Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel if you have child at U of Maine

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
I wish the room where the breakfast is was 3 times the size always so tight and cramped
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Convenient and clean

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Comfortable and well priced.
Location: Easy location off the interstate and close to UMaine
It was just a quick overnight to visit UMaine and Black Bear Inn made it a comfortable stop.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Was staying here while visiting the University of Maine. The room was clean and the neighbors were quiet. The free wine tasting was really nice. The hotel is kind of out of the way though. WIFI was also pretty slow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
WiFi was weak. Front desk clerk was knowledgeable of the area. Room was clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk staff was very friendly. The room as large and comfortable. I stayed for one night. I had two issues and I shared them with the front desk upon checkout. My hair dryer did not work. I did not find that out until the morning when I was getting ready to attend an event and was on a tight schedule. Fortunately, I can go out with wet hair and still have my hair look presentable. The other issue I reported to the front desk was the heating/AC unit. When it turned on (which it does frequently to maintain the temperature) the unit sounded like a jet plane taking off. Extremely loud and noisy. I would also note that the walls are pretty thin, the man in the next room received a wake-up call and it sounded like the phone was ringing in my room. I did not have noisy neighbors thankfully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Favorite Hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: It is a great location and a very pleasant place to stay.
Cons: For the first time, although the hotel was not busy, we were given a room on the second floor rear closest to the highway. Booking through Expedia ?
Location: Great location -highway access, local restaurants and Bangor Mall.
The Black Bear is our favorite hotel in the Bangor area as we travel going and coming from Halifax. We started staying at the Black Bear as it was very pet friendly and continue to go back. The hotel is just off the I-95 and within easy reach of the Bangor Mall area. The hotel and rooms are well maintained.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated but super comfortable and friendly place

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms are a little dated, but was very comfortable. It was a good place to relax after a long day. The staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hoteln close to hwy

Posted Oct 7, 2016
clean, great room, enjoyed our stay. Close to hwy. Would stay again.