Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Favorite Hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: It is a great location and a very pleasant place to stay.
Cons: For the first time, although the hotel was not busy, we were given a room on the second floor rear closest to the highway. Booking through Expedia ?
Location: Great location -highway access, local restaurants and Bangor Mall.
The Black Bear is our favorite hotel in the Bangor area as we travel going and coming from Halifax. We started staying at the Black Bear as it was very pet friendly and continue to go back. The hotel is just off the I-95 and within easy reach of the Bangor Mall area. The hotel and rooms are well maintained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hoteln close to hwy

Posted Oct 7, 2016
clean, great room, enjoyed our stay. Close to hwy. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall very nice.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Easy to find, pleasant and helpful staff. Room was furnished nicely - I appreciated the microwave and refrigerator. Sheer curtain had two small tears and should be replaced - otherwise no complaints. I enjoyed my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY


Posted Aug 25, 2016
Despite friendly staff, the hotel is falling apart. There are plenty of other (newer) hotels in the area at the same price point.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visiting U of Maine Weekend

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet, friendly, free coffee and tea 24/7, clean, good water pressure in shower, larger small frig in room, tv and free wifi
Cons: Some peeling paint or wall paper in places
Location: We visited The university of Maine for the open house as potential college students, needs more places to eat for adults off campus, but saw a theater
Arrived at midnight after 11 hour car ride and greeted by extremely friendly, Michael, who checked us in under 3 minutes so we could get to our room to collapse. There was a free coffee, tea area all weekend we used regularly for all our drinking needs, plus an ice machine to make ice coffee and ice tea. Breakfast was delightful, as if we were home, with a small kitchen area that even had packets of honey for my toast and tea. The placement of the hotel was close to the college, in a quiet area away from traffic sounds, and easily accessible after getting off the highway. Free wifi, tv use and non smoking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Nice hotel, quiet town.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Location: The town of Old Town is a short drive from the hotel. Went to a restaurant called Boomhouse on recommendation from the front desk. Good food!
We stayed one night at the Black Bear Inn on a trip across the country. The hotel is clean and comfortable and is located in a quiet little town. Breakfast was OK, very basic fare.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nice hotel close to Bangor water front pavilion

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Wine and cheese available on our arrival was nice and finding out that there was transportation to and from the concert was a nice surprise. Love that the flooring in our room was wood laminate instead of nasty carpeting !
4 out of 5
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Asheville NC

Next stop Canada!

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Not a bad place for the family overnight on our trip to Canada. Nothing flashy. Met our needs and was convenient right off the highway. The wi-fi was a bit slow. We loved the bedspreads!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, NH

Nice place to rest up

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Much on par with a Courtyard. Clean, friendly staff and a shower curtain that actually stays inside the tub and not making the floor a slip and slide.
Cons: For our taste, the bed was a bit on the soft side.
Location: About 15 minutes from Darlings Waterfront Pavillion, in Bangor, which was the reason of our stay. Acadia Natl Park was a 1.5 hour drive the next day.
Although right off I 95, there was no drone from the highway. The entire hotel must have emptied out mid Sunday morning because upon our 2 pm arrival there were about 5 other guests waiting to get into their rooms. We thought the staff was very apologetic and could see that they were under a lot of stress. In our eyes there was no need for us to unload on them as housekeeping was doing the best they could. We completed the paperwork portion of checking in, got our room keys and set off for lunch. Upon our return the room was ready and spotless. A desk manager actually was exiting our room as we arrived to confirm it was indeed ready.