing out of the question
Very nice older hotel but extremely well kept Would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Errol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Leeroy, so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by Anita from Gloucester

Bangor 10k plus

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
great place to say close to Bangor Uni which is where my daughter attends and where she was doing the 10k race. Hotel was easy to find! The main areas were clean and so was the room. welcoming and friendly staff. Great choice for breakfast with choice of cereal fruit and full cooked meal. Brilliant views, close to beach and the mountains, with other towns in easy reach too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

value for money

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
typical old pub/restaurant/hotel. Room clean, bed comfy, shower hot. Breakfast, evening meal and beer all good. No complaints
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ease of access to North Wales

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Really good location. Bangor, Caernarfon, North Wales coast, Snowdonia National Park and Port Meirion (setting for the Prisoner) Anglesey all within easy reach!
3 out of 5
by David from Dundee

Great location for City Centre

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
The only moan was a continental breakfast but they left food out at night, very good.